11/19 Binks pmps 197 +3 317

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

so of course now is the time the computer starts crapping out...

better than earlier tho.

will keep an eye on the boy...and try to get this piece o junk running better...
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

Binks is doing so great! I am so happy to read your condos. :-D FWIW, Libby told me to feed the 40's even if it was close to shot time. Maybe you should ask her in case you get in this situation again. I wouldn't want you to lose your arm. :lol: Please keep the snow! I don't want it.

Thanks for the info on Avg. I've been having problems too.
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

Impressive run for the Binkster. I've been advised to give just a touch of LC w/ a <40 preshot too,(ETA: and when the BG is up) then shoot and watch carefully during the cycle (duh!) I hope your sleep tank is still topped up.
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

Very nice, and a good decision I think. Celi - how happy you must be to see his progress. the best!

also - thanks to for the AVG info. trouble here as well....

SNOW! just the tmns here - though they this weekend we may get some. oh yay! but I cringe too cuz the local yocals have NO CLUE on how to drive in it, and we have utter and complete chaos out there.... :o :shock: :roll:
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

Well, welcome to Friday Celi...I was wondering...8if yo get a minute...can you put Binks' name in lights in your header?
Hope you guys are having a great day today.....nothing like a little excitement in the morning, huh? :lol:
Great job as always Celi! :thumbup
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

From Libby's post on Low Preshots:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.


When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.

If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
--- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

The reason that I suggested that Celi continue to stall and not feed was 1) the 40s were not dropping 2) even though she stalled for quite a while and Binks continued to surf the 40s, I felt that if she fed, it might cause a rise that we could not be sure was not food related. In this case, if that had happened, she may have ended up shooting an inflated BG...that she would have otherwise NOT shot.

I'm not defending my suggestion at all...just explaining it. :smile:
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

Wow, look at the Binkster! Nice run of numbers, Celi!!
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

so excited that you forgot to give credit to Binkskabibble in the Subject? :cool:
 
Re: 11/19 +14 42 +14.5 53 +15 68 skipped am shot

The things we miss when we are away....Binks clearly has decided he wants to be done with the juice...2nd skipped shot in the last couple of days. Good for you guys and congrats on how well he is doing!!!

Snow? What's that??
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

XXOO BINKS
 

Attachments

  • binks colors.jpg
    binks colors.jpg
    863.7 KB · Views: 2,174
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

Celi

I just saw your question for Libby/Jill eyes but I wanted to show you this that Jill wrote in Gracie's condo:

the first thing i would do is stop feeding at +9. feeding a meal/snack at +9 will stimulate the pancreas to do it's job "IF" kitty has a sputtering/lazy pancreas when they're close to going OTJ. if they're not down to tiny doses of insulin and almost ready to go OTJ, feeding a meal or snack after nadir will almost always put the brakes on any action left to the insulin. of course, there are exceptions. occasionally you'll see a dip at the end of a cycle with or without feeding at +8 or +9. lantus is known for this little dip at the end of a cycle (it's never lower than nadir). so much so that we call it one of the quirks of lantus.

What I'm wondering is if Binks is at that "close to OTJ" and does need his +9 snack....definitely a question for one of those wise ones.
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

let's see.... is the next dose "Binks sniff the vial" or "wave vial over Binks"?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

I haven't been around much the last couple of days, so take this with a bit of salt, but it looks like you may want to shave Binks' dose tonight.
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

lolololololololol!!! LOVE the pic! binks is quite the artist!
congrats on the dosecrease!
gooooooooooooooooooooooooo binks!
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

Binksy!!!! You is looking like you get another dose crease!! WOW you are doing so great--But your Momma bean is getting a little @-) ohmygod_smile @-) ohmygod_smile @-) ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile --This is an exciting time for Binks, and you Celi, we are all SOOOOO Rooting for you!!!
You could also shoot a drop on the floor near Binks as his new dose--Just inhale Binks :lol: :lol: :lol:
HUGS !!!!!!!! We are excited for you today! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

YAY! excitement reigns supreme in this condo - in Binks-ville! I'm with MJ - whatta gotta do? wave the vial under his nose?

Congrats in yet another dosecrease. GO BINKS!
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

Go Binks, Go Binks!!!!

Psst....you can come over and whiff insulin here...mombean just blew some insulin bubbles gettin' my skinny shot ready. ~~Attie
 
Re: 11/19 Binks +18 138 LIBBY/JILL EYES PLEASE

Hey Binks! I've been away for a few days and LOOK AT YOU!!!!! Congrats on the dosecrease! Wave your magic wand, Celi!

Ella
 
Re: 11/19 Binks pmps 197

sorry, guys...guess that was kind of inappropriate use of the subject line,
but i couldnt resist showing off the budding artist's labor of love.

didn't mean to leave it up so long, but went to see the sis.

shot a .25...but comments here have made me wonder...

DO i advise the boy to inhale?? hasn't worked out so great for some of our presidential folk... :lol:
 
Re: 11/19 Binks pmps 197

Congrats on the dosecrease!!!! Doing great with him...almost there to literally waving it over his head. LOVE the art work...Binks...when did you get opposable thumbs?
 
Re: 11/19 Binks pmps 197

This is so exciting Celi! I'm so happy for you and Binks! Things are just looking wonderful! Gratz on the dosecrease!
 
Looks like some real exciting things are happening here. Be patient . It's all going to work out for you. I just know it.
 
I bet you're right about the shed. Sign from above - get some sleep tonight and rest the artist's ears.

have a good night, Celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top