11/27 Boomer AMPS 185 +3 182 +6 158 PMPS 162 +3 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 185 shooting 2u

Boomer got me up at 2:00 again! And he continued to cry after I went btb. Then DH got up (mainly to use the bathroom lol) and I heard him tell Boomer to eat his fuds. Boomer was quiet after that :rolleyes:

Yesterday morning we had to given Allen another mirtazapine; he hadn't eaten much overnight and wasn't interested in eating in the morning. So he ate steadily yesterday and he ate well overnight and probably would have eaten better but his auto feeder didn't turn fully so he didn't have access to his second dish of food. And he had a small poop last night so hopefully that will make him feel better. He did come out of "his" bedroom on his own this morning once DH got up to start coffee and opened his door so that's a good sign. Today we will attempt to give fluids on our own; for the past week we've had a vet assistant that lives in the area come over to help us out. Wish us luck!
 
f7004d0dc10b72120e8edb941f1c153b--black-bear-black-cats.jpg
 
HI Judy! Boomer is looking so good! Glad that Allen is eating better now. And good luck with the fluids. It looks daunting to do in the video that Marje made but, my son as a young adult use to do it to his cat daily. Fingers and paws crossed.
 
HI Judy! Boomer is looking so good! Glad that Allen is eating better now. And good luck with the fluids. It looks daunting to do in the video that Marje made but, my son as a young adult use to do it to his cat daily. Fingers and paws crossed.
Hi Bobbie how are you? How is the Bubbs doing? We had tried giving Allen fluids before but he just struggled and walked away. We have experience giving a cat fluids but Allen was just too strong/stubborn lol.
 
Boomer, you are losing your powers of stirring...but it's okay, the food tastes the same without it, I promise! ;)

I hope Allen is calm for the fluids, good luck! :bighug:
 
YAY on being able to give Allen fluids!!! He must be connecting the dots that fluids make him feel better! Dehydration can cause nausea and appy issues, maybe that's what's going on. Hopefully he will continue to eat better for you.

Time for some green, Boomer!
 
Hopefully he will continue to eat better for you.
Today he doesn't want to eat much at all :( I just don't know what to do. He is due for a cerenia in a couple of hours. He had mirtazapine yesterday morning so can't have any more until tomorrow. He had a small poop last night. I just don't know.
 
Today he doesn't want to eat much at all :( I just don't know what to do. He is due for a cerenia in a couple of hours. He had mirtazapine yesterday morning so can't have any more until tomorrow. He had a small poop last night. I just don't know.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Maybe ondansetron would be a better anti-nausea choice for him? Some cats do better on one over the other. Generally speaking (although exceptions always apply), cerenia is more of an anti-vomiting med, whereas ondansetron is more of an anti-nausea.

He also might do better with cypro for the appy stimulant, since cypro can be given more frequently than mirtz.

Hugs and prayers....
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Maybe ondansetron would be a better anti-nausea choice for him? Some cats do better on one over the other. Generally speaking (although exceptions always apply), cerenia is more of an anti-vomiting med, whereas ondansetron is more of an anti-nausea.

He also might do better with cypro for the appy stimulant, since cypro can be given more frequently than mirtz.

Hugs and prayers....

Thanks Amy! I just put in a call to Dr Larry to see if he has something else for Allen. I'm so very frustrated!
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Maybe ondansetron would be a better anti-nausea choice for him? Some cats do better on one over the other. Generally speaking (although exceptions always apply), cerenia is more of an anti-vomiting med, whereas ondansetron is more of an anti-nausea.

He also might do better with cypro for the appy stimulant, since cypro can be given more frequently than mirtz.

Hugs and prayers....

Spoke to Dr Larry. He didn't seem inclined to give anything strictly for nausea. Told me we could give the mirtazapine daily and if it makes him hyper to discontinue daily dosage. When I told him that the cisapride seemed to make Allen feel better he suggested continuing it daily (unfortunately it's 3 pills a day). I asked about pepcid ac and he said we could give that...1/4 regular strength tablet once a day. He's looking into a new drug called Entyce.
So I'm going ahead with a cisapride and we'll go from there.
 
Bummer that he won't try anything different for nausea...boo!

Doesn't he use cypro as an appy stimulant? I don't know how things are there in Canada...here we do usually have a choice between mirtz and cypro.

Maybe you could start off with the 3 pills a day, and then taper down? Maybe you'll get the same improved appy results with fewer pills. Again, just a suggestion.

Pepcid may help, too....1/4 of a 10mg is the usual dose. FWIW, I ultimately ended up giving Trix 5mg twice a day, so you do have wiggle room - but, of course, don't change Allen's dose without first talking to Dr Larry.
 
Good news on the solo fluids for Allen!
Today he doesn't want to eat much at all :( I just don't know what to do. He is due for a cerenia in a couple of hours. He had mirtazapine yesterday morning so can't have any more until tomorrow.
Mirtazipine can be given every day. The latest research (ACVIM conference this summer) shows it only lasts 9 hours in the cat. If oral makes him hyper, transdermal is absorbed more slowly and does away with the hyper effects. But good luck getting transdermal, vetty looked at my like I'd grown horns when I asked for it. :rolleyes: I did use both cerenia and ondansetron. They target different nausea receptors. Sometimes one or the other works better, some cats need both like Neko did at one point.

Boomer, nothing funny today please.
 
Bummer that he won't try anything different for nausea...boo!

Doesn't he use cypro as an appy stimulant? I don't know how things are there in Canada...here we do usually have a choice between mirtz and cypro.

Maybe you could start off with the 3 pills a day, and then taper down? Maybe you'll get the same improved appy results with fewer pills. Again, just a suggestion.

Pepcid may help, too....1/4 of a 10mg is the usual dose. FWIW, I ultimately ended up giving Trix 5mg twice a day, so you do have wiggle room - but, of course, don't change Allen's dose without first talking to Dr Larry.
He did mention that there was another appy stimulant that we could try; I don't know whether he mentioned the name or not. It was a rushed conversation and only happened because he happened to be the one to answer the phone when I called the second time.
The cisapride...3 pills a day....seems to make him feel better in about 2-3 hours and lasts for maybe 3 hours.
 
+9 187
Boomer certainly isn't working the juice much today! I wonder if I gave a fur shot at some point. Or he's planning something nasty for me for tonight.
 
Here's hoping that Boomer will let you get back to sleep tonight. Maybe your DH's command worked!
I hope that Allen's meds will help him and that you and Dr. Larry can find the right combination to help him feel better. Congrats on the fluids! I'm sure that must be daunting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top