11/26 J.D. PMPS 394, +2.75 240, +4 197, +5.5 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Good Morning.

11/25 Recap:
AMPS 478 gave 0.15R (fed) 1 ml. Clavamox
+5 394 gave 0.10R (fed) FortiFlora
+7 278 (fed)
+8.5 206
+11 386 gave 0.10R
PMPS 358 (fed) 1 ml. Clavamox
+2 (fed) FortiFlora
+3 332
+7 310
+8 341 gave "zero line" R (fed)
+11 236

I gave him R four times in the past 24 hours to try to keep his numbers down. His head is straight and he walks and goes up and down the stairs and jumps up and off the bed and chairs fine. I fed him a lot, yesterday. He acts totally normal when treats are offered, but he just seems to be less active in general. Could it be the Clavamox? Would it make him feel yucky? I tasted just a teeny drop of it because it is supposed to be banana flavored (liquid), and it is SUPER sweet. I wonder how much sugar is in it.

The last time he had Clavamox (before his dental), he was only on it for 4 days, and he was naseous and threw up and had diarhea from the first day on. And I had to use Mirtz for as an appetite stimulant.
I think I'll call J.D.'s regular vet today (if he's in), and ask him if we can switch to Antirobe (Clindamycin). Last time we used that (after his dental) it was 2 pills crushed into his food twice a day, so no sweet yucky liquid, and he didn't get the nausea and diarhea and inappetance.

I think I should increase the dose when I get home from work...to like 1.25?...for the three days I'm off, anyways. I worry because he had a 34 recently when he was on s1.25, but I worry about him getting ketones with the high numbers he's been having since I found him with his head tilted a day ago.

So, I have to go to work today, and will not be home until right at PMPS time. I have very limited access to the internet while I'm at work.

Any opinions, support, or advise is appreciated.

I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

Good morning Dyana...

Newbie here....Just want to drop in and say hi......and bump this up for ya. And good idea to call the vet to get your medical questions answered.

Hope you have a smooth Friday.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

Morning Dyana,

Can't advise you on the dose, but maybe it is a good idea to switch ab's. Especially sinse he doesn't react to the Antirobe. And maybe the flavored Clavamox is high in sugar. I hope J.D's #'s come down for you.

Hope your day at tbp goes by quickly.

jan and sara
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

My only concern with increasing J.D.'s dose is if you increase and the clavamox does have sugar in it, you're getting BG readings that are based on HC. How about making a decision after you talk to your vet?
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

it sure looks like something is driving J.D.'s numbers up. If he were my cat I would go ahead and increase, as long as you can monitor. The numbers might drop suddenly when the AB starts to clear out any infection, but you know how to handle that. I share your concern about ketones, but it sounds like he is eating well so that helps. If you do change AB to something less sugary, then I would probably give him another cycle or two to see if that makes a difference.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

Glad he seems better. Hope your vet will change the ABs for you....

Just wondering if his numbers last night are from the dessert they got into yesterday....Whisker Lickens? Happy Thanksgiving J.D. and Ginger!!! :lol: A Bonanza!!! :mrgreen:
It is a mystery though...about his neck, right? ...and if he has an infection going on or some sort of inflammation, then the numbers would read higher. Have you thought about just adding a little fat to the dose? Once the ABs start to work, you might see the numbers go lower so you have to be prepared for that....

Let's see what he does today and what others have to say about an increase.
That is so nice that you will have 3 days off!!! :razz: (perfect for monitoring!!) ;-)
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

Looks like you got some advice which is good. Whatever you decide to do, you have my support and my wishes of good luck
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

just dropping by to say hello and hope J.D. feels better soon (((((J.D.))))))
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

When that AB kicks in, I think his numbers will start to come down, but I agree with the others.

Not sure all ABs target the same things so he still needs an AB that will help the ear infection. Glad he's not as disturbed by that as he was, but I hope you come home to an improvement that will make your dosing decision easier.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

no advice, of course...but hoping jd feels better quickly.

and hoping you enjoy your days off, working girl!
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

Morning Dyana - was just peeking at J.D.'s SS. I can see why you're concerned about his dose. good luck with whatever you decide.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299 PM Dose Advise, Please

I called and spoke to J.D.'s regular vet this morning, asking if we could change to Antirobe. I told him that Ginger and J.D. were play fighting right before I noticed his head tilted and he said maybe he hit his head on something. He suggested that I stop the ABs, since his head isn't tilted anymore, and since the ABs have caused him to be nauseated and inappetant in the past.

But then I got to thinking about the high numbers and the possibility of an infection, and thought that maybe I would continue with the Clavamox anyway, for a couple more days.

And then I finally decided and got up the nerve to call my vet back, and left a message telling him that I do want to get the Antirobe afterall. I hope I hear back from him, as his office closes before I get off work, and he will not be in tomorrow.

Thanks Libby:
so give him another cycle or two before increasing.
Thanks Nina: I'll make sure to ask him about whether Antirobe would help if it was an ear infection.

Hope you're all having a good day. And hope J.D. is lower when I get home.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299, +2 362, PMPS 394

J.D. is more hisself tonight. I gave him his regular dose and a TOR and one 25mg. tablet of the new Clindamycin I just picked up, hidden in a piece of steak. When I got home from tbp, he got off the bed and came to greet me, ate all his dinner, and just seems more active and alert and hisself tonight. I had brought a litter box upstairs and blocked off the basement (where the litter boxes usually are) while I was at work. He don't like that! I let him down in the basement when I got home, and I did notice that he hopped on his left back leg going down the stairs, but came up the stairs (once he was done doing "his business" like the big strong "Rocky" like boy he is. :-D

When I left for work and was testing him one more time (for the +2), he was struggling very hard to get away, like he thought I was going to put him in the carrier again, this morning.

So hopefully, we can get his BGs down, now.

I am looking forward to a nice 3 day weekend.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299, +2 362, PMPS 394, +2.75 240

J.D. is acting way better, now. Not only did he scratch on the back of my chair for my attention, but he rang the bells on the door knob of the front door to go for our second short walk outside tonight. His eyes look good, and he's not sleepy and sort of out of it, like he was yesterday. I wonder if I should do what my regular vet said to do, today, and just stop the ABs.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299, +2 362, PMPS 394, +2.75 240

Well he is moving the right way and hope the clinda does the trick for him, and good luck with the 3 days and new dose combo Dyana ;-)
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. AMPS 299, +2 362, PMPS 394, +2.75 240

I'm glad J.D. is more 'hisself'. I know I become hypervigilent if I think something is off with one of my guys.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. PMPS 394, +2.75 240, +4 197 Blue!

I'm so happy to see Blue!
dancingcats.gif

I'm so happy that J.D. is acting normal!
I could almost cry.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. PMPS 394, +2.75 240, +4 197 Blue!

How well I know that feeling! I hope you rest well tonight and J.D. lands on his feet tomorrow and is back to normal. Good luck Dyana.
 
Re: 11/26 J.D. PMPS 394, +2.75 240, +4 197 Blue!

I'm so glad to hear that JD is acting more like himself and he made it to blue! I hope he continues to feel better, Dyana. :smile:
 
I just answered an email I received from the receptionist at the ER hospital, asking how J.D. was doing.
I thought that was really nice. I've never received an email from a vet before.

I have fed J.D. probably close to twice as much as he normally gets, tonight, so he is happy.
The extra strong coffee that I drank at work is wearing off, and it is waaaaaaaaaay past my bedtime.

Ni~Ni LLand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top