Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358
That is possible, Keri. A toddler is a stress factor for cats! :lol: There are a couple of other possiblities too. The insulin dose that you gave this morning has mostly worn off and you fed Mowgli, making his BG rise, and the new dose that you just shot has not yet kicked in...that combination could produce a rise like this. The other possibility is a bounce...very common, especially in newly diagnosed cats. Basically, Mowgli is used to his BG being higher than normal, so when he starts to see lower, more normal BG levels, his liver panicks and dumps glucose and hormones into his blood to raise his BG and "protect" him from a hypo event. The liver can react this way even though he is in no danger of hypo, as he was not today...but he saw some green numbers last night and today, and that's lower than he has been used to recently. We'll see what happens...he could continue to rise if it's a bounce, or he may start dropping when you test him next if it's one of the other scenarios.
If he continues to rise, please don't change the plan for tomorrow morning! Even if his number is high, please stick with the 0.5u in the morning....the bounce will clear on it's own, you don't want to try to shoot a higher dose to bring his numbers down, ok?