11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58 +4.5 59 +5 58

Status
Not open for further replies.

kathpj

Member Since 2012
Good morning.
Following no shot yesterday PM. AMPS 126 have given 0.5 units.
He has free fed this am.Is this low still likely to be part of a bounce?
Jane mentioned a surf yesterday. Please can someone explain that?
I am learning so much 'on the job'.
Thanks for all your great advice.
Kath
P.S I can't get the picture to load for the avatar

Red's condo
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126

Red's numbers are looking great!!

A "surf" is when your cat's numbers are fairly flat. All of those back-to-back green numbers yesterday are just Red's way of surfing right along in green, and in general from your AMPS, normal numbers.

I want to encourage you to start thinking in terms of shooting lower numbers. In reality, there's not a great deal of difference between the 120 you were comfortable shooting and the 92 that you were uncomfortable shooting. The more Red's pancreas heals, the more you're going to see lower pre-shot numbers -- and that's a good thing. If you can start to mentally prepare yourself to shoot above 80 or 90, that would be great!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126

Hi Sienne,
would the dose at those low numbers still be 0.5 units?
I worry a little as from sunday my husband will be dealing with Red's insulin as I will not be about much at all. I know that he will not be able to test so frequently.
Is there a way of safegaurding Red and my husbands confidence during this period?
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126

The dose tonight would still be 0.5u. We reduce the dose when a cat's numbers fall below 50.

It may be that if Red hasn't already gotten a dose reduction when your husband is going to be the primary caregiver, it may be prudent to reduce the dose. On the other hand, not everyone is able to test throughout the day. (I'm at work at the moment.) Getting data while you're home can help to guide your husband in terms of when it's best to test. I'd encourage you to do some full (test every 2 hours) or mini (test every 3 hours) curves so we have an idea of where Red's nadir falls. Knowing onset and nadir can really help if you need to limit your testing.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83

Hi, Thanks for that Sienne,
Another question, I can't get hold of 1/2 increment syringes, tried everywhere in NZ!
I have been advised re marking and callipers. Is there any reason why I can't use the pen with 1/2 increment measure + needles?
I wonder what Prof Rand uses in Australia for her studies?
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74

The problem w/ the children's pen is that you can only adjust the dose in half unit increments. While that may be good for right now, it looks like you will soon be needing less than that :-D :-D and then you would still need to draw w/ a syringe. These microdoses can be a headache. Have you tried looking online for diabetic supply sites in NZ?

As for the avatar picture it must be very small 90 x 90 pixels. If you don't have photo editing software you can go to this site http://www.shrinkpictures.com/
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74

Thank you Ann. So easy when you know how.
I love this picture he looks like he is smiling. Not dreaming of me stabbing his ear for the millionth time!!!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76

Yeah. A picture of Red. He's adorable.
Dosing at those small numbers can be so incredibly hard. One thing I did was practice pulling on a used syringe and then count the drops as I pushed the syringe. Once I could get really consistent I'd just stick with how it felt when I pulled out the insulin. Definitely a guessing game but at least I knew my dose was pretty consistent. :smile:

Have a great one.
Karen
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76

Kath

Great cycle today! We have a member whose cat is now in remission but they are in Australia. I've asked her to PM you about syringes. I thought she had 1/2u marking syringes. She doesn't post often but hopefully she'll be on in a few days and can help out. She's the closest I know to NZ.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76

Thanks Marje, I look forward to hearing from her. I have contacted the diabetic supplies NZ and BD who produce the syringes. I think in the US they do a 1/2 increment in a BD but not here. Supplies are very limited.
Sienne suggested earlier to think about shooting at a lower dose, will be interesting to see what he's like at PMPS. Will post +10 & +11.25 as may need advice on this one.
thanks,
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77

Sounds good. I will be up a couple more hours. I will look for your next tests.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi
PMPS is 94, shot due in 15 mins.
What do you recommend?
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

He's had a perfect cycle today. If it were me, I'd shoot his full .5u dose on time if you have supplies, can be there to monitor, and are rested. He's looking great.

As you comfortable handling low numbers? There might or might not be anyone to be with you if you shoot low. I have to go to bed in 30 mins...sorry but I was up last night and have to sleep/test again tonight with Gracie Sonia dragging.

Jane might be around in a while.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Ok Marje.
I will shoot 0.5 now.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Great! You know the drill....please get a +1 and +2. I have PMd Jane. Carl will be on for a bit more and will also check in. Don't forget the link to Handling Low Numbers in my signature block.

You all are doing really great, Kath!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi Kath,
Nice to meet you and Red! I'll be around at least till your +1 if you need any help. I'm going to catch up so back in a few...

Carl
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Thanks Marje, go get some sleep!
Hi Carl, nice to meet you. Thanks, the support would be great.
Will do a +1
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Kath, a quick thing - on your SS, in the Remarks column, it says "PM no shot. Not enough test strips." That was yesterday though, wasn't it? Carl noticed the discrepancy - when you have a moment, help us confused SS-readers out and correct it, k? :lol:

I'm so tired. This is me this morning:

anim_yawn.gif


Maybe a fourth cup of coffee... :lol:

Jane
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Good! I just looked at your SS and thought you might have skipped due to strip shortage. You good on strips?

Carl
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Gee Jane, somehow I pictured you with, well, more hair? :lol:
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Carl & Bob said:
Gee Jane, somehow I pictured you with, well, more hair? :lol:

:lol: You crack me up! I actually *do* have a lot of hair. My hairdresser says I have enough for three heads. And it's curly. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Jane said:
Carl & Bob said:
Gee Jane, somehow I pictured you with, well, more hair? :lol:

:lol: You crack me up! I actually *do* have a lot of hair. My hairdresser says I have enough for three heads. And it's curly. :mrgreen:
Really? Wow, me too!!! :lol: just kidding. I have more of the "law enforcement buzz cut". Which is good. It makes the gray look more like "blond highlights" :lol:
Carl
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Jane said:
Kath, a quick thing - on your SS, in the Remarks column, it says "PM no shot. Not enough test strips." That was yesterday though, wasn't it? Carl noticed the discrepancy - when you have a moment, help us confused SS-readers out and correct it, k? :lol:

Kath, I'm reposting this just in case you missed it what with all the hair talk :smile:
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi
No that was yesterday I had no test strips.
+1 76
I will look at ss now!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

That's about the rate of drop as this morning, and if it continues to +2, he'd be in the 50s. I agree with Jane that a little food can slow it just a tad.
Okay, ladies, it's curfew time for me. You good, Kath? Jane?
Carl
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Thanks Carl,
He has had a little to eat. Fingers crossed no silliness!!
will do +2
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

+2 is 61.
He ate quite a good amount about 5 mins ago. So hopefully this will kick in!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Great job, Kath!

What do you think about getting a (+2.5)?

I'd like to get a sense of Red's pace, this cycle, to be safe.

Jane
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi Kath. Any update on a +2.5 or a +3?
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi Jane,
Sorry I missed your last message.
His +3 is 59
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

No worries, Kath. That 59 is a welcome sight. I'd probably feed another touch of LC, and re-test in 30 or so again.

I'm heading offline to have breakfast (at noon - LL was busy this morning :lol:), but Dyana will be here to help if you need it, ok?

You are doing great!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

thanks, he has just eaten some LC food so hope he keeps surfing as earlier today!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Keep surfing nicely, Red.

Hey Kath, I'm sorry if I already asked this before, but what country are you in? I see you're already on Friday night, and my Friday is just beginning. It isn't even light outside yet.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Were in New Zealand. Its 11.20 pm. Hope he doesn't dip too much next test!
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Evening Kath

Morning Dyana

Marje asked me to pop in about syringes with 1/2 unit markings - the short answer is you can't get them in Australia or NZ (I even tried Professer Rand!) you can order them from some of the US suppliers but by the time I worked that out I found that I could manage by eye just fine. When I was on a particularly tricky dose (and also just to make sure I didn't forget which dose we were at - it can get a bit confusing when you become a walking zombie :lol: ) I would do a practice syringe. Some people like to use cold tea or food colouring in water for that but I found it ok just to use plain water - depends how good your eyes are - or your magnifying glass! I would spend quite a bit of time getting the practice syringe just right and then just compare the dose I'd drawn to the practice syringe. Your practice syringe stays as is until you change doses. Doing it that way ensures consistency.

How're you going with LC food? ZiwiPeak is expensive but an excellent choice also Whiskas but only the loaf varieties and do you get Natures Gift there? That's another good LC food.

ETA - if he gets sick of the jelly meat. Just checked out his spreadsheet what an awesome response to the lantus :-D
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Hi, thanks for dropping by.
Amazing that you can't get the syringes! I also emailed Prof Rand only today, didn't hear back she is probably sick of hearing the same question. She must have had something more scientific than eyeballing for her experiments?
Thought about trying to get some from UK, but if you think I can develop eyeballing skills good enough I will stop my hunting.
Did you get your cat into remission?
Red is having Whiskers loaf style jellymeat. He is having no variety as he seems to get fussy if he has a choice. He does have chicken of raw meat sometimes also.
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

+4 is 58. I need to sleep soon, how far off being safe to do this am I??
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Yes Vyktor is in remission for more than 6 months now :-D I still test him once a week to make sure though!

Good that Red likes the Jelly Meat and is happy to keep eating the same thing Vyktor gets bored so I have to keep changing it around - Jelly Meat is down near the bottom of his list.

When is Red's next test due?

Also would you mind going back to your first post and editing the subject line to put his PM numbers in you can just delete the AM ones now nothing too freaky in there he had a lovely surf :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/2 Red AMPS 126 +2 83 +4 74 +6 76 +8 76 +10 77 +12 94

Just rechecking his spreadsheet

ETA - at + what did he last eat? Also will you leave food out for him to free feed on?
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

He had a good feed just before +4. I always leave food out for them at night or else they come and wake us up. Lovely cats!!!
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

Will you wake up if you set an alarm? I would want to test again at +5 and +6 to see how he's going after the food starts wearing off.
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

I know that would be great but I have work in the morning and have already been burning midnight oil this week to get study done.
I will do a + 4.5 in 5 mins, then see.
Sorry to be a sleepy head
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

I agree with Serryn. I would test again at least every hour until +6. Can you set alarms and sleep in between them?
That's what I do. I know it's hard, but I want you to keep Red safe.
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

+4.5 59. Good boy. He's staying with it!
 
Re: 11/2 Red PMPS 94 +1 76 +2 61 +3 59 +4 58

When food is available what should happen if a kitty gets low BG is that they'll go and eat by themselves but I'm guessing that you don't know whether or not Red will do that yet.

If the worst comes to the worst and you have to sleep you can abort the cycle somewhat by feeding HC food. Based on Red's data to date he should hit nadir by +6 so if you can stay up a little longer to +5 and perhaps give a little HC food then that should see him through. It's not the ideal way of doing things but if you really need to sleep then you need to sleep :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top