11/26 Yoyo AMPS 63, +.5 70,+1 62,+1.5 47,+2 59,PMPS 175,+2 98, +3 77,

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yoyo keeps going down since late last night. Do I give full dose?

After waiting I decided to give a reduced dose of 2.37 units.
I fed him his normal breakfast plus 20% gravy(4ml). Will retest every 30 minutes.
 
Last edited:
63 is a shootable number if you can monitor today. He may bounce today from last night's greens. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 so you can see what he's up to today. I can't stay with you because I'm at work. If you shoot a reduced dose, it most likely won't take affect until the next cycle.
 
63 is a shootable number if you can monitor today. He may bounce today from last night's greens. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 so you can see what he's up to today. I can't stay with you because I'm at work. If you shoot a reduced dose, it most likely won't take affect until the next cycle.
Ok, thank you. Because he kept going down it made me uncomfortable giving him his full dose. Thank you for telling me that the dose amount won't take effect until the next cycle.
 
The dose you just gave hasn't really kicked in yet so he was already headed down. You should be able to steer him. give him the HC an test again in 15-30 mins.
 
Thanks you guys....I am a nervous wreck. Yo also had diarrhea during those early hours probably from the food he loves....press your lunch. It is jell based and I think got him sick. So trying to be careful with his food intake. Not sure if syrup,Karo, got him sick ?
 
Thanks you guys....I am a nervous wreck. Yo also had diarrhea during those early hours probably from the food he loves....press your lunch. It is jell based and I think got him sick. So trying to be careful with his food intake. Not sure if syrup,Karo, got him sick ?

How much did you give him? Your SS says 4ml? seems like a lot, Usually only need a couple drops.
 
I believe the syrup is faster acting but also faster to leave their system. It's especially handy if the kitty needs propping up but won't eat any more carb food.
 
When Ti-Mousse was low yesterday @+6, did you give any syrup or just the HC that you wrote? How do you get him to come up and stay up? I always have a problem with Yo:nailbiting:
For Ti-Mousse, first thing I do is 1 big tb of HC (15%) and test 15 min. after. If he doesn't come up, I'll rub his gums with syrup. I keep testing every 15 min. and give HC until he starts going up; then I switch to MC or LC depending on numbers. I'm lucky he goes up normally with food and he has a big appetite!

Maybe for Yoyo next time, start with rubbing his gums with syrup, then go with HC gravy and test with HC every 15 min. You will see what brings him up!

You must be ready for another test ?
 
For Ti-Mousse, first thing I do is 1 big tb of HC (15%) and test 15 min. after. If he doesn't come up, I'll rub his gums with syrup. I keep testing every 15 min. and give HC until he starts going up; then I switch to MC or LC depending on numbers. I'm lucky he goes up normally with food and he has a big appetite!

Maybe for Yoyo next time, start with rubbing his gums with syrup, then go with HC gravy and test with HC every 15 min. You will see what brings him up!

You must be ready for another test ?
when Yo goes low I have always had a problem bringing him up. I have fed 32% carbs with no relief. The only relief is always from the Karo syrup. But it doesn't last long as you can see from last night's ss.
Thanks for sharing what you do, I am always curious as what works for other kitties.
 
I'm glad Yoyo came up and is surfing for you. You're doing a great job.
Thank you for checking back in on us....he had me nervous there for awhile but thank goodness he started to come up and I had wonderful supportt it all. Thank you for your support also, I know you are busy at work....thank you :bighug:
 
Debra,
Sending you a ton of peace vines -- it hurt to know the stress you were feeling earlier, and I just know you need some rest :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I sure wish I could offer more help -- I never had a hard time bringing Tina up. I never used Karo; a teaspoon of HC food rescued us once -- lasted longer than the HC gravy, so she stayed up better.
 
63 is a shootable number if you can monitor today. He may bounce today from last night's greens. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 so you can see what he's up to today. I can't stay with you because I'm at work. If you shoot a reduced dose, it most likely won't take affect until the next cycle.
Any ideas for tonight's dose? Keep it at reduced dose of 2.37 units or go to 2.25 units? I'm afraid to go back to 2.5 units. Thank you!
 
I think right where you have it. I say that because 2.25 didn't work in the recent past, but for YOU, Debra, maybe 2.25 would be better so that you could catch up on a little rest???!!! And it might work for Yoyo too.
 
I think right where you have it. I say that because 2.25 didn't work in the recent past, but for YOU, Debra, maybe 2.25 would be better so that you could catch up on a little rest???!!! And it might work for Yoyo too.
Thanks Jan.....I know the 2.25 unit failed. I think I'll get some sleep with 2.37units once his Depot drains. Today was scary. I know 63 is a safe number to give him insulin but he was going down at that time and that is what scared me. But I went ahead and gave him his dose. First time he didn't bounce from his lime number. Maybe he'll bounce tonight.
It's wonderful that Tina is holding her own. Send her hugs and kisses :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
He technically didn't earn a reduction, but if he's low at PMPS, and you need sleep, you can shoot the reduced dose again.
 
Back
Top