11/25 - Banging my head against the wall

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
ok, I am thinking that Henry and Shakes are gonna drive us nuts
he is not making any sense again!!
Like Henry, I know if shakes doesnt eat his numbers wont rise lately...
I was one hour late last night and his pmps was 262.....
and on the weekends when he doesnt eat n the afternoon...he will have lower preshots ..
BUT...once again the insulin does not seem to be working
his amps was 203 adn his +5 is 171.....and I shot the ususal 3.2...
so why is it the last couple of days he is only dropping not even 100 points...
Could this be insulin resistance?
 
It doesn't say when you got a new vial but it seems like it was recently, Denise?

I know they aren't greens and blues but he is technically very close to regulation - 200s at preschool and 100s (albeit high 100s) at midcycle. In the past, he has been lowest at around +7 rather than +5. If you could get a +7 today, it might be lower?

I can't remember your feeding schedule, but if he is lower without food, you could put him on a schedule and feed only after the shot and pick up the food until after nadir, then a snack and a full meal after the pmps. Would that drive him (and you) crazy to do for a trial?

Just possibilites since I have no brilliant insights.......

Where is that banging smilie?
 
WE just got a new vial so we are ok there....
There is no way I could pick up the food...always has to be some out...I have 3 cats
and one is very OCD...she might go crazy without the food(although she could stand to lose 10 pounds!)
so maybe you are thinking this could be what regulation is rather than insulin resistance?
never though of it like that
maybe he body has just adjusted to the insulin....

I dont know where CArl gets the new smilies, I wil lhave to spend wome time finding them

Oh and his +7 was 182.......so he just surfes lately...no dropping whatsoever :twisted:
 
I found that smiley (someone posted a link to it someplace) at smileyjungle.com
They have hundreds of them.

one of my faves:

I'm the one on the right playing guitar!
carl
 
I'll agree with Sue and say that there are worse ss's out there, you havn't seen a pink for 10 days, he's below renal threshold.

You could raise to 3.3u and see what happens. Maybe push his numbers down a bit more.
 
Thank Robin
I am going to raise a little and call the vet
Its not his numbers that are worrying me, its the way he is acting
He is drinking more and peeing more, has not been able to junp AGAIN
and this morning his amps was 246 which is great,
but his +5 is 209...no drop whatsoever, which is what makes me think that maybe he
is becoming insulin resistant..
 
A blood panel wouldn't hurt to rule out anything else that might be going on.

Sorry I don't remember, are you giving him any Methyl B-12 for the Neuropothy?
 
Yes he gets 5 pills a day..about a month ago
he starting being able to jump onthe sofa...
but now this week he is unable again and not acting like he was when he was seeing lower nadirs
so I am going to have to say that it appears that the nadirs are definately more important than
the preshots
 
Maybe try upping the dose of the Methyl B-12. It is supposed to be disolved under the tongue but since most of us can't convince our kittys to do that we give it with food so I've always wondered if it wasn't as effective as if could be.
 
I dont want to up the dose as sometimes it does give him loose stool...
Yes you can do the injectable B12...I had that in the beginning and used to inject once a week...
It had helped a lot
my vet gave me a bottle to do the injections..
The B12 is VERY effective on Shakes as he was unable to walk without it
He has come a long way....
and I know its the nadirs that are not going low enough..is what is effecting his jumping...
 
Denise,
Did he have loose stools when you were injecting the b-12? I was thinking maybe if the b-12 didn't have to go through his digestive track, maybe that could be better?
One thing I noticed with Bob.... He never was dx'd with actual neuropathy, but he did display mild symptoms.... walking slow (never on the hocks though), not running and definitely not jumping... He was worse when his potassium was below normal, and any time he was at all dehydrated. He got sub-q fluids with added potassium, and that helped a lot. He is now getting one pill of cosequin daily as a preventative for arthritis, and it seems to help.
Has Shakes had his Potassium levels checked recently, or does he ever seem dehydrated?

Carl
 
YEs we had everything checked, it is definatley neuropathy
I would rather not do the injections again
I tried the cosequin for arthritis but it made his sugars go crazy
 
I tried the cosequin for arthritis but it made his sugars go crazy

Are you sure it was the cosequin? It isn't supposed to effect sugars. Crap, I specifically asked that question at the vet. I looked it up and there's nothing in it that should raise BG that I could find..... well, Bob will be getting an unscheduled ear poke today then.

Carl
 
Interesting:
Is it safe to take glucosamine supplements if I have diabetes?

Answer
from Maria Collazo-Clavell, M.D.

Even though glucosamine is technically a type of sugar, it doesn't appear to affect blood glucose levels or insulin sensitivity. Some preliminary research had suggested that glucosamine might worsen insulin resistance, which can contribute to increases in blood sugar in people with type 2 diabetes. But subsequent studies refuted these findings.

Glucosamine is one of the most popular dietary supplements sold in the United States, although study results have been mixed regarding its ability to reduce osteoarthritis pain. While glucosamine doesn't appear to affect glucose levels or insulin sensitivity, the supplement can interact with other medications you might be taking — such as warfarin (Coumadin), a blood thinner.

And then this:
People with diabetes should have their blood sugar checked regularly. Glucosamine may cause insulin to work less effectively.

I'm still checking Bob's BG today, (after I boil the shrimp), but it sounds like it's okay unless you are taking insulin, in which case, it might not raise sugar, but seems to cause the insulin to not work as well. So Denise, it may mess up Shakes numbers. If it makes the insulin less effective, then the way you would notice that is that his numbers would be wonky.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top