11/22, Pookey, AMPS 328, +2 313, +8 276, PMPS 255, +2 305

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tim & Pookey, Nov 22, 2024.

  1. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
  2. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I might have been inclined to catch a +4 last night since it looks like Pookey came down significantly from preshot to +3. Usually when a +2, or in this case a +3 is lower than preshot, it’s a good idea to check again to see if the numbers are continuing to drop and by how much after the insulin kicks in.

    Curves in the pm cycle are slightly more difficult, since the idea is to get tests every 2 -3 hours, depending on whether you are doing a 12 hour or 18 hour curve. The 18 hour curve would give you tests every 3 hours which would be useful in seeing BG in both am and pm cycles.

    This is one of the reasons to do spot checks, since a curve on one given day is good, but from my POV the additional daily data are worth their weight in gold, since they help determine generally where the cat onsets, nadirs and what duration they get on a dose so you can see how the dose is working.
     
  3. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thanks Christie! Noted about the test after decrease after preshot. How much of a drop would justify you going back for another test?
     
  4. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    You are welcome :). Until you get more familiar with Pookey’s patterns, I’d say more than a 20% drop from preshot to +2 would make me want to see another test or two between +3-+5. It would also give you a chance to intervene with some higher than usual carbs if you need to.
     
  5. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Awesome! Will do. I just haven’t seen him dip below 200 yet at all, so that scenario hasn’t been front of mind. But probably should be.
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  6. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Yup, I agree, just some things to think about as you start to get a feel for Pookey’s response to insulin. Although it’s possible he may have snuck on down to high blues last night, or not. My shenanigan meter is a bit rusty :p
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  7. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    He must have heard us talking about shenanigans… he just woke up from a crazy dream. I bet something about donuts, pizza, etc…
     
  8. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    Hi Tim! He must be like my Bella then, always dreaming about food :cat:
    It's nice to see yellows already and not as many pinks!
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  9. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Yes, I would say overall there has been some improvement... We aspire to have a SS as nice looking as Bella’s though!
     
  10. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    Well, Bella's SS did not look good a few weeks from her diagnostic, I think you are doing great! And you're here already, which is the best way to regulate him. In my opinion at least :bighug:
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  11. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thank you for the kind words, that means a lot! This community makes me so happy that people are genuinely helpful and are doing the right thing for their furry friends. :bighug:
     
  12. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You're doing a great job with Pookey .We are one big happy family here Tim :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    He's one handsome dude :cat:
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  14. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thanks Diane :cat: He was modeling for us the other night so thought that deserved a new profile pic.
     
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I
    I Can see that lol, I just love his coloring . Orange cats are my favorites In that pic I can hear him saying come on ladies come and get me :p:p
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.

Share This Page