11/23 Callie AMPS 122, +1 63, +2.5 98, +4.5 109

Yes. Congrats on the reduction! :-)

Looks like she hit her breakthrough dose and is making her way back down the dosing ladder. Anti-jinx!
 
:woot::woot::woot::woot: I won’t even say anything not to jinx it :woot::woot:

i see you switched to raw food :cat::cat: how is Callie doing on it? I remember you were managing food allergies

keep up the great work team Callie and Jessica :bighug::bighug:
Hi Marina! @Marina & Chico. :woot: I KNOW!! :woot: Also trying hard not to jinx it!!!

Thanks for checking in on us :) Yes, we made the food switch and Callie LOVES raw food. I think it has also been really good for her allergies. (Unfortunately, the canned MC I picked was not and we are still working our way out of that.)

How's Chico doing? I hope you are both well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Are you using the AT now?
No, still the Relion for our purposes but our vet asked us to use both when we are in lower numbers because the AT numbers are the numbers the vet understands. It was never really relevant before since Callie has been in higher numbers but it seems like when she gets down below 70s, the AT reads below 68 before the Relion reads below 50.
 
+2.5 98 Callie also had an asthma attack in between :( which might have contributed somewhat to this rise and is definitely contributing to my stress. I gave her a reg LC snack.

When best to test again - +3.5? She had HC w honey at +1 and then a smaller amount of HC mixed into her LC at +1.5.
 
+4.5 109

Do you think it is okay to give her a pokey break until +9.5? I just gave her a LC snack and usually give additional smaller ones at +7 and +9.5.
 
Hi Marina! @Marina & Chico. :woot: I KNOW!! :woot: Also trying hard not to jinx it!!!

Thanks for checking in on us :) Yes, we made the food switch and Callie LOVES raw food. I think it has also been really good for her allergies. (Unfortunately, the canned MC I picked was not and we are still working our way out of that.)

How's Chico doing? I hope you are both well! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
So happy she loved the raw food, it is so much easier not to have to convince them to eat it :cat::cat:
Regarding the higher carb foods, we managed to use just honey when Chico was plummeting, is Callie less carb sensitive? I saw you gave her HC with honey o_O
Hope the astma attack was not too harsh, it is so difficult to see them and not be able to help them more :(:bighug:
 
So happy she loved the raw food, it is so much easier not to have to convince them to eat it :cat::cat:
Regarding the higher carb foods, we managed to use just honey when Chico was plummeting, is Callie less carb sensitive? I saw you gave her HC with honey o_O
Hope the astma attack was not too harsh, it is so difficult to see them and not be able to help them more :(:bighug:
Thanks, Marina. Callie's asthma attack wasn't long and she is okay now but they are always scary. Like you said it is so difficult to watch her struggle to breathe and not be able to do anything. Her asthma had been so well controlled for years - with no attacks at all - and now she's had a few of them just since she was diagnosed with FD in July. I don't know if it is just a coincidence, the stress of all of the sudden changes to diet and routine, or related to the exacerbation of her allergies. When everything hits at once though, it can feel pretty crushing. I just hate it for her.

That's helpful to know that you were able to use just honey when Chico was dropping fast. I'm really still experimenting to figure out what works best for Callie. She doesn't seem very carb sensitive but honestly in that moment today I think I mostly just panicked :nailbiting: because I really wasn't expecting that drop pre-onset today. When I got the reading, I was originally going to use only HC (it's her old food and I had been using it in really small amounts often mixed with her LC because I know she'll eat it and is not allergic to it) but then I got scared that it might not bring her up fast enough and added a couple drops of honey since it works faster. Let's just say we're still very much a work in progress :rolleyes:
 
Hi, Jessica. Callie is getting some really nice numbers. Does she have the asthma attacks often? I don't remember if we ever discussed this but I see in your signature that Callie has IBD. Do you give her anything for that? Forgive me if we have talked about it and I forgot. I am starting to forget a lot of conversations on this site because I am not on it often.
 
Thanks, Marina. Callie's asthma attack wasn't long and she is okay now but they are always scary. Like you said it is so difficult to watch her struggle to breathe and not be able to do anything. Her asthma had been so well controlled for years - with no attacks at all - and now she's had a few of them just since she was diagnosed with FD in July. I don't know if it is just a coincidence, the stress of all of the sudden changes to diet and routine, or related to the exacerbation of her allergies. When everything hits at once though, it can feel pretty crushing. I just hate it for her.

That's helpful to know that you were able to use just honey when Chico was dropping fast. I'm really still experimenting to figure out what works best for Callie. She doesn't seem very carb sensitive but honestly in that moment today I think I mostly just panicked :nailbiting: because I really wasn't expecting that drop pre-onset today. When I got the reading, I was originally going to use only HC (it's her old food and I had been using it in really small amounts often mixed with her LC because I know she'll eat it and is not allergic to it) but then I got scared that it might not bring her up fast enough and added a couple drops of honey since it works faster. Let's just say we're still very much a work in progress :rolleyes:
Chico’s FD came with bowel issues, he still has soft poos even though his blood sugar is under control, i say that just to express my understanding that FD is a symptom of something else happening… at least that is what i managed to catch around the forum, 90% of cats here have other issues as well, some manage to get the other issues under control at least for a while with diet changes…
I really hope that by getting better control of Callies allergies will help with the asthma as well and of course with her blood sugar.

regarding the experimenting, it is really as you say: a trial and error, i remember when we panicked and overhoneyed Chico :D its part of the process but once they get regulated it should get easier, their patterns get a bit more predictable and we get better at knowing what to expect. We have our paws crossed for you two:cat:
 
Chico’s FD came with bowel issues, he still has soft poos even though his blood sugar is under control, i say that just to express my understanding that FD is a symptom of something else happening… at least that is what i managed to catch around the forum, 90% of cats here have other issues as well, some manage to get the other issues under control at least for a while with diet changes…
I really hope that by getting better control of Callies allergies will help with the asthma as well and of course with her blood sugar.

regarding the experimenting, it is really as you say: a trial and error, i remember when we panicked and overhoneyed Chico :D its part of the process but once they get regulated it should get easier, their patterns get a bit more predictable and we get better at knowing what to expect. We have our paws crossed for you two:cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi, Jessica. Callie is getting some really nice numbers. Does she have the asthma attacks often? I don't remember if we ever discussed this but I see in your signature that Callie has IBD. Do you give her anything for that? Forgive me if we have talked about it and I forgot. I am starting to forget a lot of conversations on this site because I am not on it often.
Hi Summer, thanks for checking in on us. Nice to see you on the boards! Callie was diagnosed with IBD soon after she was diagnosed with asthma and the vet thought both conditions could be related to her allergies/ EGC. Callie had been on pred for a short time for her asthma before we switched to inhaled steroids and we had to put her back on it for her IBD. We were eventually able to wean Callie off the pred when we changed her diet to novel and then hydrolyzed proteins and Callie has mostly been doing well as far as her IBD symptoms go.

She was also doing really well with her asthma - no attacks in years - until just after she was diagnosed with FD in July. I'm not really sure what exactly is triggering these attacks now :( Could be a lot of diff things: stress, her allergies, change of season, and/or something in the air/environment. We just got another air filter, cut out the MC food she seemed to react badly to and upped her asthma and allergy meds so hopefully we'll get a handle on it again soon.
How are you doing? And how is your adorable Boo? :cat:
 
OMG I can't believe I did this - I just realized that when I decreased Callie's dose to "4.75" on 11/19, I was actually filling the syringe to the 4.5 mark. I have no idea how I managed to suddenly think that there were .25 marks on the syringes but apparently I did and I was consistently filling them that same way and giving her 4.5U instead of 4.75U for the last 8 cycles.

She actually earned another reduction today (guess she's really on a mission in spite of the mess I made) so I just want to make sure that I should now reduce to 4.25 tonight.
 
Hi Summer, thanks for checking in on us. Nice to see you on the boards! Callie was diagnosed with IBD soon after she was diagnosed with asthma and the vet thought both conditions could be related to her allergies/ EGC. Callie had been on pred for a short time for her asthma before we switched to inhaled steroids and we had to put her back on it for her IBD. We were eventually able to wean Callie off the pred when we changed her diet to novel and then hydrolyzed proteins and Callie has mostly been doing well as far as her IBD symptoms go.

She was also doing really well with her asthma - no attacks in years - until just after she was diagnosed with FD in July. I'm not really sure what exactly is triggering these attacks now :( Could be a lot of diff things: stress, her allergies, change of season, and/or something in the air/environment. We just got another air filter, cut out the MC food she seemed to react badly to and upped her asthma and allergy meds so hopefully we'll get a handle on it again soon.
How are you doing? And how is your adorable Boo? :cat:
You are so fortunate that the IBD isn't a big problem. Sounds like you are doing everything right, Jessica. I am good and my Boo is quite the character. Thank you for remembering his name and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your exceptionally beautiful Callie!
 
Back
Top