11/20, Pookey, AMPS 255, +7 276, PMPS 285

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tim & Pookey, Nov 20, 2024.

  1. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Good morning,

    Yesterday’s post:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...291-6-259-pmps-300-3-317.295823/#post-3221522

    I’m curious today about pet meters versus human meters.

    All the numbers in the stickies here refer to human meter numbers… are there numbers I should be looking at for a pet meter? Or are they generally the same?

    upload_2024-11-20_7-17-16.jpeg

    From the sticky (if no good understanding of the cat yet):
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
      • a.) give nothing
      • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
      • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
    Have a safe Wednesday!

    Thank you. - Tim
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @tiffmaxee
    @Wendy&Neko
    @Bandit's Mom
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Did you see this part on top of the Sticky Note for Dosing Methods:
    The numbers are not the same, though closer in lower numbers where it counts. Generally the AT will read higher, though the last time someone did detailed comparisons, it was with the AT2 which is a different technology. Even with the AT2, occasionally the pet meter would read lower than a human meter in low numbers. The important part is that our dosing methods were developed with human meters, so that's what we recommend.

    If you are using the AT and following SLGS for dosing, take the numbers at face value.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  4. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    OK great, thanks Wendy!
     

Share This Page