11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +11 310 TRACE KETONES

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
Good Morning all!
It was another interesting day/night yesterday. I had a lot of help last night and am in need of some help this morning. Mikey's AMBG is 391. I'm not sure if I need to give him insulin now or I can wait until 11am as we were planning. Also, Can he eat now?

If I remember correctly how to post, this is the thread from last night viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56876
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

Hold on. I'm trying to catch up with yesterday's condo. Give me a minute.
Did you last shoot at 11:00pm?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

Good morning Jennifer,

I don't have any advice but this will bump your post up.

You got advice from the best of the best last night and I'm sure someone with experience will come along soon.

You are doing great!
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

His last shot was at 2:20pm yesterday and it was just .5u. I was hoping to get him on an 11am/11pm schedule starting this morning but with his BG at 391 this morning I wasn't sure if I could wait. Marjorie also told me to hold off on food before someone advises on the BG#
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

That was a big condo, yesterday. Unfortunately, I only had time to quickly scan through it.
It looks like you skipped the AM shot, but shot a token dose at 2:20pm, and then you skipped the PM shot. Is that correct?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

From what I read quickly, I am guessing that your ideal shot schedule is an 11:00am/11:00pm?
If you want to change the shot schedule to 11:00am today, then you can feed him now, and wait 4 more hours (until 11:00am) to give the dose. But, I would just feed him the 1 time, no more after 8:00am.

Or, if your schedule allows you to work up to your ideal shot schedule, you could shoot at 10:00am this morning and then:
10:15pm tonight
10:30am tomorrow morning
10:45pm tomorrow night
and finally 11:00am on Wednesday morning
If you want to move a shot schedule, it's best to do it in 15 minute increments, to least affect the cat.

You can also move it by 30 minutes per day:
10:00am/10:00pm Today
10:30am/10:30pm Tomorrow
11:00am/11:00pm on Wednesday.
This way would have a little more affect on his numbers.

I'm sure you were told, yesterday, that every early shot is like a dose increase and every late shot is like a dose decrease.
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

Hi Jennifer,

I just read through your condo from yesterday. I'm pretty new to all of this an don't give advice. I can see where all your confusion is coming from! I think from the advice I saw from yesterday that this morning is a good time to set to the schedule that will work best for you.
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

Dyana-your suggestion sounds perfect. I will do the 15 minute increments. I want to do whats best for Mikey and his #'s.

I just fed him at 7:25am I will test him before and then shoot at 10am? Am I only shooting depending on the BG# or shooting no matter what the BG# is?

Also, where in his SS do I enter the BG # from this morning since it's not an AMPS, or is it?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

Personally, I would wait until 11:00 if that's your preferred shot time. When you skip shots, especially if you've skipped 2 shots, it's not a surprise that numbers are high. If you were to shoot now, it would take quite a few days to migrate your shot time by 30 min. per day to an 11:00 time.
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 391 at 6:19am

10:14 AM BG 352. He's eating now and got 1.5u. Can someone advise me how to log that in the SS?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

Hi guys .. don't think I got a chance to stop into mikey's condo yesterday, so welcome from us! Don't have any dosing/schedule advice but looks like others have you covered on that! Have a great day!
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

Good morning, Jennifer.

I would put the 352 in the AMPS column, you always put the preshot test there. The note you put in the comments of the 6:20 test is fine....I would just add a note that you moved the shot time to 10:15am. It's hard to enter big time shifts into the SS accurately, so don't worry too much about it.

I don't know if you saw my question in last night's condo....are you testing for ketones? Do you need help with that?

If you can get a test or two in during this cycle, it will help you start to gather data so you can see how the dose is working. Will you be home to get a +3 or so?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

I went based on Dyana's post

Or, if your schedule allows you to work up to your ideal shot schedule, you could shoot at 10:00am this morning and then:
10:15pm tonight
10:30am tomorrow morning
10:45pm tomorrow night
and finally 11:00am on Wednesday morning
If you want to move a shot schedule, it's best to do it in 15 minute increments, to least affect the cat.

I was planning to shoot at 10am but it was 10:14 when I looked at the clock. With the above I will shoot at 10:30 tonight, 10:45 tomorrow am, 11:00 tomorrow pm and then 11:15 wednesday morning and 11:15 wednesday night. Did I recalculate that correctly?

I read Dyana's post that by doing this it was the least affect to Mikey to get to the time I preferred. Did I misunderstand?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

No one had mentioned testing for ketones so I have not been. I do have the ketone test strips. Is there somewhere you can direct me to see how to perform the test?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

also regarding the ketones, he just had blood work done on friday 11-18-11 i have the results which state ketone was negative. Do I still need to test? His prior labs show no ketones either.
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

You should be testing for ketones regularly...it's important. It can turn into an expensive, life threatening emergency if he has ketones and you don't catch and treat it right away. Just because he didn't have ketones Friday doesn't mean he can't develop them. Just think of it as an insurance policy.

You need to get a urine sample to test. If you can catch him peeing, you can just stick the strip in his urine stream. You need to read the test after 15 seconds. Be sure to follow the instructions on the bottle.

If you can't catch him peeing, there are other ways to get a sample. Does he have a separate area that you can confine him in with a litter box? You can replace the litter with aquarium gravel, it won't affect the test so you can dip the strip in the urine directly. Or, put a piece of saran wrap on top of the litter in an area where he likes to pee....tuck the corners in the litter. He will (hopefully) leave a puddle on the wrap, and you can dip the strip in it.
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMPS 352 10:14am

I think Dyana was basing her information on your having shot. If you skip a shot, there's 24 hours from your last shot. As long as you are shooting more than 12 hours from your last shot, you can give your insulin at any time. Sometimes, when the schedule has gotten totally out of whack, the best option is to skip and get back on track or use the skipped shot as a way to move your shot time to a more convenient time.

I'm sorry if this was confusing. It was clear to me but I'm familiar with the particulars. If you're not sure or feel like we're overwhelming you with information, please either summarize what you think is the best course of action or ask us to help lay it out is a way that's clearer to you.

(All of this is completely overwhelming in the beginning. You'll get the hang of it -- I promise!)
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 423 +2

Hi Jennifer,
I was planning to shoot at 10am but it was 10:14 when I looked at the clock. With the above I will shoot at 10:30 tonight, 10:45 tomorrow am, 11:00 tomorrow pm and then 11:15 wednesday morning and 11:15 wednesday night. Did I recalculate that correctly?

If your goal is to have your normal shot times be 11:15 AM and PM, then this is correct. 15 minutes per cycle until you get to where you want to be.

If/when you get to a point where you are not sure if (or how much) you should dose at the regular time (like what happened a couple times yesterday), just post the question here, give everyone a few minutes to see it and respond to it, and then move forward based on that advice. There is usually always someone here. If not, post your question on health, with a link to the thread you have in Lantus.

If all else fails, and you need a quick answer, go to the main index page, look at the bottom. There is a link there titled "Who is Online". Clicking on that will bring up a list of everyone currently on the board. Find a name you know from Lantus if possible, and click on it, then send them a PM to get their attention. Above all, don't panic. I have been on this board at all times of the day or night, and I have never seen a time when I am the only one here. You are never alone! Sometimes you just need to give them a few minutes to get back to you.

Carl
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 423 +2

I can actually keep him at 10:15/10:15 until it is a better time for me to switch. His number did go up to 423 +2. What is my next step? Test him at +3?
 
Re: 11-21-11 Mikey AMBG 423 +2

Good morning all especially Jennifer and Mikey:

Jennifer: good job last night; just some quick housekeeping.
The only way to change your subject line permanently is to go to the first post of the day and click on "edit", change it, and then click "submit". If you try to change it in a subsequent post, it won't change. So his subject line right now should read:
11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +2 423

It's best to keep it brief like that because as he comes down and you have to post more numbers, you'll need the space.

To answer your question, you don't need to test him at +3; because he's filling his shed, I'd probably wait a few cycles to do a mini curve so you can test him again at +4 or +5 today and see where he is. The +2 is just showing he has a food spike which is good. Also, to clarify....last night I wanted to be sure that you did not feed him two hours prior to shot time. It's ok to feed four hours prior if he's starving but we don't want a food spike between +10 and PS because you want to shoot a "true" number and not a food influenced number.

I think if you are going to leave him at the 10:15 shot time, that is fine but if you need him to be at 11, then just follow Dyana's instructions and when you get to 11 (in 15 min increments), then just hold it there and shoot consistently at 11 am/pm.

Just as a summary of last night, the plan was for Jennifer to shoot 1.5u at +10 from his last shot which had been at 2:20 pm IF his BG was 370 or higher. In that scenario, Jennifer was going to shoot early and I was going to keep checking on her. However, at that time, Mikey had dropped quite a bit (to mid 200s) so shooting the full dose was off the table. I toyed with having her shoot a reduced dose again but read back through all Libby's, Sienne's, and Laurie's earlier comments and decided it was really not prudent since we don't know what Mikey will do and the +10 was a significantly dropping number....I didn't want to throw a newbie ;-) into shooting a dropping number two hours early. Plan B was to have her shoot at +12 which would have been 2:20 am EST. Jennifer was tired and was worried about being able to wake to test low numbers, with my cold I wasn't sure if I'd be able to rouse myself to keep track, and based on earlier conversations, it just seemed safer and better to let her skip and get him on track this morning.

So...here we are ....moving forward. I think Jennifer has a plan....so, Jennifer....pick your time that you are going to consistently shoot and if it's 10:15, then let's stay there with it. If it's 11, then move it like Dyana said and you'll be golden.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +2 423

Thanks for the housekeeping tip. Eventually I will figure those out ;)

I would like to get him to 11am/11pm so I will follow Dyana's recommendation as long as that is safe to do for MIkey now.

Just to clarify. I fed him after his shot this morning at 10:15. You said to test him at +4 or +5 (2 or 3 pm) So the next time he can eat is either +5 or +6 (3pm or 4pm) depending on when I test him? I didn't shoot him last night. The last time he ate was about 9pm and then not until his shot this morning at 10:15
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +2 423

Jennifer,
I didn't know the answer to this question, so I did the "newbie" thing and looked at all the "stickies" on the index page. In the TR sticky, I found this:
Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.
That's the only thing I could find regarding feeding schedules.

I think, and not a Lantus user, that as long as you are aware of when he eats throughout the day, you can take into account any food boost rise in BG numbers when you get that mid-cycle test in. If he eats at +4 and you test at +5, as long as you noted that he ate x amount at +4, you (and others) would understand any food spike.

Of course, I think with Lantus, like any other insulin, the recommendation is that there is no food in the system for 2 hours prior to the AMPS and PMPS tests.

It wouldn't seem logical to me that "free feeding" was okay if you couldn't actually "free feed" mid cycle. But like I said, I'm not a Lantus user.

Carl
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +2 423

Jennifer:

On the feeding....he can eat anytime except two hours before his next shot....not his next test. So if you shot at 10:15 this morning and you are shooting at 10:30 tonight, then please don't feed him between 8:30-10:30 tonight. You can feed him then at shot time.

Most of us have our kitties on a feeding schedule as the FD seem to do well with consistency in feeding. Some do free feed canned food. Many feed on a PS, +1, +2, +3 schedule with maybe a very LC snack like boiled chicken breast or freeze-dried chicken treats about +5. Once Mikey's shed is filled and you can do a mini-curve, it will be easier to see when might be a good time to feed him. For now, you can feed him when he's hungry although don't overfeed him just because he's FD and just avoid the two hours before the a.m. and p.m. shot times. It also helps to not feed after his nadir if possible unless it is a low carb snack like the chicken breast. Typically feeding after nadir causes the insulin effect to diminish....not always...every cat is different (ECID) which you will hear us say alot.

Also....for testing times outside of the two hours before PS, if he's hungry and you need to test him ....always test before you feed. Then you can feed him right after. So, for example, I feed Gracie on a PS, +2, +4, +5 schedule with a snack at +3. If I am testing at, say +4, I test her first, then immediately feed her. You don't want your tests to be food-influenced numbers. You will learn how long it takes him to show the effect on the BG from food.

The more data you can collect on that kind of thing, too, the better you will be at managing his curve with food when you need to. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see I keep track of when we feed and what we feed. You don't have to do that now as everything is overwhelming but put it in the back of your mind because it helps you learn how they react to food.

Please continue to ask questions. We are here to help you. SUbject line looks great!!! :-D
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

Just want to make sure I am giving Mikey his shot tonight at 10:30(to get to 11) and it will be 1.5 u? His BG +5 was 343
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

That is correct: 1.5u at 10:30. If you get a number at or below 200, don't feed, post and ask for help. ok?

Tues morning shot time: 10:45
Tues evening shot time: 11....and you're there!!

ETA: I'd get another test in this afternoon....Maybe +8 and see how much he is coming down or whether he's going back up.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

That sounds exactly right. You can move your shot time by 15 min. every shot time until you are at the time you want to give Mikey his insulin. If you are able to continue to get at least one spot check each cycle (in addition to your pre-shot tests) and there is no dramatic difference in Mikey's numbers, after 3 days of spot checks, you can evaluate and then consider increasing his dose.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

I was going to get another test this afternoon. I will aim for +8 and post. If at 10:30pm when I test if he is in or below 200 i will post first and wait for reply.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

I did test his ketones and they are normal to trace. The saran wrap in the litter idea worked like a charm!
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

A negative ketone test is always reassuring!!

If you can get the test a little before your shot time, that would be great. It will give us a small window in order to respond before your shot time.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

I was going to get a BG # at +8 and then also a PMPS. Should I just do the PMPS?
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

I would get a +11 for sure, so you have time to post and get answers if you are unsure what to do. +8 is up to you. IMHO you can't have too much data, but if it's a struggle to test him, and his shed is still filling, you could skip the +8.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +5 343

Jennifer PMed me asking about frequency of ketone testing. She said that the ketone test she did was between trace and negative. I suggested that she test her own urine to see what negative looks like. Now that she has done that, she thinks his ketone test is either trace or small ketones. I suggested we discuss it here to get other people's input.

Jennifer, I have no direct ketone experience. With that said, I would start adding extra water to Mikey's food...that helps flush ketones out. I would also try to get another ketone test as soon as you can. Those levels can change pretty rapidly. How is Mikey eating? Is he acting lethargic?

Another thought.....check the expiration date on your ketone strip bottle. Is it a new bottle, or has it been opened for a while?

I would also put "Trace Ketones" in your header to get other people with experience to visit.

(I agree with Anne on the BG testing....if it's hard to test him, skip the +8. You can never have too much data though.)
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322

It's very hard to answer your most common questions. Mikey is a 911 rescue. His owner was days away from having him put down. Mikey has changed behavior so much from last Sunday night when we got him. You have to remember he was with his prior owner since he was 7 weeks old (he is not almost 10yrs). She was not giving him insulin every 12 hours regularly and she was giving him dry food and prescription M/D wet food. We also have reason to believe that as much as she loved him it was not the most stable environment. The car ride home he was able to be pet the whole way (about an hour ride) and never hissed or growled.

He came to me last Sunday night, a home with 15 extremely bonded cats. I kept him in the bathroom (aka "safe" room) so that he was away from my cats, could relax and we could easily get a handle on him. I would feed him while administering his insulin and he would growl the whole time I was in there. This lasted about 3 days as did his hissing (at us and my cats) and biting (not breaking the skin, but not love bites either) He is front declawed which is lucky for us but in rescue I have seen several declawed owner surrender cats that become more "defensive/aggressive" than the cats that are not declawed. He started "pawing" on the door of the bathroom the second day wanting to come out. I would tell him "it's a jungle out there" so relax. The next 2 days he was allowed out of the bathroom in intervals. He was very hissy at my cats and sometimes they would bat paws. I didn't have a whole lot of data because immediatley my concern was to make sure he was adjusting, no longer on dry food and getting on schedule with the shots. He was so stressed from being moved it was very difficult to test him. I also, due to "bean error" gave him an extra shot one day last week and then he got hold of dry food. Today, he is here exactly ONE week and has really been dry food free since friday and has not been on a regular shot shedule yet. To be honest, I have no clue what his real character is and what is out of character. He has started to eat much less (from 4+ cans a day to 2) he is much more loving, he doesn't growl anymore when he eats, doesn't hiss at us beans at all (just a few of the cats) and if I can learn to post some pictures you will see he is getting very comfortable sleeping in my bathroom sink. So when you ask is he eating? yes, but much less than a week ago, is he lethargic? compared to his hissy fits last week and being restless to sit down i don't know if he's "calmer" or lethargic. I just went to see him now and he is resting. He picked his chin up for me to scratch. Earlier today he was playing under the door with a feather teaser but the majority of the day he slept. I am still trying to learn what his natural state is because we have changed so much in such a short time.

It was a new bottle of stix that I opened. I put todays date as I do know they last only about 6 months. For my sanity, and since it was rather easy for him to pee on the saran wrap I will test for ketones as often as you think I should. Now that he is calmer and I am calmer also, it's much easier to test his BG's. It is actually very easy now that I started to use the rice sock or we will shower with him in the room and it warms him up.

I was planning to feed him a 1/2 cup but it was less than that and when I just checked on him he didn't eat it all. He did start having diarrhea and spit a little hair up last night. He still has diarrhea this morning. But his diet has changed in one week so that is usually expected. He was drinking much more last week than he is now. I don't know if that is normal because of the new changes/environment.

I'm sorry I wrote so much, I just felt I needed to tell you what is going on in my head when you ask me a "basic" question. I'm going to leave the saran wrap in the litter and get another test tonight for ketones now that i have a better "normal" to compare it to.

I will post the PMPS # and wait to see what you all think I should do. Is that correct or am I just giving him the 1.5u at 10:30pm?
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

Hi there!

Mikey has been through a whole lot of changes - I'm sure it's hard to know which end is up!

Like Laurie pointed out, ketone lelvels *can* change quite rapidly. I've been there twice with Black Kitty - you want to do all possible to avoid it.
The basic recipe for ketones is:
an infection somewhere + not enough insulin + not enough calories.

Mix as much water as he will tolerate into his wet food- keeping well hydrated is important and the extra water can help flush the ketones from his system.
even though Black Kitty has been OTJ for 2 years, I still mix water into his food.

Don't skip shots - even if it means temporarily feeding a higher carb food until the ketones are negative. Do you have HC food on hand?

How much does Mikey weigh?

ETA - please post the number before you shoot tonight
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

I am not an expert at DKA either but now that we see this "trace" on him, I agree with Sandy that we need to be vigilant to be sure he gets his insulin. She has good ideas about water in the food and we
also do that for all our cats...diabetic or not....a tsp of water in every helping of canned food and Gracie gets two tsps with each helping. If you have a kitty water fountain, that might also encourage
him to drink more.

Thank you for explaining everything to everyone, Jennifer. It is very important that we all know whatever history you have on him. You're doing a great job acclimating him and he's a lucky boy.
If there is any change in his ketones in terms of getting a higher reading, I'd vote for a vet visit.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

I don't know if I'm right, and it's just a hunch, but I have seen a bunch of people come home from vacations to a cat with DKA, as I did. I wonder if stress also plays a part in ketones. Maybe some Rescue Remedy would help him, in this new environment.
Sending No More Ketones vines to Mikey.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

He is 13.8 lbs.

I do have HC food here as well as Karo syrup (I know that was recommended for hypo)

I will post his PMPS which should be around 10:15 so I have some time to get a reply. I need to shoot at 10:30

I am taking one of my cats to the vet tomorrow and depending on how the night goes I might just have Mikey tag along with us :)
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

his BG 310 at 10:13 pm

there has not been another urine sample for me to test :(

i am to shoot 1.5 u at 10:30?
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey AMPS 352 +8 322 TRACE KETONES

Again I'd like to suggest getting a +11 and posting that number. Pmps at 10:15 and needing to shoot at 10:30 does not allow much time for you to get help - IF you need it. What will end up happening is you'll be late with Mikey's shot, and you don't want to do that. A +11 will give you and everyone here an idea of where he is going, so you'll kind of have an idea whether or not you'll even NEED help at shot time. Just my 2 cents...again ;-)
 
that was my misunderstanding so I should have done a test at +11 or @9:30pm. The last I remember reading was to get a +8 which I believe I did. So now what?
 
I'd go ahead and shoot your 1.5u tonight.

As others have said, try to get as much fluid into Mikey as possible. If the next ketone test shows more than trace ketones, please get Mikey to the vet with you tomorrow. Ketones can develop quickly and be life threatening. It's great that you're testing.
 
Thank you Sienne,
I was just about to butt in and say "shoot" since it was past 10:30.

Great job today, Jenn

Carl
 
I did give Mikey his food with some water. He just pooped and it was a little thicker than it has been, but the smell, UGH!

Should I be testing him tonight? If so at what intervals? I'd like to get a few hours of sleep if I can.

I will be up for a few more hours (luckily sleep isn't too valued here, lol) and I hope to get another urine test done. I will post it if i do.

Thanks Carl. There are so many reasons, all good, why I have chosen to take on this challenge.
 
Jennifer,
We all do what we can with the testing. IF you are going to be up for a few hours, and IF you and Mikey are up for it, then you CAN get another test at +2 or +3. In the big picture of things, the more data you have, the easier it is to make sense of it. Every test has value.
But, don't go sleepless over it. He had a higher than 300 ps, and he'll be fine overnight. He's had 5 ear pokes since breakfast. Don't run yourself into the ground. There will be times in the coming weeks where you may have to stay up really late or all night (kitties only seem to do the "low" thing when it interferes with our lives the most - it's a kitty conspiracy!). Tonight, go ahead and get some rest. Recharge the batteries. If you get a test in, good. If not, that's okay too. And if you can catch him mid-peeing, even better!

Carl
 
Good job Jennifer.

Many of us learned to "sleep test" - set the alarm on the mobile phone, wake up enough for a quick spot check, then back to bed.

I recommend that just like tonight, you get a +11 and post in the morning, to help out the folks that are able to help if needed.

Good idea about bringing him along to the vet.
 
Jennifer:

I, like Laurie and Sienne (in fact, I believe Sienne taught me this) am a HUGE fan of always getting a +2. We don't know yet if Mikey will be one of those "steady as he goes" or whether he'll be a kitty that likes to dive. The +2 "should" be about the same as your PS. If it is lower by more than the meter variance, I'd be attentive to the rest of the cycle. Here is what a normal lantus cycle should look like:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Remember ECID and the nadir not only can be different between cats but also between cycles so don't get too married to the nadir. But you should see the +2 near the PS and then onset around +3/+4. So I'd get at least a +2 and then if you are up after that, get a before bed test (as long as it's not just 30 mins later). That should be plenty for tonight unless the +2 is markedly lower than the PS. I'll be headed to bed close to your +2 but I'll check in before I do.

Hope you rest well tonight. Good job today.
 
I will at least get a +2 for tonight

I have never been so happy to walk in on someone (some kitty) peeing! I was able to get another keto stix to test. Its hard to say. So of course I had to do my own again to compare. The difference is that mine is absolutely negative right away it's beige with really no pinkish tone in it. (on this bottle the more pink it has the more like to have ketones) I would still say Mikey is at least at the Trace box. Since it's so easy to get the sample, and isn't invasive to him (he's getting poked enough) I will test as often as I can just to be sure.
 
Re: 11/21 Mikey PMPS 310 +2 315 TRACE KETONES

I think the subject line is correct to reflect the latest BG. At 12:35am his BG was 315.

Is it safe to assume I test him at around 6am tomorrow, post the number and then determine if he gets a shot at 11am?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top