11/6 Marley Lantus AMPS 334, +3 271, +9 168, PMPS 193, +2 150

Anyway, in managing last night I somehow managed to totally not set my morning alarm so now I have injected him 1 hour and 20 mins late. Not ideal I know.

AMPS 334

And yes thank you, I reduced the dose to 2.25
Hopefully he will bounce today and you will get a chance to catch up on sleep :-)

If he is bought enough at +11, you could give him his PM shot then.
 
So for instance say I am back working long hours, and I wasn't even here.....that means every day he could potentially die.

Would this situation be avoided by for instance lowering the dose after the day he had had and the low BG he had on his PMPS?

Or even missing a dose?

It's just me and him. I haven't been managing financially since giving up my long term job to be around more, and I do need to address this, but after what happened last night, that terrifies me......
 
Do you think I need to test again now or fine to leave it til PMPS?
Fine to leave till PMPS.

Would this situation be avoided by for instance lowering the dose after the day he had had and the low BG he had on his PMPS?
You would also test earlier - say at +1 and +2 when you get a green preshot and feed high carbs from early in the cycle to keep him from dropping low.
 
But when I have to go back to work, I likely wont be there to do a +1 test. In order to match up with the time my niece can get to do the evening shot, I would have to shoot and go in the morning.
 
I need to buy some high carb food. I previously thought I was fine with just his normal food and honey but seems not?

Do you happen to know (no worries if not) if there is any recommendations of UK food that would suffice. Just wondering if someone has already done that research and kindly noted it down!
 
So what percentage do I need to make it a high carb food? Is there a particular Weruva one you recommend?

I happen to use Weruva for my HC for Biggie so I’ve got this info.

Weruva Mack, Jack and Sam pouch is 21% carbs. If you go to their website and click on a flavor then go to nutrition it gives the detailed breakdown for everything in that sub-brand (bff, cats in the kitchen, etc each has its own pdf including all the flavors for that sub-brand). I’m linking the breakdown for Weruva Cats in the Kitchen. Make sure to look at the dry matter section.
https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/citk-ni/


ETA: HC is anything over 15%, from:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Last edited:
Those brands aren't sold in the uk, or at least I cant find them.

Can I just stick with Lily's pouches? That seemed to do the job last night. The first twi feeds with honey I gave him raw, but the third I gave him lily pouch with honey and he went up.
 
Those brands aren't sold in the uk, or at least I cant find them.

Can I just stick with Lily's pouches? That seemed to do the job last night. The first twi feeds with honey I gave him raw, but the third I gave him lily pouch with honey and he went up.
Ah that’s a shame. I assumed Weruva was the same everywhere. You might try looking up the carb content for other flavors that are available there.

There is a link somewhere with the UK list of foods and carb content. Someone can hopefully post it.
Also found this which might be helpful for you to read regarding TR and working full time:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
No problem! I found the UK list:
This is AMAZING thank you so much!!!

Is there a % I need to go for?

`looks like the beef one I gave him was about 5.7% - that seemed to work, with a bit of honey?

I will test him out on the chicken and mussels on e which is 8.8%.

And the salmon chicken and prawn is 6.2%

he's quite fussy though so will have to see if he likes the new flavours. At least I know I have th beef in the house!
 
This is AMAZING thank you so much!!!

Is there a % I need to go for?

`looks like the beef one I gave him was about 5.7% - that seemed to work, with a bit of honey?

I will test him out on the chicken and mussels on e which is 8.8%.

And the salmon chicken and prawn is 6.2%

he's quite fussy though so will have to see if he likes the new flavours. At least I know I have th beef in the house!

I might be repeating info but for regular meals it’s under 10%
MC is 11-14%
And HC is anything over 15%

Also yes, you can just do honey in his LC and that is also fine. It’s just nice to have food that is already HC and depending on how he responds it might be less of a jolt to just give HC vs honey.
 
I might be repeating info but for regular meals it’s under 10%
MC is 11-14%
And HC is anything over 15%
Is there such a thing as a high carb healthy cat food? Its just the brands that I know that are quite natural and not full of rubbish, seem to not have very high %
 
+2 150

After last nights low numbers, I'm a bit shaken....it is safe for me to go to sleep leaving a +3 and +4 snack right?
 
Is there such a thing as a high carb healthy cat food? Its just the brands that I know that are quite natural and not full of rubbish, seem to not have very high %
Usually the companies add something starchy like potatoes or tapioca to make it higher carbs. It wouldn’t be ideal as a meal staple, but it’s good for preventing hypoglycemia. If the cat has IBD or food allergies, they say it’s fine to just add syrup to their LC. If you’re not comfortable getting the HC food I don’t think it’s a problem, but I’d ask others for confirmation.

ETA one thing I thought of is if he was not interested in any other foods to mix it in or letting you put syrup in his mouth, it might be good to have some tasty HC on hand.

Putting it on their gums is good for critical situations where you want it to be delivered even more quickly.

[In the most critical if god forbid they were unconscious, they say to use a bulb syringe to inject syrup rectally].
 
Last edited:
+2 150

After last nights low numbers, I'm a bit shaken....it is safe for me to go to sleep leaving a +3 and +4 snack right?
@tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I don’t want to advise- plus I’m a helicopter mom so I’d tell you to stay up or set some alarms since he is clearly dropping and hard to say if he’ll drop more. Tagging folks who may be up to help. Good luck! You did a great job last night.
 
Ok thank you so much for all your help.

Will add the ?

Marley is very tired this evening. Like completely crashed out and snoring!! Is that normal after the lows last night?
 
Ok thank you so much for all your help.

Will add the ?

Marley is very tired this evening. Like completely crashed out and snoring!! Is that normal after the lows last night?
I’ve noticed whenever my guy has a big change in numbers his energy level can change- either increase or decrease. It’s good to be aware of the changes just to make a mental note for future reference in case you notice it again after a dip. It’s always good to keep track of patterns.

ETA hopefully someone more experienced can comment on the significance after low numbers.
 
Last edited:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Bandits Mom said then jdubs replied back
  1. You would also test earlier - say at +1 and +2 when you get a green preshot and feed high carbs from early in the cycle to keep him from dropping low.

    Bandit's Spreadsheet
    Today at 8:48 AMReport
    #8LikeReply
    Jdubs likes this.

  2. Jdubs
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2022
    But when I have to go back to work, I likely wont be there to do a +1 test. In order to match up with the time my niece can get to do the evening shot, I would have to shoot and go in the morning.
Plus she can't find any HC in the UK
 
This is AMAZING thank you so much!!!

Is there a % I need to go for?

`looks like the beef one I gave him was about 5.7% - that seemed to work, with a bit of honey?

I will test him out on the chicken and mussels on e which is 8.8%.

And the salmon chicken and prawn is 6.2%

he's quite fussy though so will have to see if he likes the new flavours. At least I know I have th beef in the house!
@Jdubs
You can mix what ever you have to equal HC if needed
 
Last edited:
I am going to tag @Teetee (UK) as he lives in the UK and has been very helpful with food options for others. I am hoping he will be able to give you some medium and high carb options that are available on the UK……thanks Tee!

Will there be anyone there during the day to test Marley?
Will there be anyone there during the day to feed Marley?
Is your niece going to test the preshot BG before giving the evening dose?

After last nights low numbers, I'm a bit shaken....it is safe for me to go to sleep leaving a +3 and +4 snack right?
I would keep testing for now as the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot and that is a heads up for you that this is going to be an active cycle. I would get a +3 and a+4 to see where the numbers are going. Once they stabilise or start going back up it is safe to go to bed. Keep giving snacks.
Keep posting and asking questions.
 
sorry I realise now I should have taken the '?' off the title before going to bed.
 
This link has some suggestions for high carb food in the UK. Look for the sections under Hypo Kit, also follow the links:
Thank you so much. 'Ive had a good look and the only high carb food recommendations is for a brad called 'Gourmet'. I dont really trust it to be a healthy food. I really appreciate everyones help and I know I am a novice at feline diabetes and I know we are talking about saving a life here so does it really matter what food it is, but I would argue yes it does in this case when I feel I have equally good options. The Gourmet brand dont even specify exactly what is in there. It says things like 'various sugars', and 'cereals'. It has taken me so long to get Marley's digestion healthy, he does much better without gluten. And not all sugar is equal. Certain corn syrups are super toxic and they are cheap so often added as a hidden ingredient.

How do we know it just isnt the 'various sugars in the gourmet ' that raise the BG - I would prefer to give him his healthy meat with added good quality honey.

The Webbox lick-e-lix seems to be yoghurt based. I have organic natural yoghurt which he loves and does seem to raise his BG. I will just have to make sure I always have it in my fridge. Maybe I'll freeze some in ice cubes so I know there is always some here.

If there is a good quality food in the UK with for instance potato or sweet potato, (instead of unspecified grains which would likely be goo corn or gluten containing ones), I would def be prepared to give him that, but I'm not convinced by the options I have found so far are better than what I already have to hand, and because Marley has such a sensitive stomach I'm going to stick with these for now.

Thank you - this info has helped me clarify what I need to do.
 
Will there be anyone there during the day to test Marley?
Will there be anyone there during the day to feed Marley?
Is your niece going to test the preshot BG before giving the evening dose?

I am looking after Marley on my own mostly. Its pretty tough. I have given up my career of 20 years otherwise I would have to have put him down. Its been a very stressful year and I haven't figured it out by any means. I am not making enough to live really. What is really tough is in order to change your life in a big way, you need good strong energy and all my life force has gone into Marley this last year, leaving me absolutely shattered, and in no place to be creative to start something new.

I only tell you this because I feel on these forums some people seem to have such high expectations of what needs to be done in any given moment with our cats, and I know there is so much kindnesss and generosity that goes into giving advice on here and I am so grateful, it has been life saving for Marley, but sometimes I just cant do what people suggest. I cant stay up all night and then go to my crappy job the next day. I cant test as much as people ask me too, I need to think about keeping a roof over our heads and being able to buy his strips and good food and medicine etc. I cant just every night stay up testing. Absolutely yes on the night lie the hypo. But not with a BG like last night - because that is like many nights. I am only only just keeping my life together at the moment. And as I said, I'm not really properly managing it yet in a viable way. So it makes me feel like I am a terrible person, and yet I am giving all I have to Marley, who. I love so very much. But I can only do this very imperfectly.

My sister lives opposite and is home alot, despite the fact I have helped her for years with her three children, baby sitting at short notice etc, , she wont help me at all Marley. There is nothing I can do about that. I have basically a 4 meal feeder, which I set to +1, +2, +3 and +4 in the morning. (He hasn't quite grasped how to use it yet but I am working on it) and I have a 2 meal feeder for at night. So when my niece is trained and I am still at work, (hopefully) she will feed him then the feeder will do +1 and +2 and hopefully by +3 I am home again. My niece isnt fully trained up yet, I am working on that. But yes absolutely she will test pre shot. I feel like I need to understand what the possibilities are with this. For instance if he was as low as he was yesterday (86) and I wasn't there, and she was going to leave him with the cat feeder - it might be an idea for her to give him a reduced dose.....so he wasn't put in danger. I need to understand more about reduced doses.

I think it will get better because he is doing better so I am not worried and stressed nearly so much as I was, but I am exhausted to the core. So I need to get over the trauma myself and rest bit. But its hard to rest when you have so much to figure out!! I will get there!
 
Last edited:
Is there a formula for this - for instance how much honey to 1 teaspoon of LC food to equal a HC food?
Not really. There is a difference between cats in how carb sensitive they are. All you can do is experiment and see what works for Marley. Start the experiment with a couple drops of honey/syrup. (Maple syrup is an alternative too). Write down how much you give and see how it impacts his numbers.

My girl was also sensitive to gluten. I'm lucky in that North America there are a couple higher carb options of food that use potatoes instead of wheat. It just meant spending time reading food labels. We did have one UK member who gave vanilla yogurt to her cat when he was low. Of course, that only works if he can tolerate dairy.
 
Not really. There is a difference between cats in how carb sensitive they are. All you can do is experiment and see what works for Marley. Start the experiment with a couple drops of honey/syrup. (Maple syrup is an alternative too). Write down how much you give and see how it impacts his numbers.

My girl was also sensitive to gluten. I'm lucky in that North America there are a couple higher carb options of food that use potatoes instead of wheat. It just meant spending time reading food labels. We did have one UK member who gave vanilla yogurt to her cat when he was low. Of course, that only works if he can tolerate dairy.
Thank so much. Actually I think he is lactose intolerant as many cats are. I am lactose intolerant so I have an organic dairy but yet lactose free natural yoghurt. It does seem to raise BG. I had to stop giving it to him for that reason. He LOVES it.

I think I need to go to a store and spend a few hours perusing the labels. I find it easier in person than doing it on a computer screen.
 
Last edited:
I would keep testing for now as the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot and that is a heads up for you that this is going to be an active cycle.
So is there some sort of guidelines for what is considered 'quite a bit lower'?

Thank you so much in advance
 
You are obviously doing everything you possibly can for Marley and he is a very lucky boy to have you caring for him so lovingly.
Having the feeders for the am and the pm feeds is great.
To get Sheba used to eating out of the feeder, I fed her exclusively out of the feeder for a few days until she associated the feeders with food….and she loved her feeder!
If Marley is lowish in the morning when you go to work, you might want to put in some higher low carb (around 8 to 10%) into the feeder.
You also have the option to give a smaller dose if you are concerned about him dropping too low when you are not there.
It will be trail and error until you understand how he reacts to various carbs.
Do you still test sometimes for ketones?
You might find this interesting IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB

Also THE BASICS
 
So is there some sort of guidelines for what is considered 'quite a bit lower'?

Thank you so much in advance
If you get a +2 and it is lower than the preshot BG, that is a heads up that the cycle will most likely be active….that means it will most likely drop lower during the cycle. So if Marleys +2 is lower than the preshot I would definitely check an hour or two later in that cycle to see it hasn’t dropped too much.
 
I am going to tag @Teetee (UK) as he lives in the UK and has been very helpful with food options for others. I am hoping he will be able to give you some medium and high carb options that are available on the UK……thanks Tee!

Will there be anyone there during the day to test Marley?
Will there be anyone there during the day to feed Marley?
Is your niece going to test the preshot BG before giving the evening dose?


I would keep testing for now as the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot and that is a heads up for you that this is going to be an active cycle. I would get a +3 and a+4 to see where the numbers are going. Once they stabilise or start going back up it is safe to go to bed. Keep giving snacks.
Keep posting and asking questions.

Hi @Bron and Sheba (GA) Hi @Jdubs
Regarding high carb foods as a meal i don't use for Duke but when he does drop low i give him a few grams of the Chicken Webbox Lick-e-lix which is very high in carbs.
Depending on where Duke is numbers wise i can give him as little as 1 gram to steer him or as much as 5 grams to bring him up quicker, this has all been trial and error over time.
The Chicken and Lamb is 22.04 % carbs
The Tuna is 34.88% carbs
The Salmon and Prawns is 12.7% carbs
The Chicken is 22.4 % carbs
There is also this food list below that i created for another member which contains carb content and calories that may help. (disregard the Fancy Feast) but nothing really high in carbs.
There is also this carb calculator that i use to determine the amount of carbs in the food. We could not be without it as sometimes when Duke has a panc flare we need to change his food to something that he will eat while he's ill.
https://secure.balanceit.com/tools/_gaconverter/index.php?
Depending on what Mar Lei will eat the calculator is a brilliant tool to help you find a higher carb food.
Another thing that we do is go onto the Pets at Home website and check out the Analytical Constituents in a particular food there under the Nutrition & Analysis tab, in there it will give you the ingredients and the figures to enter into the carb calculator.
Usually the food with gravy is the higher carb food.
Also Zooplus is a good online site where you can get good quality grain free German cat food. Feringa tend to add potatoes to some foods but i'm unsure of the carb content.
We only feed Duke Sheba fine flakes in jelly which is 1.9% carbs and his insulin dose is determined from that food and he's been fairly consistent over the last two years.
Just to add, always double check the box to what's on the web site as ingredients and Analytical Constituents can and do change.
I know these things can be time consuming but once you have your list you're fine, just keep double checking the box to see nothing has changed.
 

Attachments

To get Sheba used to eating out of the feeder, I fed her exclusively out of the feeder for a few days until she associated the feeders with food….and she loved her feeder!
He's very happy to eat out of the feeder but sometimes even when its right next to him, he just ignores it and stays asleep, and then the portion disappears back under the feeder cover when the next hours timer goes off. But I think we are making progress and like you say its only when I am with him encouraging him!

I never check for ketones as he goes outdoor to pee.

Thank you for that article about the full time job. Still scares me though as his hypo happened quite late in the cycle. I think if he was that low before I might try a reduced dose.. But by how much would I have reduced it?

Thanks so much for your kind words
 
If you get a +2 and it is lower than the preshot BG, that is a heads up that the cycle will most likely be active….that means it will most likely drop lower during the cycle. So if Marleys +2 is lower than the preshot I would definitely check an hour or two later in that cycle to see it hasn’t dropped too much.
Thanks for the info
 
I don't have any advice for you but just wanted to stop by to let you know you are doing 1000% more than any average cat owner would do. You upended your life to keep him alive and do what's right by him, and it's clear you are working so very hard to keep the two of you afloat. It's freaking hard. It's hard even when you have people who help you (financially and otherwise), and I can't imagine how hard it must be by yourself. So give yourself a huge bit of credit here, and be gentle with yourself. If you have to cut corners or adjust your treatment goals to "less than perfect" in order for you to keep your health and your sanity, I for one would say that is not just totally fine, but absolutely required. Because you won't be any help to Marley if you're burning yourself out and putting yourself in an impossible financial position. My heart goes out to you :bighug:
 
Hi @Bron and Sheba (GA) Hi @Jdubs
Regarding high carb foods as a meal i don't use for Duke but when he does drop low i give him a few grams of the Chicken Webbox Lick-e-lix which is very high in carbs.
Depending on where Duke is numbers wise i can give him as little as 1 gram to steer him or as much as 5 grams to bring him up quicker, this has all been trial and error over time.
The Chicken and Lamb is 22.04 % carbs
The Tuna is 34.88% carbs
The Salmon and Prawns is 12.7% carbs
The Chicken is 22.4 % carbs
There is also this food list below that i created for another member which contains carb content and calories that may help. (disregard the Fancy Feast) but nothing really high in carbs.
There is also this carb calculator that i use to determine the amount of carbs in the food. We could not be without it as sometimes when Duke has a panc flare we need to change his food to something that he will eat while he's ill.
https://secure.balanceit.com/tools/_gaconverter/index.php?
Depending on what Mar Lei will eat the calculator is a brilliant tool to help you find a higher carb food.
Another thing that we do is go onto the Pets at Home website and check out the Analytical Constituents in a particular food there under the Nutrition & Analysis tab, in there it will give you the ingredients and the figures to enter into the carb calculator.
Usually the food with gravy is the higher carb food.
Also Zooplus is a good online site where you can get good quality grain free German cat food. Feringa tend to add potatoes to some foods but i'm unsure of the carb content.
We only feed Duke Sheba fine flakes in jelly which is 1.9% carbs and his insulin dose is determined from that food and he's been fairly consistent over the last two years.
Just to add, always double check the box to what's on the web site as ingredients and Analytical Constituents can and do change.
I know these things can be time consuming but once you have your list you're fine, just keep double checking the box to see nothing has changed.
Thank you so so so much. The calculator will be invaluable when I can figure it out!! I was trying to find out the percentages of the yoghurt I gave him. Would this be enough info?
Per 100g: Energy : 281kJ/67kcal, Fat : 3.4g, of which saturates : 2.2g, Carbohydrate : 5.1g, of which sugars : 5.1g, Protein : 4.0g, Salt : 0.2g, Calcium : (18% RI*) 145mg,


I didnt have the ash and moisture, so it gave me. pretty high reading to carb % so not sure if that is accurate.

And then say this is the ingredients in one of the feringa foods. Chicken with Pumpkin & Catnip:
95% chicken (35% meat, 20% heart, gizzards, liver, skin), 2.25% pumpkin, seaweed meal, 0.5% catnip, 0.14% minerals, 0.1% spirulina

Can I put this data in or is it not the right sort of date?


I'll have another look tomorrow. Ive just bought some feringa food, sounds perfect. Hope it ends up being high carb but like you say it has the pumpkin and potato in there so fingers crossed.

he Chicken and Lamb is 22.04 % carbs
The Tuna is 34.88% carbs
The Salmon and Prawns is 12.7% carbs
The Chicken is 22.4 % carbs

These percentages - are they Webbox Lick-e-lix?

Thans so much again
 
I don't have any advice for you but just wanted to stop by to let you know you are doing 1000% more than any average cat owner would do. You upended your life to keep him alive and do what's right by him, and it's clear you are working so very hard to keep the two of you afloat. It's freaking hard. It's hard even when you have people who help you (financially and otherwise), and I can't imagine how hard it must be by yourself. So give yourself a huge bit of credit here, and be gentle with yourself. If you have to cut corners or adjust your treatment goals to "less than perfect" in order for you to keep your health and your sanity, I for one would say that is not just totally fine, but absolutely required. Because you won't be any help to Marley if you're burning yourself out and putting yourself in an impossible financial position. My heart goes out to you :bighug:
Thank you so so so so much. Means alot.
 
Thank you so so so much. The calculator will be invaluable when I can figure it out!! I was trying to find out the percentages of the yoghurt I gave him. Would this be enough info?
Per 100g: Energy : 281kJ/67kcal, Fat : 3.4g, of which saturates : 2.2g, Carbohydrate : 5.1g, of which sugars : 5.1g, Protein : 4.0g, Salt : 0.2g, Calcium : (18% RI*) 145mg,


I didnt have the ash and moisture, so it gave me. pretty high reading to carb % so not sure if that is accurate.

And then say this is the ingredients in one of the feringa foods. Chicken with Pumpkin & Catnip:
95% chicken (35% meat, 20% heart, gizzards, liver, skin), 2.25% pumpkin, seaweed meal, 0.5% catnip, 0.14% minerals, 0.1% spirulina

Can I put this data in or is it not the right sort of date?


I'll have another look tomorrow. Ive just bought some feringa food, sounds perfect. Hope it ends up being high carb but like you say it has the pumpkin and potato in there so fingers crossed.

he Chicken and Lamb is 22.04 % carbs
The Tuna is 34.88% carbs
The Salmon and Prawns is 12.7% carbs
The Chicken is 22.4 % carbs

These percentages - are they Webbox Lick-e-lix?

Thans so much again

Hi @Jdubs
The data you need to enter into the carb convertor is the Analytical constituents not the ingredients which is the Protein, Fat, Moisture, Fibre and ash.
Take for instance the Analytical constituents of the Feringa Chicken with pumpkin and cat nip, the Protein is 11.2%, Fat 5.7%, Moisture 78.2%, Fibre 0.3%, Ash 2.0%, enter those values into the appropriate boxes in the carb convertor and press calculate to get the carb content, which works out at 9.41% carbs. (That particular food has no potatoes)
Feringa Chicken pumpkin and catnip.JPG

The data you gave with the yoghurt tells you the carb content already as it's 5.1% per 100 grams so it's very low in carbs.
Yes, these are the carb contents for the Webbox Lick-e-Lix but it looks like the most of the ones below don't exist anymore so just disregard them.
The Chicken and Lamb is 22.04 % carbs
The Tuna is 34.88% carbs
The Salmon and Prawns is 12.7% carbs
The Chicken is 22.4 % carbs (now 20.38% carbs)
I have just checked the Chicken on my box and it's changed slightly to what i gave you, it now works out at 20.38% carbs.
That's what i mean about manufacturers changing things and also don't use the Webbox website to get your data as some of it is not correct, i have made them aware of the faults so hopefully they will put things right. ie: they say the salmon is 28% moisture and protein is 33.5. Clearly wrong as it's a watery yoghurt, it's so annoying that the manufacturers can't even get their website correct.
What you will need to do is when you buy some other Lick-e-Lix flavours is enter the values from the back of the actual box into the carb convertor to get the correct % carbs. What we do is check the Analytical constituents on box and use the carb convertor while we are actually shopping for any new cat food, or my wife will ring me and give me the figures and i will work it out at home for her.
 

Attachments

  • Feringa Chicken pumpkin and catnip.JPG
    Feringa Chicken pumpkin and catnip.JPG
    26.8 KB · Views: 141
Back
Top