Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;
Sorry hon,
I'm running really late this morning. I planned on logging in much sooner than this. :sad:
I agree with Chris grab the data when you can get it, actually running a curve today will help figure out how long it is going to take him to shake the reduced + late shot off. But you can do either if you want always, either a full or a mini, doesn't really matter.Just the more of his patterns we can catch on the weekends when you can test his ears off the easier it is to keep him safe during the week and still let you sleep at night. Then once you learn him and what he does when, even on the weekends you can ease up on the testing because you will know when you NEED to test, and when its just a Hey what the heck, you're here, I'm here lets see where you're at buddy test. :lol:
Right now with him everything is a new learning experience for you and us both, this is how we figure out exactly what music the cat is playing, so we know how we need to step in response when we see a certain pattern forming. And don't feel bad Autumn is right up there with Silver this morning, but with her it's because 1) she didn't hold her last reduction in dose, and 2) because I gave a fur shot last night, and through years of testing her I know she will clear it fast and should be right back down again by later tonight or tomorrow. Now we need to find out how Silver wants to clear this glitch. But it has already told us that if you aren't so late with a shot that it's going to mess with your very tight window to shoot in the mornings during the week, that you can shoot a full dose and he'll be fine.
Now to explain why so high. When you give a late shot it acts as a reduction in dose, because more of the shed is used to make up for it not being topped off in time. Remember when I was talking about how it's like a funnel? And it's not only how much you pour in, but also how fast? Well if you're late pouring the next batch of water into our imaginary funnel, more water is going to run out the bottom before we pour in the next batch of water, so even when we give a full dose late, part of that full dose goes to refilling the shed, before it can be used by Silver to keep his BGs low. Now if you also reduce the dose, you are now pouring the water in late, causing the level at the top to sink further from the top, but you are pouring less in so by the time you pour in the next batch of water the level is even lower. Or more of the dose just given is going to replace what was used of the shed, so even less is usable by Silver to keep himself in lower numbers. Does that make sense?
Now reverse is true if for some reason you have to give an early shot, or you are seriously late with a shot, like finding the syringe on the counter still loaded two hours after you should have shot(guilty as charged

), and there is no flipping way you can roll it back 30 minutes per day to get back on the right track. Here is where you want to reduce the dose, because more of the shed will have been used, but you are adding more back in before 12 hours are up to either keep you on schedule or get you back on schedule.
The rule of thumb is late shot acts as a dose decrease, early shot acts as a dose increase.
As quickly as Silver reacted to his various dose changes so far I would guess he is going to be right back down in the lagoon again before the weekend is over, but right now that is all it is a guess, Silver is the one that truly has to tell us.
Mel and The Fur Gang