11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276 PMPS 254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
We fed him before his BG testing and he ate about 1/4-1/2 of his FF classic chicken and beef.. Then we gave him 1u of the Lantus after his AMPS was 317.


This morning was A LOT easier then yesterday.. He purred the whole time and we got blood on his first ear poke!


Yesterday's Thread
 
Re: 11/27 AMPS 317

Wooohoooo. Blood on the first ear poke. Welcome to the Vampire Club.

My Curry still growls at me w/the poking. :mrgreen: A purring kitty would be nice.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 11/27 AMPS 317

Morning Jenn,

Congratulations on blood on first poke. That's such a great feeling. Jenn you forgot to put Bid's name in your title post.

Also here is yesterday's condo. http: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30736

We post yesterdays's post in our first post of the day so others can check it yesterday happenings easy.

Have a good day.

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317

Good morning guys! So glad the ear poking went easier today ... This is a low pink amps number so hopefully you see some yellows and blues today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317

Morning Jenn...congratulations on doing a great job! :mrgreen:
Have you read the starred stickies at the top fo the page? "New to the Group" viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
Rea the part about the Hypo Tool kit and be sure to have on hand karo syrup and high carb canned foods with gravy >18%. When the numbers dip lower, we give the gravy alone to bring the numbers up. It is important to have some on hand all the time, ok?

Please read the stickies and come back here and post any questions you may have, ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317

Yeah for Bid and Jenn!
I bet he will have a great day for you today.
You're doing so well!
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317

Good morning! And welcome indeed to the vampire club! I do believe you are getting the hang of this... and I bet this time the main difference? You!

Once you get more comfortable with the testing process and are not communicating "anxious" to your cat, then they relax, you relax, and it all goes much better! And don't worry next time if you don't get blood right away - sometimes it takes a few seconds for the drop to appear, so a little patience sometimes will reward you. And if not, then you can always do a double-poke (or more) - it really doesn't hurt them as much as it hurts us! (eta: especially when you go right through the ear and poke your own finger too! LOL)

Congrats again and the most important thing of all is, that you are testing - no more shooting blind. What a good feeling THAT is..!!!
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317

YAY! A successful poke first time out today. As others have said: welcome to the vampire club. It does get easier, and as you become more confident, you'll relax, Bid will relax. You're off to a great start!

I hope you have a great day today, and that Bid has some nice cycles. Maybe some yellows today Bid?
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

Jenn..great job!!! His SS looks super. I'm glad the ear pokeys went better today and I hope the photo helped you out.

One thing, sweetie...you want to feed AFTER you test him not before :-D No worries...I did the exact same thing, too, when we started out. Some insulins, you have to test, feed, shoot at shot times but because Lantus usually takes a bit of time to kick in, you can test, shoot, and then immediately feed. This is what I have to do because Gracie, my little diva, does not like to be interrupted while she's eating so she knows she gets her test, gets her shot, and then gets breffis/dindin. Also, if you feed him after you test, it's like a little treat :-D You'll have to figure out how he best responds to food with his curve but, in general, we've all recently learned some great things on feeding. Here's some info from Jill who is one of our wise ones and a great strategist:

feeding a meal/snack at +9 will stimulate the pancreas to do it's job "IF" kitty has a sputtering/lazy pancreas when they're close to going OTJ. if they're not down to tiny doses of insulin and almost ready to go OTJ, feeding a meal or snack after nadir will almost always put the brakes on any action left to the insulin. of course, there are exceptions. occasionally you'll see a dip at the end of a cycle with or without feeding at +8 or +9. lantus is known for this little dip at the end of a cycle (it's never lower than nadir). so much so that we call it one of the quirks of lantus.

with gracies's propensity to drop early, i would figure out the number of ounces/calories she should be eating every 12 hours and then divide that amount up into four equal portions to be fed at ps, +1, +2, and +3. looks like you might be doing something close to that now. this will give you a base line of how she reacts to food. once you have a good idea of what she's doing the fun begins. it's time to experiment. you'll want to have the most food on board in anticipation of the drop. in other words, you'll learn to feed before the drop... so she won't drop. lol! what you'll be doing is fine tuning her mini-meal schedule. you may find it necessary to skip the +1 feeding and slide it back to +4 or feed a double mini-meal/portion at +3. ECID. you have to find what works for gracie. just a suggestion... i would try to get a few +1s here and there (even from a high ps number). those +1s will give you an idea if there's any food spike. this in turn will shed some light on how carb sensitive gracie really is.

Let us know if you have questions...this isn't to confuse you but we were WELL into this before I finally asked Jill about managing the food curve more effectively for Gracie. Like Jill said, tho, ECID!! You're doing great!
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

oh the purring and poking....those were the days so long ago with me and Rocket! suck a distant memory....so do enjoy and i hope it's LONG lasting for you two!! makes things much smooth and easier!

happy Caturday to you two!
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

So far, this looks like a slow drop into the yellows and, hopefully, a good dose so you don't have to skip shots.

I just want to make sure you have the sequence down. Generally, we test, feed, then shoot. You don't want to feed before you test because the food will inflate numbers. It may not be a huge issue if you test immediately but there's always a likelihood that you get distracted or Bid is a slow eater and even 15 min., can result in a food spike. You want your pre-shot numbers to be clean. We suggest no food within 2 hours of shot time.

Many of us do break down meals into smaller quantities and feed over the first several hours of the cycle. This strategy is especially helpful if you have a cat that's prone to big drops. Right now, you don't have a great deal of data upon which to decide if Bid has big drops. With due respect to Marjorie, I would not give a snack at +8 at this point. If you are feeding after nadir, you are giving food at the time when Lantus is at it's least potent part of the cycle. As you gather more and more data, you'll have a much better sense of how Bid is responding to Lantus. For now, gathering that data is the most important thing you can do.
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

With due respect to Marjorie, I would not give a snack at +8 at this point.

Hmmm....not sure why Sienne thought I was recommending a snack at +8...far from it. The quote I provided earlier was from Jill. We were initially doing a +9 snack and based on Jill's recommendation, dropped it. We do not feed anything after nadir until after next PS.

eta: Jenn...I didn't mean to throw so much info at you at once..my apologies on that. What Sienne wrote (below) is the best focus; once you see how he is responding to the Lantus, then you can start lookng at managing curves with food; got ahead of myself on food :lol:

As you gather more and more data, you'll have a much better sense of how Bid is responding to Lantus. For now, gathering that data is the most important thing you can do.
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

OK Thank you for all the information.. we went to take his PMPS test and couldn't get any blood and he was meowing and not happy so we are taking a break while my husband runs to Walgreens to get some lower gauge lancets.. I hope that helps.. We had 33g. How long do you guys usually warm your kitties ears for?

And ok so from now on we will test then feed then shoot? So should I be waiting 2 hours in between feeding and insulin? We are trying to test and feed him at 6:30ish and by 8:30 we are at work... So just trying to figure out a good schedule.
 
Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276

Jenn, when it's time for his shot, you should test, feed and shoot all within a few minutes..there's no need to wait in between the 3 steps. I actually give the shot while Mr Tinkles is eating...it keeps him busy and he doesn't notice the shot.

I think where you are getting confused is with the advice to NOT feed for 2 hours before you shoot...the idea of that is to prevent the food from influencing your PS test.

Keep asking questions, especially if something doesn't make sense....that's good! :smile:
 
Jenn....I usually warm Gracie's ear by holding the rice sock on the inside for a few seconds, then the outside, and keep doing that until her ear is warm to the touch...it also keeps from burning one side or the other by holding a really warm cloth or sock against it. I also usually rub her ear as well right before I pokey it.

So are you clear on the testing/feeding? Let's say you are going to test him at +4 and you also want to feed him. Just do your quick ear pokey and then put the food down. If you are at AMPS or PMPS, test him, feed him, and then shoot him....should all be done in about 10 minutes max. Again, it isn't critical if he doesn't eat before the shot but he needs to eat immediately after it...again, all should be done within a span of 10 minutes from the time you test until you finish.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top