Good morning everyone. Happy Black Friday.
My cat, Gimli, introduced himself over at the Main Board. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 74&start=0
I'd thought I set up my first condo here and say hi to the other beans.
Gimli was officially diagnosed with diabetes about 10 days ago. We noticed that he had been drinking a lot of water. First we just thought that he really like drinking water and was staying hydrated. Then I noticed that he was taking very long pees. His box is about 10 feet from my bed and I'm a light sleeper. Having family members that are diabetic, I was familiar with the signs and symptoms.
I initially had Gimli stay at the vets for a few days so they can build a glucose curve. The vet initially put him on 2.0U Lantus and w/d food. Then, being the researcher and OCD person that I am, I started to hit the internet and found about the "protocol" and eventually this website and message board. There's definitely a lot of great information here and a lot to digest.
I've already had one freakout on 11/23 when his BG was 72 and went down in the 50s at night. I overreacted and carb loaded him to make sure that he didn't crash. He gave us a good scare too at 130a (+5.5) when we couldn't wake him up after shaking him. He woke up after we touched his belly. I guess he was just in a really deep sleep. I guess he hasn't been sleeping very well either being poked and prodded every 2-3 hours.
His cycle seems to run longer than 12 hours as his BG keeps on dropping at +10 thru +12. Last night it dropped between +6.25 and +11.5. And even this morning it dropped a little between +10 and +12. I was afraid to give him 1.0U last night being that it was Thanksgiving evening so I gave him a BCS of 0.25.
I read the FAQ about shooting low numbers, but I'm still confused. What do you do if your cat's cycle seems to last longer than 12 hours??
UPDATE: didn't shoot until +12.25 with PS at 171/0.5U but +1.25 is 97 with 1/4 can of LC....Makes no sense....
Update 2: 73 @2.25; 77@2.5; 87@2.75
Thanks,
Marissa (and Dean)
My cat, Gimli, introduced himself over at the Main Board. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 74&start=0
I'd thought I set up my first condo here and say hi to the other beans.
Gimli was officially diagnosed with diabetes about 10 days ago. We noticed that he had been drinking a lot of water. First we just thought that he really like drinking water and was staying hydrated. Then I noticed that he was taking very long pees. His box is about 10 feet from my bed and I'm a light sleeper. Having family members that are diabetic, I was familiar with the signs and symptoms.
I initially had Gimli stay at the vets for a few days so they can build a glucose curve. The vet initially put him on 2.0U Lantus and w/d food. Then, being the researcher and OCD person that I am, I started to hit the internet and found about the "protocol" and eventually this website and message board. There's definitely a lot of great information here and a lot to digest.
I've already had one freakout on 11/23 when his BG was 72 and went down in the 50s at night. I overreacted and carb loaded him to make sure that he didn't crash. He gave us a good scare too at 130a (+5.5) when we couldn't wake him up after shaking him. He woke up after we touched his belly. I guess he was just in a really deep sleep. I guess he hasn't been sleeping very well either being poked and prodded every 2-3 hours.
His cycle seems to run longer than 12 hours as his BG keeps on dropping at +10 thru +12. Last night it dropped between +6.25 and +11.5. And even this morning it dropped a little between +10 and +12. I was afraid to give him 1.0U last night being that it was Thanksgiving evening so I gave him a BCS of 0.25.
I read the FAQ about shooting low numbers, but I'm still confused. What do you do if your cat's cycle seems to last longer than 12 hours??
UPDATE: didn't shoot until +12.25 with PS at 171/0.5U but +1.25 is 97 with 1/4 can of LC....Makes no sense....
Update 2: 73 @2.25; 77@2.5; 87@2.75
Thanks,
Marissa (and Dean)