? 11/19 Gary - Bouncing question

Sepi

Member
Yesterday thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-5-297-8-5-353-pmps-339-3-314-11-302.295797/
Up the dose to 1.25. Fingers crossed. Hoping to see that drop that he was getting last week!

AMPS 347 +2 361 +5 336
This is day 5 of numbers in high 200 and 300.
How can I be sure that I'm giving him the shot correctly anymore? It's like he isn't getting an insulin drop anymore. Is that the Bounce? And how long can he be this high without getting really sick again???
I know he is only 18 days into the diagnosis, but this just seems like I'm not doing something?
 
Last edited:
This is only the first cycle of the increased dose. It doesn't seem that Gary is bouncing, just in high bgs :(.
You are doing everything right! Its often said here that feline diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. Gary didn't become diabetic overnight so its going to take some time to get him regulated.

Keep doing what you are doing and test daily for ketones. You'll find that breakthrough dose, slowly and safely :bighug:

Love reading that "eating/peeing/pooping all good" :cat:
 
There is also a phenomenon we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness, or NDW. For reasons we don't entirely know, some cats will show higher number for a couple cycles in the first 3 cycles after an increase. Maybe due to depot rebalance? One possibility. You just wait it out.

For shooting, have you seen these two posts:
How to "Shoot" Your Cat and Hometesting Links and Shooting Tips
 
Back
Top