11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452,+2 404,+4 307,+6 261,+8 185

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danette & Esmeralda

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Guys,

Danette here, I have posted some new numbers for Esmeralda, as you can see she was at 333 +10 & 452 +11; I have to leave so I will give Esmeralda her U +11. Also last night was the first night I DID NOT feed her first before testing or U. Iam now feeding her afterwards.


Learning here
 
Re: Esmeralda

I would definitely feed her before you leave, Danette. The insulin will have kicked in before you get back, so you want food on board, ok?
 
Re: Esmeralda

I agree with Laurie, you want food in her tummy before that insulin kicks in .. you are doing great though!
 
Re: Esmeralda

Thank you Laurie and Pete,

Feeding her now, gotta leave BUT will be back at 10ish, I will test her again, and post results. Also, her Xobaline will be here today, very excited about that, she is really struggling in her cat box because she is so weak in the legs. Breaking my heart, but Im hopefull this will help. I dont want her to lose her will.
 
Re: Esmeralda

Im back, meeting cancelled until tomorrow, will test her at 9am, that will be 2hours after her 2.0 U, and 1 1/2 hrs after eating.
 
Re: Esmeralda

If it's not too much trouble, can you convert your times into hours after a shot? We're all in different time zones so when you refer to the hour on your clock, it doesn't mean a whole lot if someone is half way around the world. Your pre-shot (AMPS or PMPS) is 12 hours from the previous shot, +1 is an hour after a shot, +3.25 is 3-1/4 hours after a shot, etc.

Also, we use a particular convention for subject lines. This is outlined in the New to the Group sticky. You list the date, Esmeralda, AMPS-# and then add numbers as you get them.
 
Re: Esmeralda

Sorry to hear your meeting was canceled...or maybe it's a good thing :smile: I hope Esmeralda is able to find some lower numbers and gets to feeling better.
 
Re: Esmeralda

Sending good thoughts, and healing vines for Esmeralda.

I agree with what Sienne said about the subject line. It's the norm around here, and it helps those of us (like myself) to know when the preshot was, etc.
 
Re: Esmeralda

It's not fixed....here's how you fix it...go to your first post of the thread, click on edit. Click in the subject box and change the text to what you want it to read, then click on submit.

We know you're new to this, we'll help you. :smile:
 
Re: Esmeralda

Hi Danette - Shadow has trouble with her back legs and the kitty box was a problem for her too and many times she ended up squatting right next to it because it was so hard for her to climb into. We ended up cutting one side down so it would be easier for her to get in and she's never had another accident. I think the MethylB12 is helping her, so I feel good about Esmeralda starting it today.
 
Re: Esmeralda

Kim, I cant wait for the Xobaline, I keep checking the door for UPS. It broke my heart this morning, had to clean her paws, she had kitty litter caked all over them. How long has shadow been on the Methyl B12? And how long did it take for you to see results? (Iknow every kitty is different) BUT.........
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452 B4U, 2.0U, 404 +2

There you go, now you got it Danette!

A little housekeeping...I know you got off schedule last night, so you shot early this morning. I just want to remind you that you should try to stick to a 12/12 schedule, as close as possible. Anytime you shoot early, it's like a dose increase, and shooting late is like a decrease. Lantus like consistent dosing, so when you shoot at differing times, it can cause wonky numbers. Since you shot an hour early this morning, you really need to shoot 12 hours from that time tonight, ok? If you need to adjust the schedule more, then you can shoot 15 minutes early on both shots starting tomorrow morning, or a half hour early once per day. Does that make sense? If you adjust in small increments like that, it doesn't have too much effect on the shed.

Speaking of the shed....have you read the stickies at the top of the forum? There's a lot of great info there, it will help you out a lot. I would encourage you to read (and re-read) them, and ask any questions you might have.
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452 B4U, 2.0U, 404 +2, 307 +4

Thanks for changing the subject line. Can you help me out since I'm not sure what your abbreviations mean.

AMPS 452 -- this was the test you got this morning before you shot

B4U - I haven't any idea what this means. Are you trying to say you tested before you shot? If so, the assumption is that you test then shoot. You don't need to write it in the subject line.

2.0U - I think this means you show 2.0 units of Lantus (usually we abbreviate 2.0u -- the "u" is in lowercase but that's not critical)
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452 B4U, 2.0U, 404 +2, 307 +4

Wasnt to bad yesterday, was off about 10min off, was just scared to give her U, because her numbers were as low as I have ever seen them; I think it was because I didnt feed her first? Iam starting to see a lil bit of a pattern, I am hopefull to see low number again tonight, Esmeralda is starting to drop every two hours. Keeping my fingers crossed. Also the Xobaline just came....... And took her off of dry food as of this morning... Its a good day guys.....

I have a questions, I have two other kitty's (Zoe & Tigger), I have dry food for them, I have put it up high (so Esmeralda cant reach it right now), how do I give them hard food, when Esmeralda cant? But the other two are getting some of her wet when she eats. Do I just do away w/all dry? and just give all 3 Purina DM (Merrick will be here tomorrow)?
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452 B4U, 2.0U, 404 +2, 307 +4

Sienne,

Yes, the 452 was B4U (Before U). Didnt know that was just implied. :smile:
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452, 2.0u, 404 +2, 307 +4, 261 +6

Amps are going down, I broke down and gave Esmeralda 1/4 can of wet, she was looking for her dry food (1/4 can Purina DM +5).
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452, 2.0u, 404 +2, 307 +4, 261 +6

If you can, it is best to eliminate all dry food. It's not good for any cat...take a look at this website about feline nutrition. http://catinfo.org/ Are you switching to Merrick canned foods? If so, then I would just feed that to everybody...which flavors are you getting?

The AMPS stands for AM (morning) PS (preshot) number, PMPS is evening preshot number...any other tests you get are + # of hours since shot. The shots are like zero hour...make sense? So when you say AMPS, it means the number you got right before shooting this morning. We sometimes take it for granted that everyone understands our abbreviations, sorry about that! ;-) Please let us know if we are as clear as mud, ok? :lol:

It's fine to feed between shots, you don't need to only feed at shot time. In fact, it's better to spread the food out a little. Many of us feed the meals in small installments at PS, +1, +2, and +3 to avoid a big food spike and make it easier on the pancreas when it (hopefully) starts to function again, some people free feed wet food, and some people give small meals throughout the day. it depends on what works for you. If you aren't home during the day, you can freeze food in ice cube trays or muffin pans and leave it out to thaw for fresh food later, or add water to the food to help it stay fresh. There are also timed feeders available. The one big rule about feeding is that you don't want to feed within 2 hours of shot time, so please pick up the food at +10 at the latest.
 
Hey guys,

When do you NOT give the U? OR should I say what number is toooo low, and do skip, or just keep testing even though its beyond the +12?
 
Laurie,

I got Esmeralda some of the Merrick Cowboy Cookout, should be here tomorrow. But I just ran across this web site http://www.avma.org/petfoodsafety/recal ... t.asp#cats, Merrick's dog food was recalled this year. Nothing about Cats... And Im not the expert here either LOL... Actually its been quite an eye opener what the Pet Food Industry is putting in our pet food. Told my husband Im going to be an activist for our pets LOL :lol: :lol:
 
I agree with Laurie, and would get rid of all dry food. It's just not good for them.

There are some decent foods out there - I feed Emma some of the Merrick's (cowboy cookout, surf and turf, and also some of their B.G. line foods once in a while), Wellness Chicken or Turkey, and EVO 95% Chicken and Turkey. Emma doesn't like to eat the same thing everyday, so we mix it up on a rotation. She doesn't love the Merrick B.G. foods, so I mix in a little fancy feast salmon (just a teaspoon or so) and she gobbles it up. It may take you a while to transition everyone off the dry food - for Emma, I started putting a dollop of the wet on top of her dry food, and gradually increased the wet and decreased the dry, til she was just getting like a tablespoon of dry, and then we stopped it altogether. It took a couple of weeks.
 
Re: 11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452,+2 404,+4 307,+6 261,+8 185,+10

Hey Guys,
My computer logged me out, and wouldnt let me back in, so I have re-regestered under my another email. I did contact an administator, but no reply yet. I will re-input Esmeralda's numbers. UGH Frustrating
 
You asked about when it's not safe to shoot. The answer to that is, "It depends." You need to have accumulated sufficient data to begin to shoot low numbers. If you look at the "data ready" sticky, it advises newbies to skip a shot if your pre-shot test is below 150. Once you have collected more and more data, you'll be able to shot below 150. If you look at the AMPS and PMPS numbers people post, you'll see numbers as low as the 50s and 60s. No matter how much data you have, it's not advisable to shoot below 50.

Libby recently posted this note on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.

Gabby was first diagnosed, I was driving myself crazy trying to feed her one thing and my kitten different food. The kitten could have dry and Gabby was very adept at finding it and getting into places I could swear she would stay away from. When I asked how people handled it, I got the same responses you're getting -- switch all of my cats to canned. It has made life much simpler.
 
QUESTION - Do I feed her? I know not to give her PMPS right now because of her low number but do I feed her?
I dont have her numbers up yet, having trouble w/login in, had to reregester, see previous posts
11/3 Esmeraldas AMPS 452,+2 404,+4 307,+6 261,+8 185,+10, 93 +12
 
No, I would not feed her....stall and test in 15 minutes. Keep us posted on her numbers.

Listing the BG like that is fine since you are having trouble logging in....good job!
 
Still falling, stall and test in 15 minutes..or as we say here: lather, rinse, repeat!

Is stalling and shooting late going to be a problem for you tomorrow? Remember that you want to shoot 12 hours from whatever time you shoot tonight...
 
If she drops below 50, she earns a dose decrease....so even that is fine, you just don't want her to linger down there. You do have karo syrup in the house, correct? High carb gravy food? Just asking in case...don't worry!
 
I know...are you moving the spot each time, use the whole side of the ear from the bend up to the tip?

Are you going to be able to shoot 12 hours from whatever time you shoot tonight? You may want to consider skipping this shot....she's still going down.
 
I rub her ears, and we switch ears, she is an angel when it comes to this, she is just hungry, I can hear her stomach growl..... :sad:
Will test at the top of the hour... I will keep testing, because I wont sleep, if she keeps going down.
 
nice work, dannette...and great job on not hitting the panic button! you and esmeralda will be pros at this in no time!

celi & binks
 
I know the low numbers are scary in the beginning, Danette. I remember what that was like! You'll get used to them, though. It does look like she is starting to slow down a little.

Do you have a hypo kit in case you need it? I'm not saying you will tonight, just asking if you are prepared?
 
I doubt very much that the Xobaline had anything to do with it, if anything that would boost her numbers up.

The 400s are probably a bounce from low numbers. The decreasing BG through this cycle was that bounce clearing.....not a typical cycle. However, it appears to me that the 2.0u dose is too high, which is why the numbers are going so low. When you get PS numbers that are too low to shoot, you want to decrease the dose so that you can shoot on a 12/12 cycle consistently....without having to skip shots. If you look at the protocol, we increase doses by 0.25u in most cases. The reason for that is so that you don't miss the right dose. Your increases have been 0.5u, so you likely missed the right dose.

I'd like to get other's feedback on a new dose, but I really think you need to decrease.
 
75 +13.75, I bet she climbs up from now until tomorrow AM. I am not going to test her anymore tonight, her poor ears, its been all day testing, and I will need to test tomorrow. I will be up early and retest her, and post. I want to thank you for staying up w/me and talking me off the ledge (lol). you guys are the best. I put some neosporin on her ears at night at bed time.
 
Danette, I wouldn't stop testing just yet! That rise is food induced, she may drop again. I would test again in an hour....sorry, but it's for her safety.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top