11/20, Pookey, AMPS 255, +7 276, PMPS 285

Tim & Pookey

Member Since 2024
Administrator
Good morning,

Yesterday’s post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...291-6-259-pmps-300-3-317.295823/#post-3221522

I’m curious today about pet meters versus human meters.

All the numbers in the stickies here refer to human meter numbers… are there numbers I should be looking at for a pet meter? Or are they generally the same?

upload_2024-11-20_7-17-16.jpeg


From the sticky (if no good understanding of the cat yet):
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Have a safe Wednesday!

Thank you. - Tim
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-20_7-17-16.jpeg
    upload_2024-11-20_7-17-16.jpeg
    77.7 KB · Views: 185
Good morning,

Yesterday’s post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...291-6-259-pmps-300-3-317.295823/#post-3221522

I’m curious today about pet meters versus human meters.

All the numbers in the stickies here refer to human meter numbers… are there numbers I should be looking at for a pet meter? Or are they generally the same?

View attachment 71451

From the sticky (if no good understanding of the cat yet):
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
Have a safe Wednesday!

Thank you. - Tim
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Did you see this part on top of the Sticky Note for Dosing Methods:
THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS.

The numbers are not the same, though closer in lower numbers where it counts. Generally the AT will read higher, though the last time someone did detailed comparisons, it was with the AT2 which is a different technology. Even with the AT2, occasionally the pet meter would read lower than a human meter in low numbers. The important part is that our dosing methods were developed with human meters, so that's what we recommend.

If you are using the AT and following SLGS for dosing, take the numbers at face value.
 
Did you see this part on top of the Sticky Note for Dosing Methods:


The numbers are not the same, though closer in lower numbers where it counts. Generally the AT will read higher, though the last time someone did detailed comparisons, it was with the AT2 which is a different technology. Even with the AT2, occasionally the pet meter would read lower than a human meter in low numbers. The important part is that our dosing methods were developed with human meters, so that's what we recommend.

If you are using the AT and following SLGS for dosing, take the numbers at face value.
OK great, thanks Wendy!
 
Back
Top