Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 182 +11/197 PMPS 191
we call it a fur shot when the shot gets screwed up, for some reason. sometimes the cat moves while you're shooting and the needle slips out mid-shot. so you lose some insulin. sometimes you accidentally poke a needle through the skin and you shoot the insulin all the way through to the outside. we call it a fur shot no matter why we screw up the shot.
btw, just in case it ever happens (because most of us have done this) and you mess up on a shot, you never reshoot. when i first started i messed up a shot and i called the vet's office. they told me to reshoot - i was shooting 3 units, i think. i messed up again - so i shot again. i shot punkin a total of 3 times that morning. now i know that it is better to be short one shot than to EVER reshoot and shoot too much. i was lucky that punkin was ok, but now i would never reshoot a messed up shot. you just leave it.
about the curve - you can get wonky curves for any number of reasons. it could be that mikey ate more food than usual, which makes a difference. it could be the food had a higher carb value, or when you increase the dose you can get New Dose Wonkiness, which settles down in a few shots. you can also have a tiny bounce from hitting a lower than usual number. doesn't have to really be low to have that happen, just lower than the cat's body is used to. what we're really looking for on lantus is overall pictures - like i look at punkin's ss and scan the previous few days preshot values to see if the trend is overall down or up. so we try not to over-notice one or two tests, because it's the big picture that matters. hard to ignore a HI of course, but in the big picture they aren't everything.