11/25 Quincy AMPS 325 Reduction?

April & Quincy

Member Since 2019
Hi - I did fine yesterday but now I'm at work and am nervous, though there's nothing I can do about it. Quincy had nadir's yesterday in the 60's and then bounced up to a 300's number by PMPS. I DID NOT reduce...i shot the same (1.5) and did the same this morning. Do I reduce by .25 according to the SLGS method? It's too late for last night and this morning but after reading and doing a bunch of research at work I think I may have messed up. I am nervous as to how he's doing at home now...what do you think?
 
Yes you reduce if any test is under 90. Congrats. Don’t worry though as if you were following TR he would earn reductions for dropping under 50. He should be safe.
 
When you're following the SLGS dosing protocol you reduce anytime you get a number lower than 90.

And yes, by .25. And yes, tonight.

Also on your title, if you could please edit it to say 11/25 Quincy AMPS ### - then your comment about reducing...

It's so helpful to have the date and kitty name in the title as we look at many condos every day and often can't tell which is what.:rolleyes:

Thank you!:bighug:
 
Of course! I'm not able to give another full or even partial curve until Wednesday at the earliest though so I won't see the effects of the insulin for the next few days. :( Measuring .25 is hard to do on my .5 syringes but I'll do my best.
 
Of course! I'm not able to give another full or even partial curve until Wednesday at the earliest though so I won't see the effects of the insulin for the next few days. :( Measuring .25 is hard to do on my .5 syringes but I'll do my best.

Funny you mention that. I was just discussing calipers with Triton's mom...

Ask @Marje and Gracie for help in getting the calibration for your syringes set up. She wrote the book on using calipers! :)

I picked up these from Harbor Freight - inexpensive and work great:
https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html

upload_2019-11-25_16-47-47.png
 
I'd get a magnifying glass, coloured water and a used syringe and make a sample of what your "eyeball" of 1.25u is. Use that comparison when drawing up the insulin for now. It may not be completely accurate but it will be less than you were giving and you will be consistent which is just as important if not more so.
 
You can also estimate the halfway point between 1u and 1.5u. It doesn’t have to be exactly 0.25 but it’s just important you draw it as consistently as you can.
 
Thanks so much for all of your help. How long do I wait until I increase the dose again (if at all)? After re-reading the SLGS thread I saw, "As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases."

I also read wait at least a week to increase the dose. I guess I answered my own question haha!
 
Back
Top