11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358 +4 409

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283

no dose expert here, but I'd go with the .5 - you may want to wait for those in the know. ah - looks like Libby is here.

Awesome job today - phenomenal!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U

GAH!! i shot 1U, will monitor him tonite, and plan on doing .5 in the morning..
~sigh~
i feel i can do no right....
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U

Don't worry about it - we've all done it. Just keep a watch on him, and test, like you did this morning. If you need help, there are lots of folks around tonight too.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U

You are doing great Keri! I am very impressed with you and with Mowgli's numbers today! Yes, lots of monitoring tonight. Just keep an eye on him!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U

it's natural to think you should shoot more insulin when the number is higher. Sooooo many people do the same thing, and on some insulins that is the recommended protocol. For Lantus, though, we dose by nadir (we find a dose that gets the low points in the range you want, with only some consideration of the preshot readings, and eventually things will flatten out around the lower number). Try not to be influenced when you see a higher number at shot time (easier said than done, I know).

Mowgli so far has nadired at or below 100. Eventually that will be your goal, but at the beginning it is easier to aim for something just a little higher than that as you get your feet wet. There's nothing bad about the numbers except they're a bit too low to be running a cat who is brand new to Lantus when the bean can't be home during the day. Most likely you are seeing the beginning of a bounce tonight, and he might stay high this evening - or he might not. By testing, you stay in control. But I would definitely reduce to 0.5 tomorrow.

I think what we haven't been clear on is that we are suggesting basically starting over and calling 0.5 units Mowgli's starting dose. Then you hold that dose for 5-7 days, even if numbers are high (but if they are too low we would have to reduce again). That gives the dose some time to settle in and see what it can do, then we make adjustments from there.
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U

ok i appreciate the support an will reduce to .5U for five days starting tomorrow..in the meantime I will monitor him best i can through the night, as his poor ears are looking pretty beat up
:(

will post his +2 later...
see you then...
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358

I believe the raise in his +2 is that some people he didn't know popped in tonite (with toddler which i don't have), and with all that he has been through i think he is stressed from the unexpected visit..
Maybe someone could confirm or deny this thought???
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358

That is possible, Keri. A toddler is a stress factor for cats! :lol: There are a couple of other possiblities too. The insulin dose that you gave this morning has mostly worn off and you fed Mowgli, making his BG rise, and the new dose that you just shot has not yet kicked in...that combination could produce a rise like this. The other possibility is a bounce...very common, especially in newly diagnosed cats. Basically, Mowgli is used to his BG being higher than normal, so when he starts to see lower, more normal BG levels, his liver panicks and dumps glucose and hormones into his blood to raise his BG and "protect" him from a hypo event. The liver can react this way even though he is in no danger of hypo, as he was not today...but he saw some green numbers last night and today, and that's lower than he has been used to recently. We'll see what happens...he could continue to rise if it's a bounce, or he may start dropping when you test him next if it's one of the other scenarios.

If he continues to rise, please don't change the plan for tomorrow morning! Even if his number is high, please stick with the 0.5u in the morning....the bounce will clear on it's own, you don't want to try to shoot a higher dose to bring his numbers down, ok?
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358

Right hand on heart, left hand in air!
I SOLEMNLY SWEAR THAT NO MATTER WHAT THE BG READS I WILL STICK TO A .5U TOMORROW AND THE REMAINDER OF THE WEEK
:RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358

" I solemnly swear..." that was so great. I really like your spirit. You did well today. I know Mowgli thanks you. Have a great night!
 
Re: 11/2 Mowgli PMPS 283 1U +2 358

Hi Keri - stress will certainly raise a kitty's BG, so it could have been the baby. Likely it is a bounce, these past 2 cycles may be the first time in a while he has had good numbers and his little kitty body responded with "panicky liver." You've done so well today, you should be very proud of yourself. Good luck tonight, there are lots of folks here til late, so hopefully someone will be around. If you need help in a hurry and no one is here, pop over to Health and see who's up over there. But there are usually some California night owls around late. Have a good night.
 
So hes continuing to rise well his BG is..
and might i just say --------> cat(2)_steam <--------- is mowgli now...i think he is at his wits end finally of being poked and prodded for an entire day and night.... literally NOT a happy camper...he has his hiss on...
Would it be really bad if I leave him alone for the night until his AMPS? Honestly?
 
It's save-a-strip (and an ear) time. With a high +4 like that, you don't need to keep testing.

Have a good night and please shoot 0.5u in the AM.
 
It looks like a bounce to me...you can get some sleep and check him in the morning. I doubt he will go low from there. You did great today, Keri! :-D
 
I thank you all and I am sure mowgli thanks you TREMENDOUSLY!! dancing_cat
lol
and yes, i continue to swear no matter what the BG, I will shoot .5
as i will not be home during the day so..

also am freezin a couple of FF cans to put out tomorrow...that should be okay??

nite and thanks for everything!!!
:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top