11/26GIMLIPMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67;+2 72;+2.75 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

marissa2c

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone. Happy Black Friday.

My cat, Gimli, introduced himself over at the Main Board. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 74&start=0
I'd thought I set up my first condo here and say hi to the other beans.

Gimli was officially diagnosed with diabetes about 10 days ago. We noticed that he had been drinking a lot of water. First we just thought that he really like drinking water and was staying hydrated. Then I noticed that he was taking very long pees. His box is about 10 feet from my bed and I'm a light sleeper. Having family members that are diabetic, I was familiar with the signs and symptoms.

I initially had Gimli stay at the vets for a few days so they can build a glucose curve. The vet initially put him on 2.0U Lantus and w/d food. Then, being the researcher and OCD person that I am, I started to hit the internet and found about the "protocol" and eventually this website and message board. There's definitely a lot of great information here and a lot to digest.

I've already had one freakout on 11/23 when his BG was 72 and went down in the 50s at night. I overreacted and carb loaded him to make sure that he didn't crash. He gave us a good scare too at 130a (+5.5) when we couldn't wake him up after shaking him. He woke up after we touched his belly. I guess he was just in a really deep sleep. I guess he hasn't been sleeping very well either being poked and prodded every 2-3 hours.

His cycle seems to run longer than 12 hours as his BG keeps on dropping at +10 thru +12. Last night it dropped between +6.25 and +11.5. And even this morning it dropped a little between +10 and +12. I was afraid to give him 1.0U last night being that it was Thanksgiving evening so I gave him a BCS of 0.25.

I read the FAQ about shooting low numbers, but I'm still confused. What do you do if your cat's cycle seems to last longer than 12 hours??

UPDATE: didn't shoot until +12.25 with PS at 171/0.5U but +1.25 is 97 with 1/4 can of LC....Makes no sense....
Update 2: 73 @2.25; 77@2.5; 87@2.75
Thanks,
Marissa (and Dean)
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 - 1st Condo

Welcome to LL, Marissa
There is a lot of information and support here. I am not an expert and I'm sure others will be on with more experience. That said, I suspect that Gimli's shed is a little too full. Lantus creates a "shed" of insulin that can carry a cat beyond 12 hours to help smooth out the curve. Here's a link to the shed info: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

That amps isn't bad after the bcs dose last night. Its possible even 1 unit is too much. Congratulations for catching the diabetes early and for finding FDMB so quickly. I hope you and Gimli find success here.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 - 1st Condo

just stopping in to say welcome!!

wise ones will be by to help with your questions.

sounds to me like you are way ahead of the majority of us that start out as newbies here...good job!

you'll enjoy it here.

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 - 1st Condo

Welcome to LL: This is a wonderful place for sugar kitties. Please read all the stickies at the top of the page. They contain a wealth of information, overwhelming at first but you will catch on quickly.

Diet is important for FD. This is a link to Janet and Binky's food list. http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html. We avoid dry food and most prescription diets because their nutrient value is not very good.

Read, visit condos, ask questions. Post daily, don't feed 2 hours prior to testing for AMBG and PMBG. Most of us feed small meals throughout the day.

Again, welcome. Hope this makes the surgardance easier for your an Gimli.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 - 1st Condo

Welcome to LL Marissa and Gimli! Wow..you are way ahead of most newbies ...you are home testing and sounds like you are comfy with it, you have already read the stickys, your SS looks great and you've successfully linked it to your signature; I bet you even have your hypo kit ready!! It might be great if you could give us his weight so the more experienced folks here can let you know if he might be getting too much juice after they look at his SS. Great job already starting that up, too! Also, whenever you have a chance, it's really nice to have a profile on him. It's difficult for those folks making recommendations to remember every cat's situation but with a profile linked like your SS, they can quickly remind themselves specifically about Gimli. I saw on your original condo that he used to eat dry food...but you now have him all on wet food? Did you notice a change to his BG when you changed his diet?

This is a friendly, helpful, close-knit group...you've come to the right place!! We're sorry about the circumstances that brought you here but we're glad to have you!!
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295; +6 301; +10 263 - 1st Condo

Welcome to LL and you are going to find so much wonderful info and help here take time to read and re-read the stickys at the top of the page when you have time for they contain so much helpful information :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295; +6 301; +10 263 - 1st Condo

Welcome to LL! You are doing so much better than I when we started - impressive! You have found a really great place here, with alot of very knowledgeable and caring people. I'll let the experts answer your questions, but I did want to say welcome aboard!
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295; +6 301; +10 263 - 1st Condo

Wow. You really have been doing your homework!! You've caught on even to the slang (e.g., BCS dose).

I have only one suggestion... If you aren't sure whether or not to give a shot due to a lower than expected number, you don't want to feed. The food will raise numbers. However, you don't know how far numbers will come down once the food is metabolized. It's best to keep testing until you see a rising number.

I'd also get rid of the dry as a back up for low numbers. You can use a high carb, gravy based canned food. The gravy is quickly metabolized -- it raises numbers quickly and leaves the system quickly. Dry food takes a long time to get numbers up and it takes forever to clear the system.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295;+6 301;+10 263;+11.75 189;+12 167

What do I shoot? When do I shoot? He's dropping at +12 like he has the last few nights...

Thanks,
Marissa
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295;+6 301;+10 263;+11.75 189;+12 167

Hi Marissa,

I would stall, don't feed and retest every 15-30 minutes until you start to see his numbers rise. Will stalling cause you a problem with your schedule? Remember that you will need to shoot 12 hours from whenever you shoot tonight.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295;+6 301;+10 263;+11.75 189;+12 167

I retested at +12.25 and it was 171 - slightly higher than the 167 and well within any margin of error. Took the CS way out again and fed him and gave him 0.5U. Last night he was at 140 when I BCS him, so I figured I try 0.5 tonight at 171. Could have gone to 0.75 but until I collect more data, I think I'm always going to err on the conservative side at night.

Hopefully, he'll be at 200-225 in the morning. If so, I might give 0.75U a try in the morning.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295;+6 301;+10 263;+11.75 189;+12 167

You're doing good, collecting data and shooting the BCS doses is the way to go for now. I would suggest that you get some more night time data if you can. You should get at least a before bed test. For right now though, I would get a +1 and +2, get some data about what happens early on.

Some kitties like to drop at the end of the cycle....double dip....it's not that uncommon, and once you collect more data, you will see if that's Gimli's pattern. Some kitties also have a late nadir...close to or at PS...instead of toward the middle of the cycle. It just takes some time and testing to figure out your cat's patterns.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 PMPS 171; +1 97

Ugh.....He's at 97 at +1.25 after eating 1/4 can of LC. Just fed another 1/4 can.....His numbers makes no sense..
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI AMPS 295 PMPS 171; +1 97

When you get an exceptionally wonky number, it's not a bad idea to test again, which is not to say that in many cases it truly *is* a wonky number for no particular reason.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI PMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67UGH

67 at +1.75. freaking out....gave some more Purina D/M (1/4 can) with 1/2 tsp Karo

Update: 72 at +2.
 
Re: 11/26 GIMLI PMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67UGH

Looks promising. Good thing it was a smaller dose tonight.
FYI, you need to change the subject line in the first post if you want others to see it. That's the subject that shows up in the list of threads. Heading to bed now -- it's 1:30 am in my time zone. The west coasters may be up for a while yet.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/26GIMLIPMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67;+2 72;+2.75

Marissa --

Any update? How were Gimli's numbers for the rest of the evening?

I'm thinking that you may need to reduce Gimli's dose in order to be able to shoot the same dose twice a day. What would you think about reducing Gimli's dose to 0.5u?
 
Re: 11/26GIMLIPMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67;+2 72;+2.75

Sienne,

Gimli is trying to give his mommy a heart attack....Numbers finally started going up at about +3.25. But had to feed and rub Karo twice. After all of that he's only at 220 this morning....Already shot just 0.5U this morning.

Thanks,
Marissa
 
Re: 11/26GIMLIPMPS 171;+1.25 97;+1.5 81;+1.75 67;+2 72;+2.75

Good morning Marissa! Welcomeo to you and Gimli! :mrgreen:
Good job this morning! When you get a chance, can you open a new condo (what we call each day's thread) and post his AMPS in the title. Glad you shot the lower dose this morning. You are doing a great job!

We suggest having a supply of high carb canned food with gravy on hand at all times. Something on the janet & binky chart that is >18%. We use the gravy only so that we don't fill them up too much with solid food in case we have to keep trying to raise the numbers. The gravy is not filling and does the job of getting the BGs up. I use a strainer to get the gravy out of the canned foods and sometimes I need to actually syringe it into his mouth. You can always post here too if you come across a lower number at any time, okay? We will help you through the process.

Have you read the starred stickies at the top of the page? The New to the Group sticky has important information.
So happy to see you and Gimli here! See you in your new Saturday condo!
We link the previous day's condo to the first post of each day....looking forward to watching Gimli's progress!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top