Karen and Chispa (GA)
Member Since 2022
Hi everyone,
I've been disheartened by a long string of mostly pink preshots since going back to TR two months ago, but last night at PMPS I was astonished to see 161 on the meter. Yay, I thought, progress at last! -- but then my heart sank when I felt a damp spot on her fur. And then again this morning!!
Poor Chispa is trying so hard, but something isn't working. After 2.5 years, you'd think I would know how to give a shot, but it seems like I need some advice. Here is what I do, every single time:
1. Make a "tent" in her scruff and try to part the fur with my fingers (she has a thick coat, though, so it's difficult to see).
2. Vow that I am not going to do a fur shot.
3. Insert the needle and keep applying steady pressure to make sure it stays in there, while slowly pushing the plunger all the way in.
4. Count to 5 before removing the needle, making sure to keep my thumb on the plunger the whole time so the insulin can't get sucked back into the syringe.
5. Put my hand over the spot while scratching her chin to distract from the ouchies.
6. Pet the fur backwards to check for damp spots.
What am I doing wrong? Any advice greatly appreciated!
I've been disheartened by a long string of mostly pink preshots since going back to TR two months ago, but last night at PMPS I was astonished to see 161 on the meter. Yay, I thought, progress at last! -- but then my heart sank when I felt a damp spot on her fur. And then again this morning!!
Poor Chispa is trying so hard, but something isn't working. After 2.5 years, you'd think I would know how to give a shot, but it seems like I need some advice. Here is what I do, every single time:
1. Make a "tent" in her scruff and try to part the fur with my fingers (she has a thick coat, though, so it's difficult to see).
2. Vow that I am not going to do a fur shot.
3. Insert the needle and keep applying steady pressure to make sure it stays in there, while slowly pushing the plunger all the way in.
4. Count to 5 before removing the needle, making sure to keep my thumb on the plunger the whole time so the insulin can't get sucked back into the syringe.
5. Put my hand over the spot while scratching her chin to distract from the ouchies.
6. Pet the fur backwards to check for damp spots.
What am I doing wrong? Any advice greatly appreciated!



