11/19 Squamee +10 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
+10 290. Was thinking of shooting early, but I am going to be out tonight, so maybe it is better to stick with this late schedule. Gator, if I follow your rule -not more that .2 increase under 1U, I shoot .3. If BG goes above 300 I am wondering if I should increase to .4? Or is that still too big a jump? You probably won't be around to answer this, I am just thinking out loud.
 
One part of me says to stick with .3. If you did go with .4 then you might have another day like yesterday which is not bad but you might end up with a number much lower at PMPS - so it will be your reaction to that potentially lower PMPS which will matter.

If you are going to be around today and think you can test and she looks like she is eating then you could try .4.
 
AMPS 334 .3U

She is eating and took her pill (maybe her sense of smell is deteriorating? She turns her head away and rejects the plate with the pill and the parmesan and Fortiflora sprinkles, but if I put a little on my finger and rub it on her nose, she then gets interested and takes the pill---or at least that worked the last 2 times---with her, it's an ever- changing journey). She didn't spit out ALL of the Flagyl (I hope!). She is walking around and comes back to the food to graze. Other than that, she stays on the couch or under a blanket. It 's getting hard to remember she ever did anything else.

So glad for the Flagyl, the vomiting and diarrhea seem entirely gone.
Vet told me to give SubQ tomorrow. I still find it nerve-wracking, hope it goes as easily as last time.
 
AMPS 334 .3U
+4.5 321
+6 285 Wellllll---I was thinking her nadir was around 4. Guess I was wrong--or maybe there was food? (the good news is that she has been grazing all day)
 
Nadir changes - day to day and dose to dose and average over a longer period to. .3 probably wasn't enough today - we'll see though. It's fine though - you can always adjust tonight. :smile:
 
Well technically she went down on .3... Her delta on .3 was not that big though. You probably could get away with .4. If you wanted to play safe then .3 would be OK I guess.
 
Thanks for the quick reply, Gator. I just got in and wanted to shoot right away, as I am leaving early tomorrow and will be away till afternoon.
 
OK read again - I changed it a little. .3 would be OK since she did go down with .3 - just not very much. So you could try .4 - .4 at 300+ is not that big of an issue - especially if you think she is eating. I sure wish I could get you into shooting .05 increments :-D
 
Well anywaY, I shot .4 before reading the rest of your post---I was in a hurry. I would be happy to do smaller increments if I could figure out HOW you see them! @-) I have tried using doubled up reading glasses, but the syringe itself is so small---how can you make the differentiation? Boy, a cat must be incredibly sensitive to respond to those doses as if they were really different.
 
Thinking about tomorrow--I have to be out of here by +10.5 and I have a lot to do in the morning---including getting her to take her pill, give her the Flagyl , test her and shoot. So I won't have much time to think----sooooo

Stick with .4 if she is steady or down 30, go up .2 if she is up 30 to 50, go down .2(?) if she is down more than 30. Should she be less than 150 I cannot shoot till mid to late afternoon---which I guess will be too late and I will have to skip AM shot.
Am I making you crazy yet?! I know trying to figure things out in advance can do that. Sorry, I have no choice. :dizcat
 
I think the .4 will be ok---worst case scenario I think would be going low and missing AM shot. She has been grazing all day. And it seems like fairly normal amounts she is consuming.

No vomiting or diarrhea. But still spending most of her time under the blanket. Wish I knew what that meant in terms of what she feels.

Want to hear something amazing?(to me, anyway). Sometimes now when I get out my stuff to test her, she comes over to me and waits! I NEVER would have thought that possible. And she doesn't even get treats (edible ones, that is. I do brush her afterwards :-D ).
 
Right, you are getting the hang of it if you can start thinking ahead to the next cycle. It's not something you can always do, but to at least have the next cycle in the brain [somewhere in all the gray] I found helps. It's kind of like an :idea: :smile:

AFAIK, I'm the only one who shoots/has shot .05u increments - though those "f"ine or "f"at .1u increments are about the same thing. So no bother. But hopefully the past couple days are some info for you about how they respond much differently to seeming the smallest of different increments - the difference between .4 and .3 for instance. Especially at these very small doses my one of my coping mechanisms became the .05u increment so I could split the difference - and it turned out there WAS as difference even at that small of an increment. I know I keep yammering on here about it and some of the folks here must think I'm a little loony but I swear the .05u increments at these low doses totally make a big difference in control of things.

As for tomorrow, shooting early complicates things a little. If she is down more than 30 [maybe 50 since shooting early] you should back off - especially if you will not be around. If she rises then up the dose - since you are not going to be there then maybe just by .1u [but hard choice not to up more since you will be shooting early]. I guess just add one dose of chicken since you will not be there type thing and feed the eating thing into the equation too. So many blasted inputs into the equation I know - it stinks. cat(2)_steam

Good to hear about the training going on - now if she would just get smart about the pills! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top