Previous post.
Hi everyone,
I recently came back from the vet visit. My cat was supposed to get her teeth fixed, but I explained to my vet that she's still not eating very well, so instead we opted for fluid therapy + extra blood work. I will include all the blood work in my spreadsheet, but her potassium levels were low, which is likely a reason why she was eating so little.
My vet also mentioned that her current insulin dose is too low, and she suggested increasing the dose to 2.0u (?) which surprised me. And to explain why I am dosing her so low these days is because there are days when she can barely finish 2 meals, so I am constantly worried about hypoglycemia. I already did a good amount of research in this forum, and I'm pretty sure experienced people in this forum will be very against my vet advice on increasing the dose to 2.0u. What complicates things more is the fact that I won't be able to test my cat during the day anymore, I can likely get a test at +10 but that's it. I think I will be switching back to SLGS for safety.
I am thinking of bringing the dose back to 1.0u tomorrow, what do you people think? Currently she has a very good appetite after the visit, it's early to say, but hopefully she can return to eating normally again. Furthermore, I will be supplementing my cat potassium as well.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Edit;
She just dropped from 11/3 PMPS: 358 to +3 - 139. Very sharp drop, not sure if I like that.
Hi everyone,
I recently came back from the vet visit. My cat was supposed to get her teeth fixed, but I explained to my vet that she's still not eating very well, so instead we opted for fluid therapy + extra blood work. I will include all the blood work in my spreadsheet, but her potassium levels were low, which is likely a reason why she was eating so little.
My vet also mentioned that her current insulin dose is too low, and she suggested increasing the dose to 2.0u (?) which surprised me. And to explain why I am dosing her so low these days is because there are days when she can barely finish 2 meals, so I am constantly worried about hypoglycemia. I already did a good amount of research in this forum, and I'm pretty sure experienced people in this forum will be very against my vet advice on increasing the dose to 2.0u. What complicates things more is the fact that I won't be able to test my cat during the day anymore, I can likely get a test at +10 but that's it. I think I will be switching back to SLGS for safety.
I am thinking of bringing the dose back to 1.0u tomorrow, what do you people think? Currently she has a very good appetite after the visit, it's early to say, but hopefully she can return to eating normally again. Furthermore, I will be supplementing my cat potassium as well.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Edit;
She just dropped from 11/3 PMPS: 358 to +3 - 139. Very sharp drop, not sure if I like that.
Last edited: