11/26 Max AMPS 102

Thanks Carla. I don’t know if you saw my second note but I ended up giving him half the dose. I probably messed up but I am half asleep and exhausted from yesterday! Not thinking clearly this morning.
 
Good morning, Lori. I understand your exhaustion. I had a nice Thanksgiving but am glad it is over. I get to relax a bit now before putting up a "limited" number of Christmas decorations this year.

Max is starting to get some really good numbers. I don't blame you for the half dose. If you are tired, and need sleep, it is best to stay safe. I agree with Carla about getting the +2. I'm not sure but I don't think food influences the bg in 15 minutes. I think it takes about 30 but I could be wrong. Hopefully, you can relax today.
 
Thanks Summer. Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. I did too, but I just need a little relaxation lol.
 
I’m not sure what the afternoon will hold but Max is holding steady so far, going down little by little but eating like a horse this morning. I’m not going to feed him anymore for a while. He was just begging. I don’t know what is going on today with him but I’m kind of glad I did the BCS this morning. Not sure what to do tonight yet. He may go back up who knows? I guess we will watch and see @Wendy&Neko
 
I'm really glad you only gave the 1/2 dose too. I'm really happy he is eating well with his numbers going down. Hopefully, you'll hear from Wendy later, being as how she is on the west coast, but responses may be limited this weekend because of the holiday. If you get in a jam put the ? or 911 in your thread title. I like his numbers but I understand your concern with how unusual they are - especially after the reduced dose.
 
I'm sorry. I think everyone is away with it being a holiday weekend. He is bouncing from the lows. I really can't advise but think you should go back to the 12 units. I hope someone with experience will chime in to all your tags.
 
Yes I knew most would probably be unavailable during the holidays. I was planning on going back to 12 units tonight by how it’s looking now anyway. Thanks Summer.
 
I’m really not sure what I should have done this morning.
12 units. That's his dose. He hasn't earned a reduction and is finally starting to show some nicer numbers. Nor has he had enough consecutive cycles at this dose to start talking about an increase yet. Cycle count starts over with a skip/fur shot or partial dose. This sounds simplistic, but the protocol does work. Has for many kitties, even larger dose ones. I could show you spreadsheets of kitties on way higher doses but shooting green.

Levemir kitties often nadir at preshot. The upside is that you still have hours until onset and plenty of time to feed to raise the numbers. Levemir (and Lantus) are great at keeping low numbers flat and low. I loved shooting in the 80's, cause for Neko, it meant a very flat cycle, often moving no more than 10 points the entire cycle. Of course, it was very nerve wracking the first few times I shot low. Next time you are around and can monitor and he's blue, shoot full dose. You do not need all those earlier tests with him on Levemir and not onsetting until +3. You can get a +1 to make sure he's on the rise if you want, but then you can take a break.

The depot today helped keep Max in the blues the first half of the cycle.
 
I really do crave those nice numbers but I think I just don’t trust myself because I’m still trying to learn how he responds to the Levemir. I have shot lower when he was on Lantus. I wish I wasn’t such a scaredy-cat sometimes. Thanks again.:bighug:
 
I really do crave those nice numbers but I think I just don’t trust myself because I’m still trying to learn how he responds to the Levemir. I have shot lower when he was on Lantus. I wish I wasn’t such a scaredy-cat sometimes. Thanks again.:bighug:
To echo what Wendy said, I felt much better shooting lower numbers on Levemir than Lantus just because of how nice and flat it can be. It's a bit daunting when they pop up seemingly out of nowhere, but I came to love when that happened - an opportunity to hold him down!
 
Back
Top