DD & Tinkerbell
Member Since 2009
Yesterday: Tink's 1 Yr OTJ Celebration Postponed :YMSIGH:
OK, b4 I start her back on lantus I will do a curve today. Thank you all for the input yesterday evening and I agree with CD not to start her @ 1u but to start her back at .5u if indeed I need to start her back at all.
I think the pic link from yesterday seems to be working now: Is it time to eat yet @ Tink & Tawny's house?
CD and BigMac said:...The curve today will really help you get a bigger picture.
For what it's worth, I wouldn't start her at 1 unit if/when you do decide to give her some insulin. The most I'd try would be .5u and go up or down from there.
I had a little concern with BigMac last month when he seemed to hang at a higher set of numbers after his dental. The morning of his dental he was 74 and afterwards he stayed above 160. I waited him out... he finished his antibiotics... I waited... his BG stayed up in the 160's for two weeks. I didn't understand why so I decided to give him a touch of Levemir. It dropped him like a rock and I had to feed HC food all day. :shock: He's been normal ever since. I don't know what was going on but that one shot seemed to kick him in the butt and he's been fine ever since. ...
in my opinion 1 unit might be a big jump since she'd been OTJ for almost a year. It would be easier to increase the dose as needed from 0.5 unit, should you decide she needs insulin. It looks like she does need a little help.
P.S. I couldn't see the photos...page not found. :sad:
OK, b4 I start her back on lantus I will do a curve today. Thank you all for the input yesterday evening and I agree with CD not to start her @ 1u but to start her back at .5u if indeed I need to start her back at all.
I think the pic link from yesterday seems to be working now: Is it time to eat yet @ Tink & Tawny's house?