11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 PMPS 191 +1/245 +4/280+8/242 +11/240

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182

Nice! I'd get a +2 to see which way he wants to head. I will be out for most of the day, hopefully others will be around.

In case no one is here....if the +2 is lower, I would test again sooner rather than later (+4, +3 if the drop is 60 or more). If he's around the same, I would get a mid cycle test (+6 ish), and go from there. Mikey is looking very good, and you are doing a great job!

When you have time, I would suggest re-reading the stickies. I would also suggest printing out at least the parts about dealing with low preshots and handling low numbers (the last two sections in the low numbers sticky). There may be times when no one is around to guide you, and that information will be immensely helpful. It also pays to familiarize yourself with how to handle a 45 before you see it on the meter. ;-)

Shooting & Handling Low Numbers
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182

Thanks for the tip. I keep meaning to read them but between getting used to MIkey's schedule, the holiday and oh yeah work, notice my priorites, lol.

I have printed out some things, like the abbreviation list, How to treat Hypos and I have made my own "sticky" by copying and pasting some of what I think is important in some of what others post in my threads/condos.

I will post anyway because I never know who's checking in :-D
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182

I'm around now.....I'll check in on you. Let's see...you should be on your 11 shooting time so I expect you've just gotten a +2?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +2.5 283

That's what I thought. Yesterday too.why is that?

You know the day 11/22/11 when he was mostly in the blues? That's the day I thought the keto stix showed trace ketones, he had softer stool and didn't have much of an appetite. I am feeding him friskies pate. Can it be the "wrong" food creating the spike or just food in general?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +5/277

Yes it can be the food. Most of us try to routinely feed foods which are less than 5% calories from carbs. I use the 8-10% to steer Gracie when her numbers are really low (like in the 50s).

When you edit your subject line, please be sure and leave the previous numbers during that cycle in there unless you are running out of space. I see you took his +2.5 out.... ;-)
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +2/283 +5/277

I'll look at the food list.

The subject line is going to take me a little longer to get used to :sad: but I appreciate you reminding me so I can correct it

I was thinking to test him again at +8?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +2/283 +5/277

wrong way, Mikey!!

233143Osx.jpg
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +2/283 +5/277

Question for experienced users..... is Lantus subject to wonky numbers if a fur shot happens? Not suggesting this morning was one, but no idea if with lantus you would see this sort of thing on a fur shot? Sort of looks like the cycle on the 21st, although that one could be explained by the no shot the night before causing inconsistency?

Lantus sure is different to "look at" than PZI/prozinc. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +2/283 +5/277

Carl, what is a "fur shot"?

There was an example of a Lantus Curve in one of my condos. I printed it and just looked at it based on your comment
is Lantus subject to wonky numbers...
. Mikey's #'s so far don't really follow that example either.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

Jennifer: A fur shot is when you don't get the insulin in for some reason...you think you have the syringe in the skin but it's actually in the fur or the syringe goes through the skin and out the other side so the insulin, in both cases, goes on the fur and not in the cat. If you ever have that happen or THINK it happens...do not attempt to re-shoot. In alot of circumstances, some insulin gets in and you aren't sure how much so shooting again could cause big problems in terms of numbers. You just have to wait it out and shoot at the next cycle.

Carl: If she had done a fur shot, his numbers would not have come down. There's no 'splaining really why his curve looked like this....maybe a mini-bounce, maybe food.....cats don't always follow "the rules". In fact, most of the time they don't. So you don't get caught up in "why" but just take each number and each cycle and move forward. If only I had a penny for the times I wished you could wrap FD up in a tidy little pkg of predictability? I'd be a very wealthy lady...that's how many times. :-D

Very nice PMPS. I would definitely get that +1 and +2.. he's been coming down.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

I was just reading in one of the stickies about fur shots/shot placement. I have been shooting in the scruff? Is that ok? Now I'm nervous I'm not getting it into the skin. How do you know? I know when I used to shoot my dog his skin was a lot thicker than MIkey's. Mikey's goes in so smoothly but he does always feel it.

I will get a +1 and +2. How low is too low? Still around the 50 mark? From his SS 123 looks like the lowest he's been.

Marjorie- will you be around checking in?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

we call it a fur shot when the shot gets screwed up, for some reason. sometimes the cat moves while you're shooting and the needle slips out mid-shot. so you lose some insulin. sometimes you accidentally poke a needle through the skin and you shoot the insulin all the way through to the outside. we call it a fur shot no matter why we screw up the shot.

btw, just in case it ever happens (because most of us have done this) and you mess up on a shot, you never reshoot. when i first started i messed up a shot and i called the vet's office. they told me to reshoot - i was shooting 3 units, i think. i messed up again - so i shot again. i shot punkin a total of 3 times that morning. now i know that it is better to be short one shot than to EVER reshoot and shoot too much. i was lucky that punkin was ok, but now i would never reshoot a messed up shot. you just leave it.

about the curve - you can get wonky curves for any number of reasons. it could be that mikey ate more food than usual, which makes a difference. it could be the food had a higher carb value, or when you increase the dose you can get New Dose Wonkiness, which settles down in a few shots. you can also have a tiny bounce from hitting a lower than usual number. doesn't have to really be low to have that happen, just lower than the cat's body is used to. what we're really looking for on lantus is overall pictures - like i look at punkin's ss and scan the previous few days preshot values to see if the trend is overall down or up. so we try not to over-notice one or two tests, because it's the big picture that matters. hard to ignore a HI of course, but in the big picture they aren't everything.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

hahaha i take forever to write posts - we've got company here and i stopped to talk and behold! marjorie's already answered you!
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

marje and julie - thanks for the feedback. the added bonus is that now Jenn knows what a fur shot is!


There was an example of a Lantus Curve in one of my condos. I printed it and just looked at it based on your comment
is Lantus subject to wonky numbers...
. Mikey's #'s so far don't really follow that example either.

Jenn, it's probably way too early for Mikey's numbers to look like an ideal curve! You'll get there though!

cats don't always follow "the rules". In fact, most of the time they don't.
marje,
lol, I think the cats write the rules! I like to say "this is a dance. But only the kitties can hear the music. Therefore, they lead, and we just follow and try not to step on any toes".

Thank you all, for all you do!
Carl
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

I actually like when more than one person answers and the answer is the same. It's nice that you are all saying the same things. It's very reassuring and then helps me learn instead of get confused with who to listen to.

The day he had mostly blue's I don't think he was feeling well. He wasn't eating that much and had a little diarrhea. Now he is very hungry when I feed him. I'm trying to just feed 1/2 can 4 times a day but every once in a while I will pass his room and he is sitting there waiting to be fed. In the almost 2 weeks he's been here that is the one thing I have learned to read from him, when he's hungry!

I started to read the stickies but maybe you know better...is there anywhere that says how much to feed him? I think Marjorie told me but I don't remember exactly and there are so many posts to go through.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

how much does he weigh? i can tell you punkin eats 3+ cans of fancy feast every day and he's 13.5ish lbs. that's a total of 9 oz, plus he gets another couple of ounces of plain boiled chicken. there is a formula for weight x calories = so many ounces per day. the bottom line is you want them to maintain weight unless they are overweight. if mikey's overweight (i'm thinking he's not) but weight loss in a cat if he is needs to be very slow.

so it must really mess you up when marj and i say different things! ;-) the things that we say differently, like housekeeping items on the forum, mostly just reflect our favorite ways and aren't to do with cat health. in the diabetes stuff hopefully, we're all giving you the same answers.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191

he is 13.8lbs. so I probably need to feed him a little more.

I think everyone pretty much says the same stuff. I'm so confused with housekeeping that what ever you tell me to do to make it easier I will :-D

Ok. going to get my +1!
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

BG +1/245 Should I still get a +2 or wait longer?

Also I just erased the remarks on the SS for today. It wasn't anything that isn't already in the table, it's just easier for me to read.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

i'll let marj answer on the next test question. i tend to not worry about numbers overnight, but that's based upon what i know about punkin. i'm not sure in your case. i shoot punkin at 7/7 and don't go to bed til about 11:30, so i'm always up late enough to get a +3 and a +5 if i need it.

basically you want to sustain his weight. losing weight is dangerous for cats - they can get a fatty liver if they lose too quickly.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

I was looking in binkey's page under Frudal Feline Diabetes and it says "
t is a good idea to withhold food after insulin activity peaks, since there will be no insulin to counteract the food, but a very small protein snack shouldn't do much harm if your cat insists.

How do you know when the insulin level peaked? I'm still not sure of the nadir either. I don't know if I haven't been doing it long enough or you can tell now? Do those change on a daily basis?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

Sorry Jennifer...I was talking to my mom and checking Gracie. My Lil Stinka girl fell from 193 to 20 in two hours last night. That is not usual for her.....I think she just really got an overfull shed and I had reduced her dose but not enough. So tonight...I'm hovering :lol: :lol: :lol: She is ok, BTW.

Love Carl's saying...very appropo.

Anyway...you should start with figuring about 20cal/pound. Feed him that much and after a week, weigh him. If he's gained weight, then you could cut him back every so slowly....like 19.5cal/lb. If he loses weight on the 20cal/lb, then you need to give him more.

I'm glad we are saying the same things regarding FD....like Julie said, housekeeping in many instances is personal style but I think you'll find that most people either just leave their AMPS up and then start PMPS or they take the entire morning cycle out and just put PMPS cycle numbers in the evening. Your call.

So I think you can probably get a +3 or before bedtime test tonight. Mikey doesn't have a clear nadir yet but it looks like he's toying with the idea of having a late one. Nadirs can change from one cycle to the next so I never got too married to one with Gracie; some cats are very consistent (lucky beans!!). I think, in general, he should have the majority of his food in him by +6. If he gets hungry after that, just give him boiled chicken breast (don't go overboard but you don't want him starving for six hours).

It's good to do what you've been doing about getting a test in at about +7 or whenever you get up as long as you get up around that timeframe.

I'll be up until 2 your time and will check back in.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

getting it now. DF tried and coudn't so i'm giving Mikey a minute to relax.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1 245

BG 280 at +3 (2:47 am)

Marje, I think you'll be checking in. Am I safe for the night or ...?


***i'm thinking tomorrow I may stop at the store and start him on Innova. That seems to be much lower in carbs. Too bad I just bough 4 cases of Friskies at Petsmart today. My Black Friday deal, $0.30/can :lol: BUT... i just looked again and the friskies that i feed him is around 6 carbs but 187 calories, the Innova is 2 carbs but 209-237 calories and sophisticat 1 carb. 197 calories. Which is better higher carb lower calorie or lowest carb higher calorie?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191 +1/245 +4/280+8/24

BG at +8 242

I miss the blues but at least he's in more yellow's and not so many pinks!
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 PMPS 191 +1/245 +4/280+8/242 +11/2

+11 BG 240
He's liking yellow today
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 PMPS 191 +1/245 +4/280+8/242 +11/2

I thought 12amat my time would be your +3 cuz that would be 2amyour your time and you shot at 11....I thought you forgot and I finally went to bed. Looks like all was ok...great job.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 PMPS 191 +1/245 +4/280+8/242 +11/2

Sorry about that Marje. It's hard to "wake" up when the alarm sounds. Still getting used to it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top