11/24 Fistuk AMPS 101, +3 86, +7 49, +7.25 49, +7.5 59, +9 76, +11 69 PMPS 69

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-5-fistuk-amps-113.295475/#post-3218519

Hi everyone :)

Thank you everyone who cheered me on the last time i posted (can't belive it's been 3 weeks!)
@Heather82372 @Jack & Mopem'sMom @tiffmaxee @cecile & bella @Heike & BInie @Staci & Ivy @Karen and Chispa @Diane Tyler's Mom GA

So first thing for the last vet's visit. The news is not great. She reckons Fistuk's difficulty in walking is due to a neurological problem. She tested him and found that if were due to arthritis the Solencia should have worked at least to some degree. It's like he's losing command on the hind legs.

It hasn't been an easy thing for me to digest. As soon as I can I'll get him acupuncture and hopefully, it'll help to some extent but it seems like there's not much to do.

I recalled that a few years back, when Fistuk started showing wobbliness in his walk i took him to a vet and he said the same, that it's neurological. He said he could refer me to a neurologist and get an MRI but at the end, even if I did get a diagnosis there won't be much that I could do.

So that's how it is for now. He can't jump up the bed by himself anymore and won't move out of his throne unless taken out or his bladder is really about to burst. Sometimes when peeing we need to hold him because he's collapsing while standing. After taking a few steps he's almost panting and has to sit down

The bladder infection has been resolved quite quickly and now he's getting 1/2 a capsule of cranberry extract every other day as prevention.


His readings were not great but I was super busy, then I travelled so I raised his dose to 2.25 yesterday. It seems like his best dose so far. Hopefully, he'll restore the green balance on this dose.

Fistuk had some drinking sessions lately. Mostly in the morning after/during breakfast. Temps dropped down massivly in the past couple of weeks and the heating kicked in. We had the same thing last year and Fistuk responded with drinking. Hopefully, this will relax soon.

The vet didn't see a reason to do blood tests and check his kidneys so soon. She said that sine Fistuk's appetite is well we can revisit blood values at the start of the year.


Hope everyone is doing well.
Wishing you a boring day :bighug:

In the pic: Fistuk tucks himself into a neat tortellino next to me
upload_2024-11-24_14-5-30.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-24_14-5-30.jpeg
    upload_2024-11-24_14-5-30.jpeg
    69.7 KB · Views: 134
Hi Shelly,

so sorry to read Fistuk has these walking issues. I can imagine this is hard to digest. I really hope that acupuncture helps. So great you make this possible for him! My brothers dog had acupuncture because of back problems and it helped a lot. Do you think Fistuk would use stairs to climb the bed? I have this one to go at the window sill and a smaller version for the couch and the bed:

https://www.amazon.de/PawHut®-Steps-steps-Dogs-Cats/dp/B01CNHMK64/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

So glad to read that his UTI resolved. We are also using cranberry now - thank you for the suggestion!

Do you measure the moisture in your rooms? Maybe it is a little dry because of the heating? If that happens I sometimes put little water bowls on the radiator.

Good luck with the increase!

Have a relaxed Sunday Shelly! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, nice to see you here!
I am sorry the news are not good about Fistuk's legs. Are you still giving him vitamin B12 regularly? If it's a neuropathy it can take a very long time to improve.
Your picture is great, he looks very warm and comfortable in his little burrito.
Have a nice end of your day!
 
Hi Shelly,

so sorry to read Fistuk has these walking issues. I can imagine this is hard to digest. I really hope that acupuncture helps. So great you make this possible for him! My brothers dog had acupuncture because of back problems and it helped a lot. Do you think Fistuk would use stairs to climb the bed? I have this one to go at the window sill and a smaller version for the couch and the bed:

https://www.amazon.de/PawHut®-Steps-steps-Dogs-Cats/dp/B01CNHMK64/ref=sxin_12_pa_sp_search_thematic_sspa?content-id=amzn1.sym.2f4276fb-0719-4985-9564-8f5865992fdc:amzn1.sym.2f4276fb-0719-4985-9564-8f5865992fdc&crid=2XEO6L7O643IG&cv_ct_cx=katzentreppe&dib=eyJ2IjoiMSJ9.suvvvIkEYac-WVLupAh6CgIlrGhCou4BjV4Wixhg2bjyRzqexuHdDf7L501X6Z-0hjXv-N7k66uOJqQ6FKZCRg.9VFsH4WA8_8HASzBhiJlaeZSXEHuMwDT4cosbO-z0QM&dib_tag=se&keywords=katzentreppe&pd_rd_i=B01CNHMK64&pd_rd_r=7bbe5d72-27d9-4c32-a9b8-bb64283ce184&pd_rd_w=3DLRP&pd_rd_wg=Az6Tw&pf_rd_p=2f4276fb-0719-4985-9564-8f5865992fdc&pf_rd_r=21W1ZEXTVX634D2VTDZ7&qid=1732462400&sbo=RZvfv//HxDF+O5021pAnSA==&sprefix=katzentreppe,aps,115&sr=1-4-0bff13d2-7188-4a82-bb3a-ccd1e70f0167-spons&sp_csd=d2lkZ2V0TmFtZT1zcF9zZWFyY2hfdGhlbWF0aWM&psc=1

So glad to read that his UTI resolved. We are also using cranberry now - thank you for the suggestion!

Do you measure the moisture in your rooms? Maybe it is a little dry because of the heating? If that happens I sometimes put little water bowls on the radiator.

Good luck with the increase!

Have a relaxed Sunday Shelly! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike :)

Thanks for your kind words. I'm happy to hear that acupuncture helped your brother's dog.

Fistuk find it difficult to climb up steps as well. He has one next to our bed and even though it's not a high step he's began to find it difficult to pull the back leg up and then he trips.

I'm happy that you give Binie the cranberry extract and that you like it :)

We have floor heating, not radiators. The room is still dry but not as much as with radiators. I'm planning to buy a small machine to measure the humidity in the room not only beause of that but also because I want to prevent mould.

Wishing you a lovely week :bighug:
 
Hey Shelly, long time, no see. :bighug:

Sorry to hear about Fistuk. You're such a great mom and doing everything possible you can to ensure he is comfortable. He is so lucky to have you.

I hope the acupuncture brings some relief.

Stay warm! :bighug:
So good to hear from you, Jason :) Thank you for your kind words.

I'm the lucky one that Fistuk chose to be with xx

I hoe that you and Kona are well.

Warm hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, nice to see you here!
I am sorry the news are not good about Fistuk's legs. Are you still giving him vitamin B12 regularly? If it's a neuropathy it can take a very long time to improve.
Your picture is great, he looks very warm and comfortable in his little burrito.
Have a nice end of your day!
Hi Cecile :)

I give Fistuk B12 since he had neuropathy with diabetes. Back then it made a huge impact quite quickly.

I used to give him 15mg a day. Some time ago I reduced it back to 5mg since his NP seems to have resolved. But with your queation today I have decided tp increase it again so i give him 10mg and lets see if that helps.

My little burrito is scrumptious xx

Wishing you a wonderful week :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, oh Fistuk is the most adorable little burrito peeking out. He’s such a sweetheart. :cat:
I’m glad his infection is resolved.
That’s great news.

I’m so sorry he’s having Difficulty walking and holding himself up. Poor boy that must be so difficult for him. I wonder if they recognize the struggle?
I hope the acupuncture will help him. Please keep us posted as I’m sure many of us are concerned and want to hear how you’re doing when you get a moment We’re sending good vibes your way to your sweet boy.
You’re such a good mama to him And you do everything possible for him.
You’re both lucky that you have one another, it’s a great match.

Sending you both lots of love and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I give Fistuk B12 since he had neuropathy with diabetes. Back then it made a huge impact quite quickly.

I used to give him 15mg a day. Some time ago I reduced it back to 5mg since his NP seems to have resolved. But with your queation today I have decided tp increase it again so i give him 10mg and lets see if that helps.
Hi Shelly! So sorry to hear about Fistuk's walking difficulty. Going along with the B12, would it help to get injections for a little bit to bypass the gut? I know it's more with kitties with IBD issues that need this but maybe it would help regardless? Just a thought. :bighug:
 
Sweet, sweet Fistuk ... he looks so warm and cozy in his tortellini-purrito! Please give him a kiss for me on his pretty white forehead.

Crossing fingers and paws for the acupuncture and increased B12 to bring some relief.

How lucky he is to have you, Shelly.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you can get Fistuk to acupuncture soon. And that it brings him as much relief as it did Neko.

Neko ignored the custom stairs that DH built so she could get on the bed. :rolleyes: It was much easier to whine, or as I called it, call for the elevator. I have seen people use ramps with more success. Maybe just a gradual slope to it for him.
 
Oh I'm sorry to read Fistuk is having such mobility issues. I hope the increased B12 will help. Sending much love and many prayers for the little 'purrito' - and for you! :bighug:
Thanks, Christine :)
Looks like the B12 reduced a tiny bit of the legs itchiness but not the mobility. I'm quite resigned to accept the situation as it is. Every time he looks at me with his gorgeous, loving gaze I'm reminded that he's still happy and that's a lot to be grateful for :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you can get Fistuk to acupuncture soon. And that it brings him as much relief as it did Neko.

Neko ignored the custom stairs that DH built so she could get on the bed. :rolleyes: It was much easier to whine, or as I called it, call for the elevator. I have seen people use ramps with more success. Maybe just a gradual slope to it for him.
haha I love the private elevator. Sounds like a trick i wouldn't resist too ;)
I was thinking of getting him custom stairs but I see how difficult it is for him to get up the one step by the bed so I'm hesitant to spend the money on it.
I hope to be able to get an acupuncturist to come over in the next few weeks but we might need to wait till the new year. I'll keep you posted :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top