? 11/4 Kit, AMPS=86, +3=70, +6=86, +9=104

C_Star

Member Since 2018
Hi All,

I was hoping that I could get some advice on how to proceed with Kit’s progress and whether I should reduce his dose or raise it.

Our vet originally put him on a strange/awful system of dosing, wildly varying the doses, but we stopped that in early October.

We then started 0.5u of Lantus twice a day for 20 days. His BG mainly stayed between 6.1(110) – 6.6(120), so I reduced him to 0.25u BID and he’s mainly been between 5.5(99) – 6.8(122) for the past 13 days.

Was this a mistake?

Should I be trying to get his numbers even lower before reducing?

I keep reading the stickies over and over, but I’m unclear whether I’m aiming to get him down below 100 at all times. And, if so, should I start increasing his dose instead of reducing? Basically: Where do I go from here?

His spreadsheet is below in my signature.

(PS. I forgot to change the code on the meter for the past 5 days after starting a new bottle of strips, so I’ve lowered those numbers by 0.5 in accordance with the variance we found with the control solution, so if you see a formula in Oct 31-Nov 4, that’s why.)



Any advice would be very greatly appreciated :)
Thanks all!
 
Hi Caitlin, and welcome! I think Kit is looking pretty good on 0.25u at the moment, and have a few things to suggest. The trouble with TR and SLGS is that they are written with human meters in mind, which don't translate in any way to AT2. All we really know is that they read lower than AT2. Some of us have done our own comparisons between our human meter and AT2, so perhaps we have an *idea* of our own variances, but since you were asking about trying to stay under 100, I thought I'd mention that yes, the goal would be under 100 on a HUMAN meter. To me, if you are getting those 4s and 5s (world mmol/L) on AT2 as preshots, that's awesome!

But more importantly, you want to see how low the dose is taking your kitty. You have been able to test in the day time the last few days, which is great. Because you are using AT2, please seriously consider taking a reduction if Kit falls below 3.8 (68 for our US friends ;)). Also, if you can, try and get a before bed test each night, most kitties like to go lower at night, and at the moment, you are missing some data there that will help. I suspect he's getting very close to not needing insulin. If you see a number under 3.8, your reduction would be down to 0.1u. Let me see if I can find info on how to draw up that dose, I haven't gotten there yet with my kitty :D. Hope this helps, and others should be along to offer additional suggestions.
 
Last edited:
People here follow one of two dosing methods, Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). Those dosing methods tell us how to change our dose.

Are you able to get tests every night before bed? If not, I would suggest trying the 0.1 unit dose next. He got down to 68 (3.8) a couple days ago and I worry he is going lower at night, as most cats do. There are pictures of that 0.1 unit dose in the Sticky Note on Fine Dosing.
 
Back
Top