C_Star
Member Since 2018
Hi All,
I was hoping that I could get some advice on how to proceed with Kit’s progress and whether I should reduce his dose or raise it.
Our vet originally put him on a strange/awful system of dosing, wildly varying the doses, but we stopped that in early October.
We then started 0.5u of Lantus twice a day for 20 days. His BG mainly stayed between 6.1(110) – 6.6(120), so I reduced him to 0.25u BID and he’s mainly been between 5.5(99) – 6.8(122) for the past 13 days.
Was this a mistake?
Should I be trying to get his numbers even lower before reducing?
I keep reading the stickies over and over, but I’m unclear whether I’m aiming to get him down below 100 at all times. And, if so, should I start increasing his dose instead of reducing? Basically: Where do I go from here?
His spreadsheet is below in my signature.
(PS. I forgot to change the code on the meter for the past 5 days after starting a new bottle of strips, so I’ve lowered those numbers by 0.5 in accordance with the variance we found with the control solution, so if you see a formula in Oct 31-Nov 4, that’s why.)
Any advice would be very greatly appreciated
Thanks all!
I was hoping that I could get some advice on how to proceed with Kit’s progress and whether I should reduce his dose or raise it.
Our vet originally put him on a strange/awful system of dosing, wildly varying the doses, but we stopped that in early October.
We then started 0.5u of Lantus twice a day for 20 days. His BG mainly stayed between 6.1(110) – 6.6(120), so I reduced him to 0.25u BID and he’s mainly been between 5.5(99) – 6.8(122) for the past 13 days.
Was this a mistake?
Should I be trying to get his numbers even lower before reducing?
I keep reading the stickies over and over, but I’m unclear whether I’m aiming to get him down below 100 at all times. And, if so, should I start increasing his dose instead of reducing? Basically: Where do I go from here?
His spreadsheet is below in my signature.
(PS. I forgot to change the code on the meter for the past 5 days after starting a new bottle of strips, so I’ve lowered those numbers by 0.5 in accordance with the variance we found with the control solution, so if you see a formula in Oct 31-Nov 4, that’s why.)
Any advice would be very greatly appreciated
Thanks all!