? 11/23- Bear- amps 248, 6+ 229.. dosage increase?

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
11/17 post

i was hoping someone could take a look at bear’s sheet and see how we’re doing.. im not really sure what to make of the data or how to understand if we’re headed in the right direction/how he’s responding? Is it time for a dosage increase back to 0.50? Thank you!
 
The link to your previous post here: 11/21-BEAR- dosage?-AMPS 317, 6+ 301. Sorry no one got back to you on this that day. I was out of town.

I think you have enough data to say that you can increase him to 0.5 units. When following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve somewhere in there, and if you aren't seeing nadirs (plural) in the 90-149 range, then you increase by 0.25 units. Good luck with the new dose.

Is it possible for you to get any tests at night after PMPS? Even a +2 or +3? You are missing data on half the cycles, and many cats go lower at night. I still think you have enough data for that increase. You've been on this dose longer than 7 days.
 
The link to your previous post here: 11/21-BEAR- dosage?-AMPS 317, 6+ 301. Sorry no one got back to you on this that day. I was out of town.

I think you have enough data to say that you can increase him to 0.5 units. When following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve somewhere in there, and if you aren't seeing nadirs (plural) in the 90-149 range, then you increase by 0.25 units. Good luck with the new dose.

Is it possible for you to get any tests at night after PMPS? Even a +2 or +3? You are missing data on half the cycles, and many cats go lower at night. I still think you have enough data for that increase. You've been on this dose longer than 7 days.
Thanks Wendy! We are looking at getting him a libre even if not permanently, to help with the pm portion of the tests..
i was hoping to do another curve yesterday but ive been sick the last few days, so ive just been spot checking him when i can around the +6 mark before he has his lunch.
This may be a silly question but why do they go lower at night?
 
Good luck with the increase, Vanessa.
If you have any questions about using a Libre CGM, feel free to ask me, I use one all the time with Ivy.

And you can read about using one here
Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

Also, at the bottom of the page linked above there’s a coupon to use for $19.99 to buy a Libre (we aren’t sure how long this coupon will be good for, normally they cost around $30-60 each, depending on where you live and how competent your pharmacy is finding coupons for them).
And you need a prescription from your vet to buy them.

I install and remove them myself, so it’s less stressful for my cat and me (and way less expensive).
😻
 
Good luck with the increase, Vanessa.
If you have any questions about using a Libre CGM, feel free to ask me, I use one all the time with Ivy.

And you can read about using one here
Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

Also, at the bottom of the page linked above there’s a coupon to use for $19.99 to buy a Libre (we aren’t sure how long this coupon will be good for, normally they cost around $30-60 each, depending on where you live and how competent your pharmacy is finding coupons for them).
And you need a prescription from your vet to buy them.

I install and remove them myself, so it’s less stressful for my cat and me (and way less expensive).
😻
Thanks Staci! I am going to read over the information and i will respond with any questions.. I am assuming you are in the US? We dont need scripts here in canada for diabetes supplies, however the cost is quite different. I believe i read its $119 for the sensors here? I could be wrong.. if any 🇨🇦 would like to weigh in on this!
 
if any 🇨🇦 would like to weigh in on this!
If you have a Facebook account, try posting on the Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats group. They have a ton of members all over and are great for answering questions like this. I ran a little search for you and here's a post from a couple months ago:
1763998719900.png


1763998771656.png
 
Thanks Staci! I am going to read over the information and i will respond with any questions.. I am assuming you are in the US? We dont need scripts here in canada for diabetes supplies, however the cost is quite different. I believe i read its $119 for the sensors here? I could be wrong.. if any 🇨🇦 would like to weigh in on this!
Yes I’m in the US. Sorry I didn’t know you are in CA.

Lauren is right, check with the Facebook group and see what you can find from other Canadian members who may be able to help!

Let us know if we can help 💖
 
Back
Top