11/24 Dallas AMBG 74, skipped dose

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
Decided to skip his dose this morning because he's still not overly interested in food and I was concerned that if he dropped too low we wouldn't be able to get high carb food into him. I just didn't want to chance it.

He's not really doing much better, so I'll be calling the vet as soon as they open to see what else we can do. He did eat, but not nearly as much as he normally does. I'd say yesterday he had a total of 1 can of Fancy Feast, which is not a lot for him. We tried giving him bland rice and beef, adding tuna water and FortaFlora in his food, which he usually goes crazy for, but he was not interested.

Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-22-dallas-amps-103-4-92-pmps-122.283863/#post-3125947

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
 
Good morning, I’m sorry to hear Dallas isn’t feeling better. A vet consultation sounds like a good idea. Sending you healing wishes and prayers for him to feel much better. Please keep us posted!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Do you think he’s nauseous? If you oy don’t have ondansetron I coils ask your vet for an RX for sone. I hope the feels better soon.
 
Did the vet run a test for pancreatitis or was it just suspected? Is Dallas now on pain meds? I agree with Elise on the anti nausea meds too. Hope he feels better soon.

FYI, we call in AMBG (blood glucose) when we take a preshot test but don't actually shoot. And, he had pretty much a week in solid green, other than that solitary 101 on the 15th, and that means a reduction to 0.75 was earned. The slightly higher numbers since then could be from the pancreatitis flair if that's what it is.
 
Oh darn, for some reason I did not get any of these notifications come through my email as it normally does!

He did vomit a few times before we took him to the vet and once after, but since he started getting Cerenia he hasn't vomitted.

I didn't think there was a test for pancreatitis? Just blood work, which we did and his amylase was very mildly elevated, which could indicate a number of things including pancreatitis. We still have to drop off a urine sample. We have had no luck collecting from home yet.

We went home with Cerenia, SubQ Fluids which I give him once a day, Buprenorphine (pain med), and Mirtazapine.

He was not improving today, so we had to put him on Prednisone unfortunately. He would not eat and he was very lethargic. As of 2pm he may have had 1 tsp of food. I also got him a/d which yes is high in carbs, but he is thankfully now eating again!!!:bighug: He seems to have perked up a bit as well. Not sure if the steroids are working this quick, or it's the food. If this continues he'll get weaned off the steroids sooner than later and I'll eventually introduce him back to his regular low carb food.

155 @ PMPS
 
Did the vet run a test for pancreatitis or was it just suspected? Is Dallas now on pain meds? I agree with Elise on the anti nausea meds too. Hope he feels better soon.

FYI, we call in AMBG (blood glucose) when we take a preshot test but don't actually shoot. And, he had pretty much a week in solid green, other than that solitary 101 on the 15th, and that means a reduction to 0.75 was earned. The slightly higher numbers since then could be from the pancreatitis flair if that's what it is.
Oh shoot, I didn't know he had earned a reduction. Should I keep him at 1unit for now since his numbers will most likely stay higher since he's on Prednisone?
 
It does sound like pancreatitis. The blood test for it is the SpecfPl . Treatment is medication for nausea and pain and sometimes sub.q fluids.
 
I find that ondansetron works better than Cerenia for nausea. Cerenia is best for vomiting.

If it takes A/D for him to eat, go for it. I think it's MC. Royal Canin Recovery is also an option, and is LC. Both you can syringe in if needed. You do want to give an anti nausea before giving an appetite stimulant.

Have you tested for ketones lately?

I hope that's prednisolone, not prednisone he is getting. Not sure why he's getting that though. You can keep him on the higher dose if his numbers are higher.
 
I find that ondansetron works better than Cerenia for nausea. Cerenia is best for vomiting.

If it takes A/D for him to eat, go for it. I think it's MC. Royal Canin Recovery is also an option, and is LC. Both you can syringe in if needed. You do want to give an anti nausea before giving an appetite stimulant.

Have you tested for ketones lately?

I hope that's prednisolone, not prednisone he is getting. Not sure why he's getting that though. You can keep him on the higher dose if his numbers are higher.
Yes, it’s Prednisolone. Oops. He’s taking it as an anti-inflammatory.
 
Back
Top