11/23 Silver AMPS 8; +3=7.4; +5=6.5; +7=6.8; +9=7

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/21 Silver AMPS 10.2; PMPS 7.8; +1 9.9;

MommaOfMuse said:
Lol I broke up with Facebook years ago. Might check it once a day or every couple days just to check up on my kids and grandkids.

Mel and The Fur Gang

:-)

Well I guess my shooting 0.5 stopped him playing in the grass today but he had a fine old time swimming in the lagoon. Think its safe to head to bed and his poor ears will have to suffer a curve tomorrow. I think he likes the peace he gets during the week!! When I'm doing a curve do I just do the +2, +4, +6, +8, +10 and the preshots or should I test in the next cycle after his evening preshot as well?

Thankfully no peeing outside the box today. I wonder what makes him decide the floor over the box and vice versa. Thank heaven for puppy pads.

Night all.

Juliet and Silver (and sister Sasha)
 
Re: 11/21 Silver LIGHTS OUT 6.0 (108)

Night night hon.

I'll jump on as soon as I have my kids fed tomorrow morning to check on you both.

Yeah I do switch off every once and awhile. Lol but I'm still a mother hen with the babies here.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Silver LIGHTS OUT 6.0 (108)

Thanks Mel. Altho I don't think he'll be low tomorrow after me reducing his dose tonight. I may even see a yellow preshot for a change. Hoping to avoid seeing black red or pink as my vet seems to think I'm doing a ten day trial ignoring her dosing advice :-) really looking forward to the big fat grin when she sees he's done well on less insulin.

Got the ketone sticks I ordered in the mail today. Dunno how I will get a test as it's hit or miss if he uses the puppy pads or litter tray. I don't want to discourage him using the tray by putting foreign litter in it.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver LIGHTS OUT 6.0 (108)

so happy Silver is doing better.
i use s blood ketone meter since Tibbs is ketone prone. it's def easier than trying to catch them in the litter box (but sadly a little more expensive) since my boy is ketone prone i have to do it. here it is in case you need to get one.
it does glucose too but i just use for ketones
i set up the relion micro for glucose and the nova max for ketones , then use the same ear stick to do both.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0050Z48I ... SY200_QL40
 
Re: 11/21 Silver LIGHTS OUT 6.0 (108)

Sniffing the breath is a supplemental method of monitoring. A breath smell of fruit or nail polish remover can indicate 2 of the 3 types of ketones which may be formed.
 
Re: 11/21 Silver LIGHTS OUT 6.0 (108)

Thanks Nadine. I'm not really worried as his numbers are low now but as I have the strips and am home all day I will try and catch him doing his business.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS 27.5 (495)

So disappointed to wake up to a red number this morning. But when I took the reading, I was horrified we might be back in the black. I guess I should have shot the 1u after all last night. How many days is this going to set him back for? Is there much point me doing a curve today as he's going to spend the whole day trying to come down from this high. Grrrrr.

I so wanted the vet to see nice blues, yellows and greens when she checked in.

Mel - should I do the curve anyways? I guess his AMPS on Tuesday and Wednesday also started off in red but came down to nice blues. He might surprise us yet.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS 27.5 (495)

I'd go ahead and do a curve, but maybe instead of a full curve, just do a mini-curve (test every 3 hours instead of every 2)

There's no such thing as too much data, so I'd go ahead and get it while you can
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;

Sorry hon,

I'm running really late this morning. I planned on logging in much sooner than this. :sad:

I agree with Chris grab the data when you can get it, actually running a curve today will help figure out how long it is going to take him to shake the reduced + late shot off. But you can do either if you want always, either a full or a mini, doesn't really matter.Just the more of his patterns we can catch on the weekends when you can test his ears off the easier it is to keep him safe during the week and still let you sleep at night. Then once you learn him and what he does when, even on the weekends you can ease up on the testing because you will know when you NEED to test, and when its just a Hey what the heck, you're here, I'm here lets see where you're at buddy test. :lol:

Right now with him everything is a new learning experience for you and us both, this is how we figure out exactly what music the cat is playing, so we know how we need to step in response when we see a certain pattern forming. And don't feel bad Autumn is right up there with Silver this morning, but with her it's because 1) she didn't hold her last reduction in dose, and 2) because I gave a fur shot last night, and through years of testing her I know she will clear it fast and should be right back down again by later tonight or tomorrow. Now we need to find out how Silver wants to clear this glitch. But it has already told us that if you aren't so late with a shot that it's going to mess with your very tight window to shoot in the mornings during the week, that you can shoot a full dose and he'll be fine.

Now to explain why so high. When you give a late shot it acts as a reduction in dose, because more of the shed is used to make up for it not being topped off in time. Remember when I was talking about how it's like a funnel? And it's not only how much you pour in, but also how fast? Well if you're late pouring the next batch of water into our imaginary funnel, more water is going to run out the bottom before we pour in the next batch of water, so even when we give a full dose late, part of that full dose goes to refilling the shed, before it can be used by Silver to keep his BGs low. Now if you also reduce the dose, you are now pouring the water in late, causing the level at the top to sink further from the top, but you are pouring less in so by the time you pour in the next batch of water the level is even lower. Or more of the dose just given is going to replace what was used of the shed, so even less is usable by Silver to keep himself in lower numbers. Does that make sense?

Now reverse is true if for some reason you have to give an early shot, or you are seriously late with a shot, like finding the syringe on the counter still loaded two hours after you should have shot(guilty as charged :oops: ), and there is no flipping way you can roll it back 30 minutes per day to get back on the right track. Here is where you want to reduce the dose, because more of the shed will have been used, but you are adding more back in before 12 hours are up to either keep you on schedule or get you back on schedule.

The rule of thumb is late shot acts as a dose decrease, early shot acts as a dose increase.

As quickly as Silver reacted to his various dose changes so far I would guess he is going to be right back down in the lagoon again before the weekend is over, but right now that is all it is a guess, Silver is the one that truly has to tell us.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;

Hi Mel,
I actually wasn't late with my shot last night - I thought I was going to be but I was right on time. I looked at his last few days and his pattern is to be higher in the morning preshot - usually red or pink so I dont think I've upset his shed or system at all. I will do a full curve today and we can look again at night....we're only seeing pink again as its been a week since I've been home in the day to test and he's probably always been pink/yellow in the early part of the curve. I think we are still on target with blues for later today. For some reason his daytime curve is higher than his evening curve. I've noticed that pattern for a while.

About to do his +4 - I am guessing I will see yellow.

Juliet and Silver.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;

Aha! Yeah then you should have shot the whole dose, and you only gave .5 right? Sorry still not real wide awake yet, didn't sleep real well last night and got to bed late as well so there is WAY too much blood in my caffeine system. :lol: So in effect you gave him a half dose correct? Just trying to refresh a very foggy memory at the moment. I swear I'll be sharper here as soon as the coffee kicks in..lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;

MommaOfMuse said:
Aha! Yeah then you should have shot the whole dose, and you only gave .5 right? Sorry still not real wide awake yet, didn't sleep real well last night and got to bed late as well so there is WAY too much blood in my caffeine system. :lol: So in effect you gave him a half dose correct? Just trying to refresh a very foggy memory at the moment. I swear I'll be sharper here as soon as the coffee kicks in..lol

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes I should have - lol - but I actually listened to you when you said No Shoot was 150 ;-)

Yup, its time for my second cup of ~O) too.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

Okay so we're at 8.3 at +4 so I'm guessing he might be doing what he's been doing all week while I've been working away at the office.

His nadir must be green surely....
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19;

And right now that is good, because we don't know how he is going to react, and you didn't know and I wasn't around to jump on to help and didn't know when I would be.

And most importantly he was safe. That is always the top priority. And you learned something new, so not totally a bummer. Much better a couple days too high than a moment too low.

Every glitch that happens is a lesson to learn from, so when it happens or is about to happen you know what to do. It gives you a little more piece of the puzzle that is Silver.

You know you've heard about the special bond that grows between a sugarcat and their caregiver, well there is something else that happens once you've been owned by one. You learn cats in general like you've never done before and I don't care how many cats you've been owned by. I know I sure did, and I don't think there has ever been a time in my life even as a child there were less than 8 cats in the house, as my mom bred and showed Himalayans and Persians when I was little. You start to notice little things that you never really paid attention to before, because of working so close with Silver, you'll understand Sasha better as well. Just remember to watch him as a whole cat as well as a set of numbers.

And above all we're human and fallible, life happens, we do the best we can with the knowledge we have on hand at the split second the decision needs to be made.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

Nice come back Silver!!!! This may prove to be very interesting to see.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

Well he just peed on the floor - on the puppy pad - so I, armed with my ready ketostix grabbed at it and wrapped the puppy pad round the stick before it all dried in. I think I got the stick good and wet. Now, its the first time I did this so which end do you dip - I am guessing the bit with the pale pink end. So I did that and it got wet but didn't change color. I take it that's a good thing?

Seriously - I never know what to say when my colleagues ask me what I did at the weekend - hmmm, well I chased my cat's pee, bled him several times in the day and jumped for joy when I saw low numbers. I think "get a life" might be in their vocabulary so I just say "nothing much". LOL!!
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

MommaOfMuse said:
Nice come back Silver!!!! This may prove to be very interesting to see.

Mel and The Fur Gang

I think he's on the way to having a nice curve. I know he tends to drop fast but its seems to be more gradual - red to pink to blue.....then .....green??
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

Well Christmas wouldn't be Christmas without a cat or two....finished putting up my decor with Silver and Sasha's help. Mel, now you get a picture of how big Sasha is... she used to be such a dainty little calico. I love the fact that their markings are love hearts. A friend of mine pointed that out to me when they were kittens.
 

Attachments

  • Christmas with the kitties6.jpg
    Christmas with the kitties6.jpg
    20.3 KB · Views: 255
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

Oh Juliet they are beautiful girls! I have a grey calico, Patches, that is grey, white and butterscotch. :-D Until her, I never knew they came in those colors, vet told me that's what she was. I thought all calico looked like yours. :lol: I've always loved the calico colors. Had a few over the years. Patches has a tortie pattern, but as a tri-color, she's calico. Go figure, I always get the strange animals! :lol:
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

nckitties3 said:
Oh Juliet they are beautiful girls! I have a grey calico, Patches, that is grey, white and butterscotch. :-D Until her, I never knew they came in those colors, vet told me that's what she was. I thought all calico looked like yours. :lol: I've always loved the calico colors. Had a few over the years. Patches has a tortie pattern, but as a tri-color, she's calico. Go figure, I always get the strange animals! :lol:

Ooooh, well I think Silver might take offence at being called a girl but he is handsome ;-) and I wont tell him!
I love calico cats, their colourings are so pretty.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

oh Silver, I'm sorry, thought you were a calico too! ohmygod_smile :lol: Just goes to show, he's just too pretty to be a boy! :-D (When my son was a baby, total strangers would say, "What a beautiful baby GIRL!" Even though he was dressed in a totally BLUE onesie that had an embroidered "His Highness" on the chest! :lol: Go figure!)
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3

nckitties3 said:
oh Silver, I'm sorry, thought you were a calico too! ohmygod_smile :lol: Just goes to show, he's just too pretty to be a boy! :-D (When my son was a baby, total strangers would say, "What a beautiful baby GIRL!" Even though he was dressed in a totally BLUE onesie that had an embroidered "His Highness" on the chest! :lol: Go figure!)

Lol!

Well we are swimming in the lagoon again at +6. Silver doesnt seem to have been too much affected by my half dose last night.
Mel, do you think I will see lower or is +6 usually the nadir??

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2

Happy Caturday Juliet and Silver!....and I'd better include Sasha..don't want any hurt feelings!!

Just an observation on this morning's high....I wouldn't be surprised if after you went to bed last night, Silver dropped much lower overnight and this morning's icky red is a bounce. Most cats do go lower at night than they do during the day

As quickly as he's breaking it is another clue to help fill in the puzzle that is Silver...You may have actually done the best thing last night giving only .5

It's possible that 1 unit is too much and you might need to back it down to .75 (which is another reason why we suggest getting some syringes with half unit markings...you might be able to eyeball .5 pretty well, but those .75 and .25 are awful!)

As for your question "Is +6 his nadir"....Another fun part of this dance is there are no definite answers to that one...Each cat is going to have a different time they "usually" nadir, but the time they nadir can also change quite frequently. At this point, I'd say he "usually" nadirs by +5 or +6 but we're still working on limited data

Isn't this fun??....LOL
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2

I'll get half unit markings when I next need syringes. Not in the budget right now. actually Chris he is always high and in Reds at preshot. Yesterday's blue was unusual. I don't think he ever went off track. Don't think I should be changing his dose at all this weekend unless Mel says so as his dose has not been stable since he was diagnosed.


Think he needs stability. Will see what Mel says at the end of the day.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2

I wasn't suggesting a dose change....I was just making an observation for Mel to consider as she continues to advise you

She's the best at Relaxed and I know she'll never steer you wrong :-D
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2

Chris & China said:
I wasn't suggesting a dose change....I was just making an observation for Mel to consider as she continues to advise you

She's the best at Relaxed and I know she'll never steer you wrong :-D

:-D I think he's doing pretty well at 1u actually. Hoping to see more greens down the line which wont happen (I don't think) if we lower. I think his little body is just getting used to the 1u after being up at 2u.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2

I think he's doing much better on 1 unit too!

You had been concerned at being able to show your vet that the SLGS was the better option (instead of listening to her)

I think if you look at the last few days since you started, you see much more blue (and occasional green) now compared to the colors you were getting when you were trying it "her way". Hopefully you're going to be able to show her that Silver IS doing better this way (we won't know for sure until the full 10 days is up, but he sure looks better to me!)

Would be great if it would make her interested in learning more about how to care for any future patients she has. You could be responsible for helping a lot more cats in the future if she does decide to learn more :-D
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2; +8=9.1

Having a hard time getting blood from his ears today. His left ear has always been harder to get anything from but today both ears giving me nothing. Warming the ear with the hotbag. I think Silver likes it when I'm at work as his ears get left alone!
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2; +8=9.1

juliet
they are beautiful cats ......and uhhhhh handsome. lol
 
Re: 11/22 Silver - AMPS=27.5; +2=19; +4=8.3; +6=6.2; +8=9.1

tibbs5 said:
juliet
they are beautiful cats ......and uhhhhh handsome. lol

Thanks Nadine :lol:

Mel - given his curve today - just one more test to do - I am guessing we are sticking at 1u for the next week right?

Juliet
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4

Chris & China said:
I have got to slow down when I'm reading

I thought you said you were warming Silver's ears with a hotdog!! :lol:

:lol: :lol: maybe that might work better....seriously upset today with the mess I am making of his poor ears. Its been so easy the last week and today...not a drop. AND we are in yellow numbers for his +10 so I am kicking myself for not having given the full dose last night. I just hope it doesn't take too many days to settle again.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4

KittyMom777 said:
...seriously upset today with the mess I am making of his poor ears...

It can help to use the NeoSporin w/ pain relief after the test is done, plus apply a bit of direct pressure on the area afterwards to reduce bruising and scabbing.

And you can try the paw pads, too, to give the ears a break, if you want.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4

Chris & China said:
I have got to slow down when I'm reading

I thought you said you were warming Silver's ears with a hotdog!! :lol:

LOL haha_smiley haha_smiley
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMP 21.9

Well I guess this wasn't such a great curve. Really messed up last night with the reduced dose. Next time I'll shoot anyways.

Will do a +2 and a LIGHTS OUT at +4 and hopefully this won't have set him back too much :-(
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

it's ok Juliet. better to be safe. he's doing great.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

Sorry was rearranging furniture and moving the computer today, and of course to get DH's help I had to wait until after the football game. :roll: I'm actually kind of torn, .5u might even be a better dose for Silver, as I'm leaning toward Chris's suggestion that the higher numbers this morning could be from a bounce from going lower overnight last night, but also we need to let him settle somewhere. Let's go ahead and keep him at 1u for a few more days. Now I know Canadian Thanksgiving and US Thanksgiving are different days, but not sure whose is first..So are you working a full week this week? If yes, hold him at 1u for this week and we'll just see how he settles out.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

MommaOfMuse said:
Sorry was rearranging furniture and moving the computer today, and of course to get DH's help I had to wait until after the football game. :roll: I'm actually kind of torn, .5u might even be a better dose for Silver, as I'm leaning toward Chris's suggestion that the higher numbers this morning could be from a bounce from going lower overnight last night, but also we need to let him settle somewhere. Let's go ahead and keep him at 1u for a few more days. Now I know Canadian Thanksgiving and US Thanksgiving are different days, but not sure whose is first..So are you working a full week this week? If yes, hold him at 1u for this week and we'll just see how he settles out.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Yes I'm working a full week...I would really like to try and give him somewhere to settle like you said. Given his pattern the last few days, he hasnt dropped much below 6 - how could it have been a bounce today? His general pattern is to be in the red for AMPS right? He didnt bounce after going into green either. Are you sure he bounced??? He had levelled out til I messed up with the half unit last night.

And yes, Canadian thanksgiving is in October...but as I'm Scottish, we don't celebrate thanksgiving at all so its an unusual holiday that I dont tend to celebrate. I hope Silver doesnt go low on Thursday as no-one will be on the board right?
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

There is always someone around. I was more checking to see if like us here in the US had Thursday & Friday off work so you'd be able to grab a few more random spot checksbefore next weekend. But no biggie. Just watching our 10 day window with your vet. :-D.

Its exactly because his pattern is the same, he's not dropping as fast as he was but he's still dropping fast and steep for how Lantus works. It's that going from reds and pinks to blues and even greens in a single cycle that's setting off the swing back up. This is where just having limited testing during the week makes figuring out bounce vs. a smidge too of a dose yet.

But since you're working all week don't sweat we know he's at least safe on 1u and if its just a bounce he should settle some at least.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

I may check in during the morning and evening. I'll be at a friends during the afternoon.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

Hi Juliet

Lovely photos of your kitties.

I will be about on Thursday and although I am new I can hopefully help hold your hand during any low numbers. I have had a few practical experiences of it. Sorry not the best offer but will do my best for you and Silver if need be :-D I'm in the UK so not sure how that ties up with Canada.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

MommaOfMuse said:
There is always someone around. I was more checking to see if like us here in the US had Thursday & Friday off work so you'd be able to grab a few more random spot checksbefore next weekend. But no biggie. Just watching our 10 day window with your vet. :-D.

Its exactly because his pattern is the same, he's not dropping as fast as he was but he's still dropping fast and steep for how Lantus works. It's that going from reds and pinks to blues and even greens in a single cycle that's setting off the swing back up. This is where just having limited testing during the week makes figuring out bounce vs. a smidge too of a dose yet.

But since you're working all week don't sweat we know he's at least safe on 1u and if its just a bounce he should settle some at least.

Mel and The Fur Gang

So what's our overall aim? I'm getting more confused by the day. I know he's "ok" on 1u but I want him more than just ok. All this talk of bouncing is confusing because I think we are guessing. We don't know what goes on in the night. I know he drops faster than the way Lantus usually works but ECID right. They're not all going to respond the same. . Am I one of the only ones on the forum that work full time? I feel you are all saying I can't do the best for Silver because I work.

I'm not meaning to sound off but I'm so frustrated. And I just tested and he's at 22 at +2 - he's never higher at +2. I don't know how much more of this I can take, I really don't. If he rides high again tonight he'll spend all of tomorrow catching up again. I did as you guys said and went down to 1u...I don't think I can justify to my vet putting him down to 0.5 when she wants him at 2u so I really hope that's not what you're saying.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +2=22 - Having a BAD day. Am upset

Silver did have a great middle of the day. I did a partial fur shot last night :oops: which is sort of like a reduced dose for one cycle. I'm feeling your pain today too. The reduced dose can impact later cycles.

This Canadian will also be around next week. Speaking of which, Neosporin is not available in Canada, but you can get the Polysporin Complete gel with pain relief. It's the one with the black and gold markings on the box. A bit of that on the ears does help them heal quickly.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +2=22 - Having a BAD day. Am upset

Thanks Wendy. Guess Im just having an off day.

I have germolene I brought over from the UK. I think that's similar. I'll try it.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver LIGHTS OUT +17.5 Having a BAD day. Am upset

So according to this I should be aiming for blues - around 5.5-10 (100-180) for most of the day - pretty much what he did yesterday - as I cant keep good control during the week as those on the TR forum can right?

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Blood ... guidelines

I need to know where I am aiming. I don't think I will ever shoot greens - definitely not during the week when I am gone.

The SLGS also says "If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same"....so I guess that's what I'll do for now until the next curve next weekend. Give him time to settle at one dose. I have to make some decisions for myself and if these are way off beam, Mel please let me know. My vet said this disease is not micromanageable and I think I get what she was saying. This newbie is done in. :dizcat
 
Re: 11/22 Silver LIGHTS OUT +17.5 Having a BAD day. Am upset

Just a quick note

I'd never heard of Germolene so was looking it up...it looks like the active ingredient is Phenol which is very toxic in cats.

Might want to check and if that's the active ingredient, don't use it on Silver
 
Re: 11/22 Silver LIGHTS OUT +17.5 Having a BAD day. Am upset

Chris & China said:
Just a quick note

I'd never heard of Germolene so was looking it up...it looks like the active ingredient is Phenol which is very toxic in cats.

Might want to check and if that's the active ingredient, don't use it on Silver

Good to know. Thx.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver LIGHTS OUT +17.5 Having a BAD day. Am upset

Well she is right we can't micromanage it, because we are dealing with a living breathing creature, who have feelings and emotions which are variables we can't control. With the limited ability to test because you're working during the week, regulation is yes, probably the best you are going to get for him. But I've seen cats go into remission with being regulated.

Regulation numbers are preshots in the low 200's to the high 100's with nadirs in the 50-120 range. while on insulin

Tightly regulated is most of the day in the 50-120 range while on insulin

Remission (OTJ) is spending most of the time in the 50-120 range without insulin.

Nothing wrong with a well regulated kitty.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

KittyMom777 said:
...

So what's our overall aim? I'm getting more confused by the day. I know he's "ok" on 1u but I want him more than just ok. All this talk of bouncing is confusing because I think we are guessing. We don't know what goes on in the night. I know he drops faster than the way Lantus usually works but ECID right. They're not all going to respond the same. . Am I one of the only ones on the forum that work full time? I feel you are all saying I can't do the best for Silver because I work...

You do the best you can. Some cats get into a stable pattern and remain on insulin forever. They resume normal behavior and they look happy and healthy. And that's OK, too.

It can take a minimum of 3-5 days on a dose to see how it is working for Silver. You've needed to drop and skip because the glucose is coming down quickly, so it hasn't looked stable. It takes some trial and error to find an optimal dose.

Just a note: we eyeball 0.75 units, or eyeball fat or skinny doses by drawing in a hair more or less insulin. Some folks even dose in drops by practicing with a syringe until they can get the same number of equal sized drops from 0.5 units. Those are just some ideas you may find helpful in the future, if not now.
 
Re: 11/22 Silver +10=13.4; PMPS 21.9

BJM said:
KittyMom777 said:
...

Just a note: we eyeball 0.75 units, or eyeball fat or skinny doses by drawing in a hair more or less insulin. Some folks even dose in drops by practicing with a syringe until they can get the same number of equal sized drops from 0.5 units. Those are just some ideas you may find helpful in the future, if not now.

Thanks, I will be getting the half unit syringes next weekend...that might help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top