11/4 Chispa -- Fur shot woes

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,

I've been disheartened by a long string of mostly pink preshots since going back to TR two months ago, but last night at PMPS I was astonished to see 161 on the meter. Yay, I thought, progress at last! -- but then my heart sank when I felt a damp spot on her fur. And then again this morning!! :arghh:

Poor Chispa is trying so hard, but something isn't working. After 2.5 years, you'd think I would know how to give a shot, but it seems like I need some advice. Here is what I do, every single time:

1. Make a "tent" in her scruff and try to part the fur with my fingers (she has a thick coat, though, so it's difficult to see).
2. Vow that I am not going to do a fur shot.
3. Insert the needle and keep applying steady pressure to make sure it stays in there, while slowly pushing the plunger all the way in.
4. Count to 5 before removing the needle, making sure to keep my thumb on the plunger the whole time so the insulin can't get sucked back into the syringe.
5. Put my hand over the spot while scratching her chin to distract from the ouchies.
6. Pet the fur backwards to check for damp spots.

What am I doing wrong? Any advice greatly appreciated!
 
Hi everyone,

I've been disheartened by a long string of mostly pink preshots since going back to TR two months ago, but last night at PMPS I was astonished to see 161 on the meter. Yay, I thought, progress at last! -- but then my heart sank when I felt a damp spot on her fur. And then again this morning!! :arghh:

Poor Chispa is trying so hard, but something isn't working. After 2.5 years, you'd think I would know how to give a shot, but it seems like I need some advice. Here is what I do, every single time:

1. Make a "tent" in her scruff and try to part the fur with my fingers (she has a thick coat, though, so it's difficult to see).
2. Vow that I am not going to do a fur shot.
3. Insert the needle and keep applying steady pressure to make sure it stays in there, while slowly pushing the plunger all the way in.
4. Count to 5 before removing the needle, making sure to keep my thumb on the plunger the whole time so the insulin can't get sucked back into the syringe.
5. Put my hand over the spot while scratching her chin to distract from the ouchies.
6. Pet the fur backwards to check for damp spots.

What am I doing wrong? Any advice greatly appreciated!
@Wendy&Neko
@Angela & Cleo
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Awww, Karen. It seems we all go through patches of tough times with shots.
Have you tried the “roll method” instead of tenting?
I was also having problems with a tent as Ivy doesn’t seem to have floppy skin to pull up.
I seem to like the roll method better.
Just an idea to think about.
Sending you and sweet Chispa best wishes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Staci & Ivy
I think I figured it out ... I did another one tonight (can you believe?!) and all I could think was, my cat is leaking. Why is liquid coming out of her fur, when I KNOW the needle went in? But then I looked closer at where the liquid was coming from, and I saw that it was further up her neck than where I made the tent ... meaning, I think, that the needle went through and came out the other side.
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
Staci, I've heard of the roll method (thank you for the suggestion) but I don't know what it is. Can you explain, or is there a link somewhere? I tried but couldn't find it in the stickies.

Diane, thank you for the link to my last post!
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Staci & Ivy
I think I figured it out ... I did another one tonight (can you believe?!) and all I could think was, my cat is leaking. Why is liquid coming out of her fur, when I KNOW the needle went in? But then I looked closer at where the liquid was coming from, and I saw that it was further up her neck than where I made the tent ... meaning, I think, that the needle went through and came out the other side.
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
Staci, I've heard of the roll method (thank you for the suggestion) but I don't know what it is. Can you explain, or is there a link somewhere? I tried but couldn't find it in the stickies.

Diane, thank you for the link to my last post!
Scroll down, Karen. It’s described here very well by Marje
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/testing-and-shooting-tips.85113/
I hope this helps!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/testing-and-shooting-tips.85113/
 
Make sure you watch the last video in that Testing and Shooting Tips post. Blowing on the hair to part it, plus the roll method, helped me. Good luck!

You could also start a fur shot jar. Every time you do one, toss a dollar in the jar. At the end of the year, spend the contents on something nice for you. :bighug:
 
Make sure you watch the last video in that Testing and Shooting Tips post. Blowing on the hair to part it, plus the roll method, helped me. Good luck!

You could also start a fur shot jar. Every time you do one, toss a dollar in the jar. At the end of the year, spend the contents on something nice for you. :bighug:
Wendy, thanks -- I did watch the video, and the roll method seemed to go OK this morning. I'll stick with it and hope for better luck going forward.

Meanwhile, I love the fur shot jar suggestion! Why shouldn't we all get a consolation prize for our best efforts, even if we do muck it up? I'm doing it.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry Karen, this must have been very distressing. Sounds like you figured out the issue - hope you find a comfortable way to make sure Chispa gets all in the syringe! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much, Kit. I am lucky to have a patient kitty who puts up with my ongoing attempts to find the right spot. The cute gray tabby in the "home testing" video was growling and snapping at his caregiver the whole time, except for when she was talking about how growly and snappy he was, and then he was lolling on his catnip banana with tooth marks all over it. Cute little rascal.:joyful:

I hope you and Mikan are having a peaceful day today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry Karen, it is so frustrating when this happens!
I switched to the roll too, a while ago. I find it easier to "see" where the needle is this way.
Hi Cecile! It sure is frustrating. One fur shot is bad enough, but three??? I am just thanking my lucky stars that she didn't get in her spaceship and blast off to Jupiter.

Wishing you and Bella a stress-free evening! (might want to stay away from the TV) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top