11/22, Pookey, AMPS 328, +2 313, +8 276, PMPS 255, +2 305

Tim & Pookey

Member Since 2024
Administrator
I might have been inclined to catch a +4 last night since it looks like Pookey came down significantly from preshot to +3. Usually when a +2, or in this case a +3 is lower than preshot, it’s a good idea to check again to see if the numbers are continuing to drop and by how much after the insulin kicks in.

Curves in the pm cycle are slightly more difficult, since the idea is to get tests every 2 -3 hours, depending on whether you are doing a 12 hour or 18 hour curve. The 18 hour curve would give you tests every 3 hours which would be useful in seeing BG in both am and pm cycles.

This is one of the reasons to do spot checks, since a curve on one given day is good, but from my POV the additional daily data are worth their weight in gold, since they help determine generally where the cat onsets, nadirs and what duration they get on a dose so you can see how the dose is working.
 
I might have been inclined to catch a +4 last night since it looks like Pookey came down significantly from preshot to +3. Usually when a +2, or in this case a +3 is lower than preshot, it’s a good idea to check again to see if the numbers are continuing to drop and by how much after the insulin kicks in.

Curves in the pm cycle are slightly more difficult, since the idea is to get tests every 2 -3 hours, depending on whether you are doing a 12 hour or 18 hour curve. The 18 hour curve would give you tests every 3 hours which would be useful in seeing BG in both am and pm cycles.

This is one of the reasons to do spot checks, since a curve on one given day is good, but from my POV the additional daily data are worth their weight in gold, since they help determine generally where the cat onsets, nadirs and what duration they get on a dose so you can see how the dose is working.
Thanks Christie! Noted about the test after decrease after preshot. How much of a drop would justify you going back for another test?
 
You are welcome :). Until you get more familiar with Pookey’s patterns, I’d say more than a 20% drop from preshot to +2 would make me want to see another test or two between +3-+5. It would also give you a chance to intervene with some higher than usual carbs if you need to.
 
You are welcome :). Until you get more familiar with Pookey’s patterns, I’d say more than a 20% drop from preshot to +2 would make me want to see another test or two between +3-+5. It would also give you a chance to intervene with some higher than usual carbs if you need to.
Awesome! Will do. I just haven’t seen him dip below 200 yet at all, so that scenario hasn’t been front of mind. But probably should be.
 
Yup, I agree, just some things to think about as you start to get a feel for Pookey’s response to insulin. Although it’s possible he may have snuck on down to high blues last night, or not. My shenanigan meter is a bit rusty :p
 
Yup, I agree, just some things to think about as you start to get a feel for Pookey’s response to insulin. Although it’s possible he may have snuck on down to high blues last night, or not. My shenanigan meter is a bit rusty :p
He must have heard us talking about shenanigans… he just woke up from a crazy dream. I bet something about donuts, pizza, etc…
 
Well, Bella's SS did not look good a few weeks from her diagnostic, I think you are doing great! And you're here already, which is the best way to regulate him. In my opinion at least :bighug:
 
Well, Bella's SS did not look good a few weeks from her diagnostic, I think you are doing great! And you're here already, which is the best way to regulate him. In my opinion at least :bighug:
Thank you for the kind words, that means a lot! This community makes me so happy that people are genuinely helpful and are doing the right thing for their furry friends. :bighug:
 
Back
Top