11/26 -Cini Mini- PMPS 141, +2/71, +4/57, +7/67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo here:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57244

This is how Cini's day went yesterday:

We are now using the ReliOn meter exclusively for BG readings.

Pepcid @ 7:45 am
AMBG - 117 @ 8:30am
No shot
Fed 1/4 can FF Classic Chicken Feast (~3%) @ 8:30am
+1 - Fed 1 TBS FF Classic Chicken Feast (~3%) @ 9:30am
+3 - 117 @ 11:30am
Fed 1/4 can FF Classic Chicken Feast (~3%) @ 11:30am
+9 - 114 @ 5:30pm
Fed 1/4 can Friskies Turkey and Giblets dinner (7%)@ 5:30pm
Metoclopramide @ 6pm
+11 - 150 @ 6:30pm
Pepcid @ 7:00pm
PMPS - 131 @ 8:00pm
1 drop Lantus @ 8:00pm
Fed 1/4 can Friskies Mixed Grill (8%) @ 8:00pm
+2 - Fed 1/4 can Friskies Mixed Grill (8%) @ 10:00pm
+3 - 124 @ 11:00pm
Loaded in to auto-feeder 1/4 can Friskies Turkey and Giblets dinner (7%)

This morning Cini's AMPS was 94 so I gritted my teeth and gave 1 drop of the Lantus nailbite_smile

The other item I wanted to mention is Cini is not gaining weight since he's been back from the emergency Vet 1 month ago. He weighed 9.7 lbs when he was there and that was when he was sick and had lost some weight already. He weighed 9.5 lbs yesterday at the Vet's (I just brought him in to weigh him on their scale, the Vet did not see him).

At one time he was a 13 lb cat, and granted the Vet said he should loose a pound or two and she would like his optimal weight to be 10.5 lbs.

How do I get a pound on this cat without messing with his FD? What's a good high calorie / low carb food to feed?
 
Re: 11/26 - Cini Mini - AMPS 94 - Gave 1 drop and Diet ??

Hi Julie! Hope your Thanksgiving weekend is going well!

No, Cini seems to peter out after about one 5.5 oz can of food. Sometimes he'll get in to a second 5.5 oz can in a day but not often.

And for those +1, +2, +3 feedings I have to take him out of his cat bed and place him in front of the food to get him to eat.
 
Re: 11/26 - Cini Mini - AMPS 94 - Gave 1 drop and Diet ??

Hi Sienne! Hope your holiday is festive as well :smile:

I am feeding primarily Friskies, and sometimes Fancy Feast depending on how Cini's day is going.

I have three flavors of the Friskies I am using:

Mixed Grill - 8% carbs, 172 calories
Turkey and Giblets dinner - 7% carbs, 187 calories
Ocean Whitefish and Tuna - 6% carbs, 172 calories

The three flavors of Fancy Feast I am using are:
(I don't see anything on Janet and Binky's page about them but I understand from reading they are low in carbs (~3%))

Classic Chicken Feast
Classic Beef Feast
Classic Turkey and Giblets Feast
 
Re: 11/26 - Cini Mini - AMPS 94 - Gave 1 drop and Diet ??

Cathy:

The recommendations I have read is that fish is always lower in calories and not as high a quality of protein as chicken/turkey. I'd opt for cutting out the fish, if possible, and giving him more chicken/turkey. Also,
I don't know how it would affect his BGs to give him nutrical.

Looking good!!!
 
Re: 11/26 - Cini Mini - AMPS 94 - Gave 1 drop and Diet ??

Hi Marjorie ((((thanksgiving hugs to you as well)))))

OK, didn't know that about the fish and will keep that in mind. I bought a case of the Mixed Grill /Turkey and Giblets dinner / Ocean Whitefish and Tuna combo, so there's about 5 cans of the fish one left. Once that's gone I'll try some other flavors.

I was looking over J & B's list again for some low carb / higher calorie flavors and there are a few more options (no fish). I'll have to see if my local pet store has these or not.

As for the Nutrical, yes I used to use it twice a day to give to Cini mixed with his Pepcid but I think it was causing BG spikes and I stopped using it and had the Pepcid re-compounded in to a sugar-free liquid instead.
 
Re: 11/26 - Cini Mini - AMPS 94 - Gave 1 drop and Diet ??

Here are some other suggestions:

Wellness (5.5 oz cans)
  • Chicken - 220 (4% carb)
  • Turkey - 218 (4% carb)
EVO (5.5 oz cans)
  • Chicken & Turkey -200.0 (4% carb)
  • 95% Chicken & Turkey - 210 (2% carb)

I'm attaching another list that's an addition to Janet & Binky's. There are a couple of brands, like the Nature's Variety Instinct line, that are higher in calories and low in carbs (see page 5).
 
Re: 11/26 -Cini Mini-AMPS 94,+2/125,+3/109, +6/92

Binks loves him some wellness & evo!

come on, Cini Mini Man...let's gain some weight!
 
Re: 11/26 -Cini Mini-AMPS 94,+2/125,+3/109, +6/92, +11/139

OK, thanks. I'll check that out as well. I was thinking of getting the Innova EVO dry for the civvies so I'll pick up a few cans as well.

I spoke with my Vet today and she agrees Cini still needs an extra half pound on him. But she is encouraged that he hasn't lost weight. She said that it may take up to 4 months for him to be back to "normal" weight, especially after the stressful situation he went through one month ago.

Then in the course of talking about how to get more calories in to him she says "There's this list of canned foods I want to print out for you and it tells you the calories, carbs, protein, everything you want to know about canned food for Cini." I asked "Errrr...Doc, is it called Janet and Binky's food list?" And she said "Why yes, yes it is!" :lol: :lol: :lol: I love my Vet, she's such a nice lady. :-D
 
Re: 11/26 -Cini Mini- PMPS 141

PMPS was 141 and I gave 1 drop of Lantus again this evening.

Geee.. I hate to say it but I'm kind of disappointed? I thought for sure with a low AMPS that I would have seen more drama today. :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top