11/3 Milos fast drop! +6 253/ +8 117 is he safe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ava-and-Milo

Member Since 2021
First time seeing a 100's number which is great, but i am nervous its too good to be true. I retested with the libre right after and he got 117 again.

his NADIR was I'm assuming at +5 again.. what does it mean when he drops so low later? he has not eaten since a small snack around +4
 
okay I'm feeling better as he is now at 162 just twenty minutes later .. but still what do i make of such a drop?
 
It's a little hard to say since you just started testing but I'd say it's possible he's breaking a bounce. It's good, good number! Don't be surprised if he bounces up again though since his body isn't used to the lower numbers.
 
Oh thank you for linking! Is that something I should do in the future ? Or is that something admin does here?
Is it a nadir? I figured his +5 was nadir

We ask everyone to link their posts. That way it’s easier to get the previous suggestions without having to search for them.
Yes the 117 is today’s nadir. The nadir can move around. Melissa said it might be a bounce breaking which is totally possible. It looks like Milo is heading back up. Sometimes a bounce clearing cycle means the next one will be active. With him headg up it might not happen and it could also mean it’s just a late nadir. That’s why the spreadsheet is so important. Soon we will be able to figure this out. Great job testing.

You might try Vaseline on hi ear. I used to use Neosporin with pain relief but it’s no longer suggested because many cats are allergic to it they have found.

I see you are using the Libre now so you don’t need anything fur his ears.
 
We ask everyone to link their posts. That way it’s easier to get the previous suggestions without having to search for them.
Yes the 117 is today’s nadir. The nadir can move around. Melissa said it might be a bounce breaking which is totally possible. It looks like Milo is heading back up. Sometimes a bounce clearing cycle means the next one will be active. With him headg up it might not happen and it could also mean it’s just a late nadir. That’s why the spreadsheet is so important. Soon we will be able to figure this out. Great job testing.

You might try Vaseline on hi ear. I used to use Neosporin with pain relief but it’s no longer suggested because many cats are allergic to it they have found.
I will try and figure out how link from now on!
He had the libre installed until I figure out manual tests. Now knowing those are Libre numbers , does that change anything in your opinion ?
 
I will try and figure out how link from now on!
He had the libre installed until I figure out manual tests. Now knowing those are Libre numbers , does that change anything in your opinion ?

To link the condo just copy the url and paste it. The Libre doesn’t change anything. My only caution is if you ever see a number under 50 it’s a good idea to double check with your meter. That’s when we have seen it not be as accurate. It’s always a good idea to check with a second ear prick if you get a bg that does not go along with the rest of a cycle as well. It’s possible t get a bad strip or have too much or too little blood on a strip.
 
Last edited:
To link the condo just copy the url and paste it. The Libre doesn’t change anything. My only caution is if you ever see a number under 50 it’s a good idea to double check with your meter. That’s when we have seen it not be as accurate. It’s always a good idea to check with a second ear prick if you get a bg that dies the go along with the rest of a cycle as well. It’s possible t get a bad strip or have too much or too little blood on a strip.
So his PMPS shot was HI. does this warrant starting a higher dose sooner then a few days? I’d love to start it ASAP while I have the libre on
 
So his PMPS shot was HI. does this warrant starting a higher dose sooner then a few days? I’d love to start it ASAP while I have the libre on
No. You need to hold the starting dose for at least 5 days to let the depot build, especially since you got that 117. The link Diane provided explains more.

Hes definitely bouncing up like I predicted, just sit tight and continue to give the same dose unless a reduction is earned. It can take a few cycles (and a lot of patience) to clear a bounce. His body isn't used to these numbers, so the liver "panics" and dumps a form of glucose into the bloodstream.
 
No. You need to hold the starting dose for at least 5 days to let the depot build, especially since you got that 117. The link Diane provided explains more.

Hes definitely bouncing up like I predicted, just sit tight and continue to give the same dose unless a reduction is earned. It can take a few cycles (and a lot of patience) to clear a bounce. His body isn't used to these numbers, so the liver "panics" and dumps a form of glucose into the bloodstream.
I just figured since he has been on this dose (.5) since 9/16 it would be okay to move it. But these are first numbers I’ve ever recorded because I have a libre as of 11/2. But I will hold! I’ll truly follow the advice on here to a T. I just want what’s best for my boy.
 
Has anything changed recently? Diet? Medications?
You mean in regards to his blue number? No nothing has changed. My guess is that first day of recording he was extra high because we had to to the vet to get his Libre placed. And he hates leaving the house so maybe today was a better reflection of his numbers in a relaxed state. Before the vet I had given him prescribed gabapentin (100mg) for his anxiety . Other than a big vet day, food is still the same ( tiki pate and friskies pate) and his 2 zobalines among his pile of pure bite chicken treats in the morning.
 
I just figured since he has been on this dose (.5) since 9/16 it would be okay to move it. But these are first numbers I’ve ever recorded because I have a libre as of 11/2. But I will hold! I’ll truly follow the advice on here to a T. I just want what’s best for my boy.
No worries! Just want to keep him safe while we get more data :)
 
You mean in regards to his blue number? No nothing has changed. My guess is that first day of recording he was extra high because we had to to the vet to get his Libre placed. And he hates leaving the house so maybe today was a better reflection of his numbers in a relaxed state. Before the vet I had given him prescribed gabapentin (100mg) for his anxiety . Other than a big vet day, food is still the same ( tiki pate and friskies pate) and his 2 zobalines among his pile of pure bite chicken treats in the morning.
Yes I just meant in general. Sometimes medications or food changes can affect things, just wanted to make sure that wasn't the case here. Stress is definitely an element to it, but that 117 is a nice number so hopefully he comes down a bit.

How are his meals currently spaced out?
 
Yes I just meant in general. Sometimes medications or food changes can affect things, just wanted to make sure that wasn't the case here. Stress is definitely an element to it, but that 117 is a nice number so hopefully he comes down a bit.

How are his meals currently spaced out?
So right now and his brother ( non sugar cat, mosa) split a can of friskies pate in the morning post shot. Then I leave out another 1/2 can for each when I go to work for 8 hours. Then I come home, empty the left overs ( they don’t each much while I’m gone). Put out another 1/2 can for each to eat before he fasts for insulin. Then I give shot snd give him 1/2 can of tiki which they both always fully eat. They don’t finish their 1/2 friskies portions ever. Then around +6-9 after PMPS I’m woken up at least twice to be carried to food ( he has neuropathy- reason why I took him to vet - I noticed he was wobbly). I’llput out 1/2 can of friskies for night time grazing.
 
Yes I just meant in general. Sometimes medications or food changes can affect things, just wanted to make sure that wasn't the case here. Stress is definitely an element to it, but that 117 is a nice number so hopefully he comes down a bit.

How are his meals currently spaced out?
I just did another test at the beginning of this hour and its down to 254
 
So I am about to leave for work.. but I am concerned with how long he has been reading hi.. I added the image to my spreadsheet for whoever to see
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top