? 11/20/19 Charlotte. PMPS 68; +2 81; +3 78; +4 104; +5 114; +6.5 94

Charlotte and Lucky’s mom

Member Since 2019
Soo... she kept waking me up early morning hours jumping up on the bureaus. Ugh! So I slept through my phone alarms this morning. Needless to say, her first reading was 20 minutes late -142. Im using this as her amps - I have no +12 so I’m not sure if she is sliding down or going up. I was too tired to get a +10. I gave her the 1 unit. She ate some CN as she walked away from 2 different ff pate flavors I put down despite the dehydrated chicken crumbled on top of them. I hate when she eats only a little. Let’s see what the +1 is. I have a funny feeling I’ll be checking her often today against her likings.
 
+5.5. 55! Fed ff turkey pate w/ tsp of GL and 2 KD kibble. I’ll check again in 30 minutes

Looks like Charlotte and Luci are plotting against us today - Luci ran down to see the sharks already this morning! Watch Charlotte closely...if she dips again I'd bring out the medium carb - but then you probably know how sensitive Charlotte is to carbs - so you be the judge. I know Luci responds nicely - but I have to stay on top of her now for the next few hours until she starts to come up without that MC food. :D:D
 
Looks like Charlotte and Luci are plotting against us today - Luci ran down to see the sharks already this morning! Watch Charlotte closely...if she dips again I'd bring out the medium carb - but then you probably know how sensitive Charlotte is to carbs - so you be the judge. I know Luci responds nicely - but I have to stay on top of her now for the next few hours until she starts to come up without that MC food. :D:D
So if she is lower in 10 minutes, then offer straight mc -15% or so?
 
I would go for 15% myself...she hasn't got much room to play now...do you reduce under 50 or wait until three times under 50?
So this TR is still new to me. I’m not sure what I should do? Not really sure what the numbers have been the past few days bc I’ve been at work so only seeing a few of the night values. Don’t know if I should give her another day or two at 1 unit or not. Advice? Thanks!
 
So I made a mistake above with time- I forgot I got up late so she was 55 at +5 and now at +5.5 after a little mix she is 58. Just gave her mc only with 2 KD kibble. She obviously just licked the gravy as she hates slices or chunks. Ugh!!
 
So I made a mistake above with time- I forgot I got up late so she was 55 at +5 and now at +5.5 after a little mix she is 58. Just gave her mc only with 2 KD kibble. She obviously just licked the gravy as she hates slices or chunks. Ugh!!

Luci usually leaves the big chunks behind as well. I know some people mash it all up...I'm usually in too much of a hurry to mash that food and just toss the chunks...

Sometimes I'll put down a little LC and a dab of MC on top of it...to see if that'll slow her down...usually that works pretty good. But Luci likes to eat - especially those gravy style foods. I swear she does this to me on purpose - just to get some cans of that stuff! :joyful:
 
Luci usually leaves the big chunks behind as well. I know some people mash it all up...I'm usually in too much of a hurry to mash that food and just toss the chunks...

Sometimes I'll put down a little LC and a dab of MC on top of it...to see if that'll slow her down...usually that works pretty good. But Luci likes to eat - especially those gravy style foods. I swear she does this to me on purpose - just to get some cans of that stuff! :joyful:
Oh these cats! Rule the roost!! I’ll recheck again in15 minutes time make it +6. I got confused earlier bc of my lack of sleep from her!
 
Thank you!! Appreciating everyone’s helpfulness!! I know it’s weird bc when I test my other cats and I get low numbers I’m like, good! But with her, I’m like, oh no!!
I'm totally the same, my BF doesn't really quite understand but I'm always like: You don't understand Ross, I won't feel ok until he starts coming up again! with a non DM cat the BG is stable but with a DM cat you have given them insulin so you really do need to be cautious when they get lower... because you don't know when they will stop!

I'm with ya!
 
I'm totally the same, my BF doesn't really quite understand but I'm always like: You don't understand Ross, I won't feel ok until he starts coming up again! with a non DM cat the BG is stable but with a DM cat you have given them insulin so you really do need to be cautious when they get lower... because you don't know when they will stop!

I'm with ya!
Yes, my husband is the same way with the cat. I’m actually sleeping in my college daughters bedroom with her bc I have 6 cats. It’s her cat and she usually hangs out in her room. He’s wondering when I’ll come back to my own room. Not til she’s more stable!! Besides, no snoring from him in there!!
 
Yes, my husband is the same way with the cat. I’m actually sleeping in my college daughters bedroom with her bc I have 6 cats. It’s her cat and she usually hangs out in her room. He’s wondering when I’ll come back to my own room. Not til she’s more stable!! Besides, no snoring from him in there!!
LOL!!! I have ALSO been there!!!! (separate bedroom for continued testing + break from snoring :P:P) too funny!!
 
I think you should be safe, you're mid cycle so I would be surprised if Charlotte took a dive, if you're a little nervous it never hurts to leave out food :)
So going forward. Your advice about the following:: What should I do with TR as some wait til they get 3 cycles with 50 before reducing and some wait til they dip lower once. I’m hesitant to reduce too soon bc from her past she just ends up failing the reduction . Thanks!
 
I'm really new to TR too! But the first thing is, the "3 cycles with 50" is actually 3 cycles below 50. Because Mowgli also fails reductions fairly commonly I use that strategy. This is how I follow it:
  • Automatic 0.25u reduction if Mowgli drops below 40... ever
  • hold the dose until Mowgli has had 3 occurrences where his BG was between 40-50, after the third BG occurrence between 40 and 50 I give a 0.25u reduction
  • anything above 50 doesn't qualify for reduction
If you're following TR Charlotte hasn't hit a reduction point yet :)
 
I'm really new to TR too! But the first thing is, the "3 cycles with 50" is actually 3 cycles below 50. Because Mowgli also fails reductions fairly commonly I use that strategy. This is how I follow it:
  • Automatic 0.25u reduction if Mowgli drops below 40... ever
  • hold the dose until Mowgli has had 3 occurrences where his BG was between 40-50, after the third BG occurrence between 40 and 50 I give a 0.25u reduction
  • anything above 50 doesn't qualify for reduction
If you're following TR Charlotte hasn't hit a reduction point yet :)
Thank you for explaining that!!
 
Three drops below 50 on separate days, not cycles, or one below 40 in a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year since diagnosis) is for cats that don’t hold reductions well. I see no evidence with that yet for Charlotte. I would try reducing if she goes below 50, unless she shows that doesn’t work.

Nice greenage today. :D Nice break for Mr. P, nickname for pancreas.
 
Three drops below 50 on separate days, not cycles, or one below 40 in a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year since diagnosis) is for cats that don’t hold reductions well. I see no evidence with that yet for Charlotte. I would try reducing if she goes below 50, unless she shows that doesn’t work.

Nice greenage today. :D Nice break for Mr. P, nickname for pancreas.
Thank you for the explanation. Yes, nice break. I should continue shooting the 1 unit? When do I consider increasing the dose? After 10 cycles at 1 unit?
 
+5. 55! Fed ff turkey pate w/ tsp of GL and 2 KD kibble. I’ll check again in 30 minutes
Now you are doing TR, unless it's an emergency, like she's below 50 and you can't get her to eat wet food with higher carbs, or get honey into her, stay away from the kibble.

It's a prerequisite of TR that they are solely on a wet diet.
I know today was a first for you since you just swapped to TR, so no worries, but just for future reference.

Nice cycle by the way I had a feeling she would be seeing green soon, at least you were home today.
 
So I find that sometimes when she is low, she won’t eat that well unless it’s gravy or if I add just one or 2 pieces of KD. They are really Teeny tiny pieces. Can’t do that? She’s 73 +10 and I left her with some lc while I ran my errand. She picked at some of it. What am I to do for tonight’s insulin?? I doubt she will get above 100 in 2 hours. I was hoping to shoot her a little earlier to get back on track bc i woke up late. I guess that’s not going to happen.
 
You could still shoot 15min early tonight, as long as she is above 50.
So I find that sometimes when she is low, she won’t eat that well unless it’s gravy or if I add just one or 2 pieces of KD
I'd stick to the gravy (usually we reserve that for when they are below 50) unless it's an emergency.
The kibble can stay in their system for quite a bit of time and even a couple of pieces can really mess with their numbers.

I would suggest you get a +11 and post if it looks like she is going to be lower than you are comfortable with.
So for example if she is looking like she is going to be green at pmps, then write something like
Charlotte +11 78 Possible first Green PS need help please!!

It may turn out to be a non event tonight.

It's midnight so I'm heading to bed. I won't be around for your pmps.
Good luck
 
You could still shoot 15min early tonight, as long as she is above 50.

I'd stick to the gravy (usually we reserve that for when they are below 50) unless it's an emergency.
The kibble can stay in their system for quite a bit of time and even a couple of pieces can really mess with their numbers.

I would suggest you get a +11 and post if it looks like she is going to be lower than you are comfortable with.
So for example if she is looking like she is going to be green at pmps, then write something like
Charlotte +11 78 Possible first Green PS need help please!!

It may turn out to be a non event tonight.

It's midnight so I'm heading to bed. I won't be around for your pmps.
Good luck
Thank you for the advice!
 
So I anticipate that she will be below 100 come +12. I’ve never shot below this and not sure what I should be feeding off the bat. She eats only a little when she is low. Do I start with a HC? Mixture?? She typically eats the turkey or liver/chicken pate but not always either. Advice would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks
 
Oh what an opportunity to collect data! Just remember...you're in control of the cycle. Test frequently and have tools at your disposal(MC /HC food, Karo/Honey and test strips). Take a look at Moey's SS recently(for an example if needed). First...ECID! But if Charlotte is carb sensitive you can steer her curve quite easily. Hopefully an old pro of the board will chime in soon. I'll be checking your progress this evening. GL with your proposed first BOS(Balls of steel)!
 
Oh what an opportunity to collect data! Just remember...you're in control of the cycle. Test frequently and have tools at your disposal(MC /HC food, Karo/Honey and test strips). Take a look at Moey's SS recently(for an example if needed). First...ECID! But if Charlotte is carb sensitive you can steer her curve quite easily. Hopefully an old pro of the board will chime in soon. I'll be checking your progress this evening. GL with your proposed first BOS(Balls of steel)!
Thanks and haha!! We will see how tough they really are. I hope someone chimes in soon bc I should be shooting her in 20 minutes.
 
At this point, I'd probably feed her MC at her pre-shot meal...but that's just what I would do. @Wendy&Neko, do you think she should wait until an hour after the shot to feed her more carbs? It sure looks like she's entering an active phase this evening...after being low all day...and she's down again now?
She is down again now and she hasn’t eaten enough for me to feel comfortable shooting. I’m not sure what I should be doing at this point
 
I’ve already offered the food which she has taken only a few licks from and I think it was mainly the smashed chicken treat and fortiflora she was going after.

If you're uncomfortable shooting tonight based on her falling numbers, it might be best to test again shortly and see what she's doing. If she's still dropping...you can decide then. It's going to throw your schedule off some more as far as tomorrow...but it's your decision. You are ultimately the one who has to deal with this tonight if she should drop low - with frequent testing and high carb foods to potentially abort the cycle.
 
Back
Top