11/6 Emmett AMPS 362

KLD

Active Member
Edit: I think I did my date backwards.
Edit edit: no wait, it’s fine? I feel so Canadian right now, never knowing how to write dates.

Hello! First full day of Lantus today so I should be able to get a couple mid cycles tests in today. His preshot number is lower than it’s been in a while, so maybe he was bouncing last night or reacting to the new insulin idk.

Question, I accidentally gave Emmett insulin this morning about 45 minutes early. I usually give him insulin at 7 Eastern time, but completely forgot I had to give him insulin 45 minutes late last night. How big of a deal is an early dose with Lantus, particularly when the depot is still building? This usually was not a big deal with Prozinc (though I avoided it as much as I could) because usually the insulin had worn off by then anyway.
 
Last edited:
Good morning!
We typically try to keep shots 12 hours apart. If you're off schedule, you can shoot 30 minutes early once a day or 15 minutes early each cycle. The reason is that shooting early could act like an increase. Since Emmett is new to Lantus and the depot is still building, I wouldn't worry about shooting 45 minutes. Get a +2 to see where he's headed.

Also, we like to link out last post to the current post. It helps those of us helping to quickly see what's going on. Here's yours https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3218645/
 
Good morning!
We typically try to keep shots 12 hours apart. If you're off schedule, you can shoot 30 minutes early once a day or 15 minutes early each cycle. The reason is that shooting early could act like an increase. Since Emmett is new to Lantus and the depot is still building, I wouldn't worry about shooting 45 minutes. Get a +2 to see where he's headed.

Also, we like to link out last post to the current post. It helps those of us helping to quickly see what's going on. Here's yours https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3218645/
Thank you. I will try to do that today.

okay, I will try to link my posts. I just never know how to easily do that on my phone.
 
I use an Android phone. From the Lantus board, I find the post I want to link, press and hold until the pop up screen with options comes up, then click on "copy link address". Don't know if that works for iPhones :oops:
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Okay well uhh still at 353 at +4. Not really what I was expecting.

how long do I give it before increasing his dose?
 
Last edited:
Welcome to LLB. You hold the initial dose for 5-7 days to allow the depot to build. After that it depends on whether you follow SLGS or TR. Since you are feeding lc food and test a lot you can follow either method. Have you read the dosing sticky?

here’s the link. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Okay, thanks. Yes, I’ve read them. I just get impatient lol. I wanted to make sure I should wait the 5-7 days initially.
 
I see your ss says TR. Would you please add that to your signature so we won’t keep asking? Thx.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Okay, thanks. Yes, I’ve read them. I just get impatient lol. I wanted to make sure I should wait the 5-7 days initially.

Depot insulin which lantus is take time for the depot to build for you to know how good a dose is atm. So once the initial depot builds we can determine whether to increase. After that you will hold all doses for at least 6 cycles.
 
Depot insulin which lantus is take time for the depot to build for you to know how good a dose is atm. So once the initial depot builds we can determine whether to increase. After that you will hold all doses for at least 6 cycles.
Okay, thanks. Wasn’t sure if it’s normal for BG to stay high like he currently is when switching. When he was on Prozinc his dose also frequently changed, often dramatically. So I know it’s going to take me a while to figure out what his normal is.
 
how long do I give it before increasing his dose?
Lantus teaches us patience. :)

You only increase sooner than 5-7 days if kitty is prone to ketones (you testing for them?) or numbers stay high, above 300, for at least three days.
 
Lantus teaches us patience. :)

You only increase sooner than 5-7 days if kitty is prone to ketones (you testing for them?) or numbers stay high, above 300, for at least three days.
Haha I will learn to be patient!!

yes, I test for ketones. I try to remember to put them in his spreadsheet in the comments, but don’t always remember. He’s always been negative.
 
I feel like SOMETHING is clearly working with the Lantus so far. His preshot numbers keep being slightly lower than his earlier mid cycle numbers (though maybe too early to tell if it’s actually significant or within the margin of error).

PMPS 329.

I also picked up some syringes with half unit marking… though I didn’t realize how minuscule the actual needle is so now I’m worried about fur shots lmao
 
Okay we’re back on track tonight. 211 @ +4. Might set my alarm for later tonight so I can wake up and check him again.
 
Back
Top