Re: 11/27 Bid AMPS 317 +4 276
Jenn..great job!!! His SS looks super. I'm glad the ear pokeys went better today and I hope the photo helped you out.
One thing, sweetie...you want to feed AFTER you test him not before

No worries...I did the exact same thing, too, when we started out. Some insulins, you have to test, feed, shoot at shot times but because Lantus usually takes a bit of time to kick in, you can test, shoot, and then immediately feed. This is what I have to do because Gracie, my little diva, does not like to be interrupted while she's eating so she knows she gets her test, gets her shot, and then gets breffis/dindin. Also, if you feed him after you test, it's like a little treat

You'll have to figure out how he best responds to food with his curve but, in general, we've all recently learned some great things on feeding. Here's some info from Jill who is one of our wise ones and a great strategist:
feeding a meal/snack at +9 will stimulate the pancreas to do it's job "IF" kitty has a sputtering/lazy pancreas when they're close to going OTJ. if they're not down to tiny doses of insulin and almost ready to go OTJ, feeding a meal or snack after nadir will almost always put the brakes on any action left to the insulin. of course, there are exceptions. occasionally you'll see a dip at the end of a cycle with or without feeding at +8 or +9. lantus is known for this little dip at the end of a cycle (it's never lower than nadir). so much so that we call it one of the quirks of lantus.
with gracies's propensity to drop early, i would figure out the number of ounces/calories she should be eating every 12 hours and then divide that amount up into four equal portions to be fed at ps, +1, +2, and +3. looks like you might be doing something close to that now. this will give you a base line of how she reacts to food. once you have a good idea of what she's doing the fun begins. it's time to experiment. you'll want to have the most food on board in anticipation of the drop. in other words, you'll learn to feed before the drop... so she won't drop. lol! what you'll be doing is fine tuning her mini-meal schedule. you may find it necessary to skip the +1 feeding and slide it back to +4 or feed a double mini-meal/portion at +3. ECID. you have to find what works for gracie. just a suggestion... i would try to get a few +1s here and there (even from a high ps number). those +1s will give you an idea if there's any food spike. this in turn will shed some light on how carb sensitive gracie really is.
Let us know if you have questions...this isn't to confuse you but we were WELL into this before I finally asked Jill about managing the food curve more effectively for Gracie. Like Jill said, tho, ECID!! You're doing great!