? 11/3 Nika AMPS 351; PMPS; 358 - Vet visit.

dov

Member Since 2026
Previous post.

Hi everyone,

I recently came back from the vet visit. My cat was supposed to get her teeth fixed, but I explained to my vet that she's still not eating very well, so instead we opted for fluid therapy + extra blood work. I will include all the blood work in my spreadsheet, but her potassium levels were low, which is likely a reason why she was eating so little.

My vet also mentioned that her current insulin dose is too low, and she suggested increasing the dose to 2.0u (?) which surprised me. And to explain why I am dosing her so low these days is because there are days when she can barely finish 2 meals, so I am constantly worried about hypoglycemia. I already did a good amount of research in this forum, and I'm pretty sure experienced people in this forum will be very against my vet advice on increasing the dose to 2.0u. What complicates things more is the fact that I won't be able to test my cat during the day anymore, I can likely get a test at +10 but that's it. I think I will be switching back to SLGS for safety.

I am thinking of bringing the dose back to 1.0u tomorrow, what do you people think? Currently she has a very good appetite after the visit, it's early to say, but hopefully she can return to eating normally again. Furthermore, I will be supplementing my cat potassium as well.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Edit;

She just dropped from 11/3 PMPS: 358 to +3 - 139. Very sharp drop, not sure if I like that.
 
Last edited:
Previous post.

Hi everyone,

I recently came back from the vet visit. My cat was supposed to get her teeth fixed, but I explained to my vet that she's still not eating very well, so instead we opted for fluid therapy + extra blood work. I will include all the blood work in my spreadsheet, but her potassium levels were low, which is likely a reason why she was eating so little.

My vet also mentioned that her current insulin dose is too low, and she suggested increasing the dose to 2.0u (?) which surprised me. And to explain why I am dosing her so low these days is because there are days when she can barely finish 2 meals, so I am constantly worried about hypoglycemia. I already did a good amount of research in this forum, and I'm pretty sure experienced people in this forum will be very against my vet advice on increasing the dose to 2.0u. What complicates things more is the fact that I won't be able to test my cat during the day anymore, I can likely get a test at +10 but that's it. I think I will be switching back to SLGS for safety.

I am thinking of bringing the dose back to 1.0u tomorrow, what do you people think? Currently she has a very good appetite after the visit, it's early to say, but hopefully she can return to eating normally again. Furthermore, I will be supplementing my cat potassium as well.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Edit;

She just dropped from 11/3 PMPS: 358 to +3 - 139. Very sharp drop, not sure if I like that.
Hi, has Nika ever had pancreatitis or does she have IBD? Are her stools ok? Is she vomiting?
Does she turn away from food or look like she wants to eat?
Do you think she is nauseated at all?

Some of these things can keep them from eating.
Do you have any anti nausea medication (ondansetron or Cerenia? Not sure if you have those available where you are, or maybe similar medications).

She seems to take a dive at +3, can you give a small snack about 30 minutes before she dives, say around +2.5 to try to keep her drops less drastic. You can feed a few teaspoons or tablespoons of her main meal reserved and feed as a snack. It can really help with sharp dives. 🥰

As you know, we advise increases by .25 units generally here. Not 1 unit at a time. It’s done to keep them safe. Especially if you can’t monitor closely!
 
Does she turn away from food or look like she wants to eat?
Do you think she is nauseated at all?
Some of these things can keep them from eating.
Do you have any anti nausea medication (ondansetron or Cerenia? Not sure if you have those available where you are, or maybe similar medications).
She seems to take a dive at +3, can you give a small snack about 30 minutes before she dives, say around +2.5 to try to keep her drops less drastic. You can feed a few teaspoons or tablespoons of her main meal reserved and feed as a snack. It can really help with sharp dives. 🥰

As you know, we advise increases by .25 units generally here. Not 1 unit at a time. It’s done to keep them safe. Especially if you can’t monitor closely!
Hi,

If you can remember we had this conversation in the previous post.

I talked about possibility of pancreatitis to my vet, she told me that they don't have the equipment to check her pancreas and I will need to go to a different clinic. Unfortunately the clinic is very far away, it's over 2 hours of drive, so 4 hours in total of commuting, not to mention it's getting very expensive for me. Also oddly enough my vet hasn't mentioned the fPLI blood test, I am starting to wonder why.


I'll try to answer your questions now;

Hi, has Nika ever had pancreatitis or does she have IBD? Are her stools ok? Is she vomiting?
Has she ever been diagnosed with pancreatitis or IBD? No. Does she have it now? Not sure. I am asking my vet the same question. Her stool looked little bit soft today. Not vomiting.

Does she turn away from food or look like she wants to eat?
She's enticed by a fresh food that has a stronger smell like freshly boiled chicken, but with wet food she just licks it and walks away. I tried so many brands already, I am not even looking at carbs anymore. I am also 100% sure she would eat dry food, she goes crazy for dry food.

Do you think she is nauseated at all?

It's hard to tell, because she's not showing obvious signs.

Do you have any anti nausea medication (ondansetron or Cerenia? Not sure if you have those available where you are, or maybe similar medications).

I can get ondansetron 8mg tablets. Not sure about the cerenia, but I am actually working right now in a major city and there is decent amount of vet clinics there. I will need to call around and ask if they have that.

Today I had 2 auto feeders prepared. After coming back from work, she didn't eat any of the food and by the look of it I don't think she touched it. Yeah I don't think the last vet visit helped a lot :// She was actually eating a decent amount after she came back from the vet visit yesterday. I can never stabilize her glucose levels with the way she's eating right now. Why did my vet suggest 2 units? It's still mind blowing to me.
 
Back
Top