? 11/20/19 Charlotte. PMPS 68; +2 81; +3 78; +4 104; +5 114; +6.5 94

If you're uncomfortable shooting tonight based on her falling numbers, it might be best to test again shortly and see what she's doing. If she's still dropping...you can decide then. It's going to throw your schedule off some more as far as tomorrow...but it's your decision. You are ultimately the one who has to deal with this tonight if she should drop low - with frequent testing and high carb foods to potentially abort the cycle.
Well I got her eat some gl mixed into pate. I gave her 1 unit but then after your post I checked her and she is 68. I hope I’m not going to get into trouble
 
Well I got her eat some gl mixed into pate. I gave her 1 unit but then after your post I checked her and she is 68. I hope I’m not going to get into trouble

It's not that you're in trouble at all...it's just that now you'll want to test her frequently - and if need be abort the cycle by feeding her higher carb foods - up to and including karo syrup. The only problem with all those high carb foods is that they only last a couple of hours...and then she may drop down again ... so you'll have to test her often - stay with her and don't go to bed until you're sure she's coming up on her own -without the help of additional high carb foods.

The other night @Sarah and Blaze had one of those nights - Sarah was up past 2 a.m. on a work night - trying to steer Blaze back into safer waters.

Are you okay staying up late tonight to monitor and feed Charlotte?
 
Hello again, I'm getting ready to wrap it up for the night - as I get up around 5 a.m. for work - that comes too fast! I'm going to tag some other experienced members to see if they will be with you this evening - how's Charlotte doing? Have you tested yet after her PMPS?

@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @AmandaE @Jill & Scooter @MrWorfMen's Mom @Chris & China (GA) - anyone around this evening to assist Charlotte's mom if she needs help this evening? Charlotte's BG's have been dropping all afternoon. Thanks!:bighug:
 
Please test her soon - and post the numbers to the SS - if you get into trouble you can always put the '911' on your title - to ask for help. I've got to sign off for this evening - and wanted to make sure I'd tagged some others who can help you should the need arise. Just keep posting what's going on so that everyone will know that you and Charlotte are ok.
 
Hi!! I was just catching up on your condo!

I had a very similar night a couple nights ago too, PMPS was 76 and I stalled for 30 minutes and got a 94 so I shot the full dose and fed like normal. I should have gotten a +1 due to his PMPS being lower than normal but I got a +2 instead :banghead: which he was 47 at +2! Lowest number I have gotten yet! It was a long night, on a work night, and I’m STILL dragging from it. But stay calm, you can handle this! Just test frequently and post here and some experienced members will help you. Have your MC, HC and Karo syrup ready just in case. You got this!
 
Have you tested her again since her shot? That will help you stay on top of things if she’s dropping, you can feed her MC or HC to help steer her depending on her numbers. Just keep your SS updated with each test and post numbers here, experienced members will help!
 
Have you tested her again since her shot? That will help you stay on top of things if she’s dropping, you can feed her MC or HC to help steer her depending on her numbers. Just keep your SS updated with each test and post numbers here, experienced members will help!
Hi! Yes she was 68 when I shot her and now she is 78 but I’ve been feeding her HC after the fact. I had given her MC with a little HC but she just licked it. I know another member told me no KD kibble but I panicked and gave her a few bc it’s also HC. She is hating me pricking her so much today. She is running away from me.
 
Hi! Yes she was 68 when I shot her and now she is 78 but I’ve been feeding her HC after the fact. I had given her MC with a little HC but she just licked it. I know another member told me no KD kibble but I panicked and gave her a few bc it’s also HC. She is hating me pricking her so much today. She is running away from me.
I know how that is, when they’re in the lower numbers, they get so many pokes:( do you have any low carb treats you can offer after pokes? I give Blaze Pure Bites freeze dried chicken after every time I test his blood sugar.

you can probably hold off on feeding any more food until you get a +1 or +1.5 now, and see where Charlotte’s blood sugar is. When Blaze has a low pre shot number, I feed his normal LC dinner and get a +1 to see where he’s at. If he’s dropped a lot by +1, I give MC and get another test at +1.5. Now that I’m following TR, I try not to give HC unless Blaze’s BG is 50 or below. So if he’s dropping, but is above 50, I will offer him MC food. If by the next test, he is lower, then I will try HC to get him up a bit.
 
Wow! Charlotte is really working this dose! she is looking great! I agree with Sarah, personally I think you should hold off on the HC and see how Charlotte is doing without food intervention. You don't want to fully abort the cycle with all the HC food, she could be planning to surf and not drop too low.
 
Hello again, I'm getting ready to wrap it up for the night - as I get up around 5 a.m. for work - that comes too fast! I'm going to tag some other experienced members to see if they will be with you this evening - how's Charlotte doing? Have you tested yet after her PMPS?

@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA) @AmandaE @Jill & Scooter @MrWorfMen's Mom @Chris & China (GA) - anyone around this evening to assist Charlotte's mom if she needs help this evening? Charlotte's BG's have been dropping all afternoon. Thanks!:bighug:
Thanks sue! Sorry I was getting pulled away to feed the family. Ugh! If it’s not one thing, it’s another. I appreciate all of your help and reaching out to others for me! Good night.
 
I will be around a while this evening, but first I have to drag myself downstairs for a rowing machine workout.

By the way, good chance the numbers you saw at preshot were a Lantus double dip. Where they head down for ansecondndip, but not as low as the first one of the cycle. Those are safe to shoot.

Could you update your subject line with the PM numbers. That way with a quick look we can see if you need help.
 
I will be around a while this evening, but first I have to drag myself downstairs for a rowing machine workout.

By the way, good chance the numbers you saw at preshot were a Lantus double dip. Where they head down for ansecondndip, but not as low as the first one of the cycle. Those are safe to shoot.

Could you update your subject line with the PM numbers. That way with a quick look we can see if you need help.
Ok!
 
But mama is not doing well being on pins and needles wondering what she is going to do!! :nailbiting::nailbiting::coffee::coffee:
It is very scary when they first start going into these low numbers. On here they say “shoot low to stay low”, and it’s true. Another thing that is often true is when you shoot a low number like you did you usually get a very nice flat cycle. You are doing great keeping a close eye on Charlotte. I hope you’re a coffee drinker, you will probably need it. :)
 
It is very scary when they first start going into these low numbers. On here they say “shoot low to stay low”, and it’s true. Another thing that is often true is when you shoot a low number like you did you usually get a very nice flat cycle. You are doing great keeping a close eye on Charlotte. I hope you’re a coffee drinker, you will probably need it. :)
Ok I was wondering if something was about to blow up bc the numbers have been flat. I know a moderator had told me that flat was good but I wasn’t sure if it was still a good thing. How long should I test for and what should I be doing with regards to feeding??
 
You can definitely stick with MC or LC with the numbers she’s in, get the HC when she gets to 50 or lower. You’re doing great! I ask for a lot of help when it comes to lower numbers and feeding also, so I don’t want to give any advice when I’m no expert. But I do know, MC and LC are safe to give with these numbers and to only give 1 teaspoon or so each time you feed her, in case you need to get her to eat HC at some point. I’ve been told that if you get two tests that are rising, without the intervention of food, it’s usually safe to go to bed and stop testing, once they are in safe numbers though. I use my auto feeder every day and night and I sometimes put MC in the auto feeder when I go to bed, when Blaze is in lower, but safe numbers. I’m sure some experienced members will help you with what to feed her and how long to test.
 
At this point, stick with LC. You want two even or rising numbers, without influence of carbs, before calling it a night. If you give higher carb, you have to wait two hours for the carbs to wear off, then wait a couple tests after that to see if she's starting to rise.

Note that what Charlotte does typically in a cycle, may not be what she does in a cycle starting with green.
 
At this point, stick with LC. You want two even or rising numbers, without influence of carbs, before calling it a night. If you give higher carb, you have to wait two hours for the carbs to wear off, then wait a couple tests after that to see if she's starting to rise.

Note that what Charlotte does typically in a cycle, may not be what she does in a cycle starting with green.
Ok. She hasn’t eaten anything since +3. So if +5 goes up the I can sleep soundly? Why do things change when they are in a green cycle? And I am assuming you are referring to my comment about her dipping between +4-+7?
 
Sarah gave you good advice. She is probably fine with LC right now. I would test again at +5 and give a little more LC if she’s still in safe numbers. I would do the same at +7, if she’s still in safe numbers you are probably late enough in the cycle to sleep some. I take 2 hour naps between tests when I do this with Scooter. If she’s still flat and in safe greens at + 7, a +11 will be very usefull in deciding what to shoot in the AM. If she rises from +11 to AMPS you should be safe to shoot. If she decreases I would post numbers and ask for advice. All that said she could shoot to the moon at any time. She’s not used to these nice greens, so a bounce would be normal.
ETA I was posting at.the same time as Wendy. She explained much better than I did and is much more experienced.
 
Sarah gave you good advice. She is probably fine with LC right now. I would test again at +5 and give a little more LC if she’s still in safe numbers. I would do the same at +7, if she’s still in safe numbers you are probably late enough in the cycle to sleep some. I take 2 hour naps between tests when I do this with Scooter. If she’s still flat and in safe greens at + 7, a +11 will be very usefull in deciding what to shoot in the AM. If she rises from +11 to AMPS you should be safe to shoot. If she decreases I would post numbers and ask for advice. All that said she could shoot to the moon at any time. She’s not used to these nice greens, so a bounce would be normal.
So if she does bounce, will we have to work harder to get back to these numbers?? I hate how this insulin makes her yo-yo so much.
 
So if she does bounce, will we have to work harder to get back to these numbers?? I hate how this insulin makes her yo-yo so much.
No, she will break the bounce and come back down. She may or may not come back to green. She could earn a reducie or she may need an increase. We’ll just have to watch and see. This is great progress that she’s stayed in these nice numbers this long. The more time she spends in green, her body will get used to it and stay more and bounce less.
 
I am assuming you are referring to my comment about her dipping between +4-+7?
Yes. And yes, if she's still even or heading up at +5, you can hit the pillow.

You won't have to work any harder to get nice numbers back if she bounces. The height of the bounce may or may not be worse cause she isn't used to green. Just keep shooting 1 unit until she goes under 50. Note: her body isn't used to greens, she would bounce regardless of insulin. The longer lasting Lantus depot probably takes some of the edge off the bounces too.
 
Yes. And yes, if she's still even or heading up at +5, you can hit the pillow.

You won't have to work any harder to get nice numbers back if she bounces. The height of the bounce may or may not be worse cause she isn't used to green. Just keep shooting 1 unit until she goes under 50. Note: her body isn't used to greens, she would bounce regardless of insulin. The longer lasting Lantus depot probably takes some of the edge off the bounces too.
Thanks for being there tonight!! I’m getting ready to check her again.
 
At this point, stick with LC. You want two even or rising numbers, without influence of carbs, before calling it a night. If you give higher carb, you have to wait two hours for the carbs to wear off, then wait a couple tests after that to see if she's starting to rise.

Note that what Charlotte does typically in a cycle, may not be what she does in a cycle starting with green.
Just checked her @+6.5- 94. We should be fine still, correct??
 
I should be sleeping
But good morning!! Is it ok that she is dipping a little? Should I be concerned about food- she just had some lc with a smudge of mc. She has 6 more hours to go.
Those numbers are flat, about the same. look good to me.
Get some sleep, she will be fine with the food you gave her, she is entering the latter half of the cycle.

Sorry I took so longg to respond, I was literally just getting up on my other post, and I had to go sort out the kitties.
Having :coffee: now
 
Back
Top