11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2 , 40 +6 , 167 +12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
So Blitzed and I have started our dance, He's come down nicely in the two hours.
Blitzen's SS is #2 in my signature .
 
Re: 11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2

Hi Robin, sorry that kitty #2 (Blitzen) is now diabetic. At least Dasher is looking really great on his OTJ trial. I hope you can do the same for Blitzen too.

For those who haven't seen, this is Robin's first post about Blitzen on Health
 
Re: 11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2

With that 40 at +6, I think you need to reduce the dose. How did the vet arrive at the 2.0u dose? You might want to consider using the weight based formula:

initial dose - 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms​
Typically, this calculates out to about 1.0u (give or take).

The thought I had about both Dasher and Blitzen being diabetic is that they may have a genetic predisposition given that they are litter mates.
 
Re: 11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2

I agree I think with him hitting 40 I will reduce the dose. With his weight it should of been 1.5 but I'm thinkng 1U might be a better starting dose.

I too am wondering how both my cats would become diabetic within three weeks of each other, I really think there was something in the hard food that did this, if it had been six months or a year I would just think ok but three weeks apart has me thinking something fishy.

I will be giving him a BG soon so hopefully I won't need a 911 post. Will update after I do the check.
 
Re: 11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2 , 40 +6

Genetic predisposition plus environmental stressors (ex high carb food, etc) -> diabetes.
 
Re: 11/29 Blitzen AMPS 392 , 254 +2 , 40 +6

BJM said:
Genetic predisposition plus environmental stressors (ex high carb food, etc) -> diabetes.
Within 3 weeks of each other , whatever the reason I find it strange . Let's hope it runs in the family and he reacts like Dasher did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top