11/27 Tinkerbell PMPS 341 Hooted .5u

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: Tink's 1 Yr OTJ Celebration Postponed :YMSIGH:

CD and BigMac said:
...The curve today will really help you get a bigger picture.

For what it's worth, I wouldn't start her at 1 unit if/when you do decide to give her some insulin. The most I'd try would be .5u and go up or down from there.
I had a little concern with BigMac last month when he seemed to hang at a higher set of numbers after his dental. The morning of his dental he was 74 and afterwards he stayed above 160. I waited him out... he finished his antibiotics... I waited... his BG stayed up in the 160's for two weeks. I didn't understand why so I decided to give him a touch of Levemir. It dropped him like a rock and I had to feed HC food all day. :shock: He's been normal ever since. I don't know what was going on but that one shot seemed to kick him in the butt and he's been fine ever since. ...

in my opinion 1 unit might be a big jump since she'd been OTJ for almost a year. It would be easier to increase the dose as needed from 0.5 unit, should you decide she needs insulin. It looks like she does need a little help.

P.S. I couldn't see the photos...page not found. :sad:

OK, b4 I start her back on lantus I will do a curve today. Thank you all for the input yesterday evening and I agree with CD not to start her @ 1u but to start her back at .5u if indeed I need to start her back at all.

I think the pic link from yesterday seems to be working now: Is it time to eat yet @ Tink & Tawny's house?
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve Today AMBG 293;+2/369

Hi Desi:

I saw the pics and they were absolutely adorable and I"m so happy Tawny is eating so well.

If you do start her back up, you want to be aggressive if she needs increases. Here's a quote from Jill on Binks' condo when he came back from the falls (I also added the link to the condo in case you want to look at the entire thread):

when an OTJ kitty returns from the Falls, their bodies have been through this once before. cells have been compromised. in a way, you could say a returning kitty faces a tougher battle getting back to the Falls. the best way to get them back there is to get them back into green as soon as you can without putting them in danger.

you know binks and you know your schedule (availability to monitor). use what you know to be as aggressive as you can be (that level is different for everybody). an experienced caregiver who knows what they're doing and makes themselves available to monitor can push in a way no newbie ever could.

please study the first few weeks alex was back on insulin in 2009. i'm using her 2009 spreadsheet as an example because that's when she returned from the Falls the first time. when she started back on insulin the third time in 2010 she was near death's door and getting her back to the Falls became a secondary concern. notice how 2009 increases were made. when you know the protocol inside and out you know what guidelines can be set aside. remember, there are no hard and fast rules here... only suggested guidelines. find what works best for the two of you and run with it. if you're not seeing green real soon, take the dose up as long as your schedule permits.

Condo link: Jill's thoughts on Binks
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve Today AMBG 293;+2/369; +4.5/349

Tink's back from the Falls curve so far today:

AMBG 293 no insulin given
+2 / 369
+4.5 / 349 didn't get back from strip-getting errand quite in time for +4
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve AMBG 293; +2/369; +4.5/349

Oh, I hope you can get her back to The Falls real soon.
Is her spreadsheet updated? I didn't look ;-) .
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve AMBG 293; +2/369; +4.5/349

Aww, poor Tink! And poor you, Desi, you have had enough on your plate with getting Tawny regulated. I hope Tink gets back to the falls soon.

PS loved the pics, they are all adorable!
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve AMBG 293; +2/369; +4.5/349

We were sweatin' "Jill's thoughts on Binks" until he laughed and said..
"it's Jill's thoughts on CELI we need to be worried about" :shock: :o :lol:

hoping that what happened with bigmac is exactly what happens with Tinks!

love those pics, desi...and your captions...priceless! :-D
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Curve AMBG 293; +2/369; +4.5/349

Cute pics! I hope Tink is just back in the dance to show Tawny the steps. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell +8/301

Not looking good, but still dropping...

So far today:

AMBG 293
+2 / 369 food spike
+4.5 / 349 - did not get back from strip-buying errand in time for +4
+6 / 332
+8 / 301

There have been no snacks in these #s.
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

Her SS is updated sort of, today's data there.

So, what do you all think? Should I give her some insulin?

I will be here tonight, I have to sleep sometime, I will not be here much tomorrow, have to take Tawny to vet leave @ 7 a.m., come back to town for court @ 1:30 p.m., then off to that horrible store til 6:30 p.m., then go back to Mandeville to pick up Tawny at clinic after checkup & their curve.

Need advice/suggestions/input please.

YESTERDAY:
PMBG 352
+2 / 314

TODAY:
AMBG 293 - Ate LC Friskies
+2 / 369
+4.5 / 369
+6 / 332
+8 / 301
+11 / 341

@ +12 which is right now (8:30 p.m. my time) she is eating LC Friskies. I did not do a +12, seemed kind of pointless after the rest of today.

Should I start her back on Lantus? At what dose? Monitoring will be a problem tomorrow, can probably get a couple cks overnight.
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

I'd probably get her started on 0.5u. Are you going to to have Tink checked for a dental?
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd probably get her started on 0.5u. Are you going to to have Tink checked for a dental?

Will they do a dental if she is not regulated? When I took Tawny in last Spring for hers the local vet did not want to do it b/c Tawny was not regulated. I can't say as I have ever been able to get her regulated. Maybe with the help of this new clinic (LVRC).

I will ask them at LVRC in the morning when I take Tawny in for her 2-wk checkup about Tinkerbell getting a dental.
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

I guess it depends on what they mean by "regulated." Gabby has had 3 dentals since she was diagnosed. The last one was on Friday. I don't know that I'd call her regulated.

Keep in mind that if a cat has gingivitis, the inflammation may be contributing to higher numbers. If Tink needs a dental and that's what threw her out of remission, then waiting until she's regulated makes no sense.
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

Sienne and Gabby said:
I guess it depends on what they mean by "regulated." Gabby has had 3 dentals since she was diagnosed. The last one was on Friday. I don't know that I'd call her regulated.

Keep in mind that if a cat has gingivitis, the inflammation may be contributing to higher numbers. If Tink needs a dental and that's what threw her out of remission, then waiting until she's regulated makes no sense.

You know, wondered about this at the time. Exactly. I would think that the point of doing a dental in a diabetic cat with gingivitis could help get her/his #s under control which I thought meant regulated. I have such a difficult time arguing w/vets in in Mayberry in the Twilight Zone. I am so glad I found this new clinic, but of course an animal has to be referred to them, or it has to be an emergency. I'm sure I can get Tink in there tho. I'll see what they say in the morning.

I am gonna go ahead and give her .5u.
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

now i can say it....

SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!

funny_299.jpg
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell AMBG +11 / 341 Give Insulin??? Advice P

Good luck with the juice for Tink and the vet appt.....hope you can get her back to the Falls fast.

Celi: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/27 Tinkerbell Done Shooted!

Okey dokey, I done shooted: .5u

Celi, I swear one of those chicks looks just like me 'cept I usually have a shooter in each wing! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Yup, that would be me all right, an insulin hooter in each hand, one for each cat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top