Fistuk & Shelly
Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-5-fistuk-amps-113.295475/#post-3218519
Hi everyone
Thank you everyone who cheered me on the last time i posted (can't belive it's been 3 weeks!)
@Heather82372 @Jack & Mopem'sMom @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella @Heike & BInie @Staci & Ivy @Karen and Chispa @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
So first thing for the last vet's visit. The news is not great. She reckons Fistuk's difficulty in walking is due to a neurological problem. She tested him and found that if were due to arthritis the Solencia should have worked at least to some degree. It's like he's losing command on the hind legs.
It hasn't been an easy thing for me to digest. As soon as I can I'll get him acupuncture and hopefully, it'll help to some extent but it seems like there's not much to do.
I recalled that a few years back, when Fistuk started showing wobbliness in his walk i took him to a vet and he said the same, that it's neurological. He said he could refer me to a neurologist and get an MRI but at the end, even if I did get a diagnosis there won't be much that I could do.
So that's how it is for now. He can't jump up the bed by himself anymore and won't move out of his throne unless taken out or his bladder is really about to burst. Sometimes when peeing we need to hold him because he's collapsing while standing. After taking a few steps he's almost panting and has to sit down
The bladder infection has been resolved quite quickly and now he's getting 1/2 a capsule of cranberry extract every other day as prevention.
His readings were not great but I was super busy, then I travelled so I raised his dose to 2.25 yesterday. It seems like his best dose so far. Hopefully, he'll restore the green balance on this dose.
Fistuk had some drinking sessions lately. Mostly in the morning after/during breakfast. Temps dropped down massivly in the past couple of weeks and the heating kicked in. We had the same thing last year and Fistuk responded with drinking. Hopefully, this will relax soon.
The vet didn't see a reason to do blood tests and check his kidneys so soon. She said that sine Fistuk's appetite is well we can revisit blood values at the start of the year.
Hope everyone is doing well.
Wishing you a boring day
In the pic: Fistuk tucks himself into a neat tortellino next to me
Hi everyone
Thank you everyone who cheered me on the last time i posted (can't belive it's been 3 weeks!)
@Heather82372 @Jack & Mopem'sMom @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella @Heike & BInie @Staci & Ivy @Karen and Chispa @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
So first thing for the last vet's visit. The news is not great. She reckons Fistuk's difficulty in walking is due to a neurological problem. She tested him and found that if were due to arthritis the Solencia should have worked at least to some degree. It's like he's losing command on the hind legs.
It hasn't been an easy thing for me to digest. As soon as I can I'll get him acupuncture and hopefully, it'll help to some extent but it seems like there's not much to do.
I recalled that a few years back, when Fistuk started showing wobbliness in his walk i took him to a vet and he said the same, that it's neurological. He said he could refer me to a neurologist and get an MRI but at the end, even if I did get a diagnosis there won't be much that I could do.
So that's how it is for now. He can't jump up the bed by himself anymore and won't move out of his throne unless taken out or his bladder is really about to burst. Sometimes when peeing we need to hold him because he's collapsing while standing. After taking a few steps he's almost panting and has to sit down
The bladder infection has been resolved quite quickly and now he's getting 1/2 a capsule of cranberry extract every other day as prevention.
His readings were not great but I was super busy, then I travelled so I raised his dose to 2.25 yesterday. It seems like his best dose so far. Hopefully, he'll restore the green balance on this dose.
Fistuk had some drinking sessions lately. Mostly in the morning after/during breakfast. Temps dropped down massivly in the past couple of weeks and the heating kicked in. We had the same thing last year and Fistuk responded with drinking. Hopefully, this will relax soon.
The vet didn't see a reason to do blood tests and check his kidneys so soon. She said that sine Fistuk's appetite is well we can revisit blood values at the start of the year.
Hope everyone is doing well.
Wishing you a boring day

In the pic: Fistuk tucks himself into a neat tortellino next to me

