11/17 Squamee +11 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
Did not eat last night or this morning, but took 15mg phenobarb pill! BG 107 at +11. I will test again in an hour. Yesterday she was under 200 at +10 and went up by +12. If she does the same today I will probably shoot .4. But if she doesn't go up for several hours, do I shoot? At what point would it be too late to shoot? (that is, getting too close to night shoot amd messing up 12/12 schedule?)
 
I wouldn't shoot a 107, especiall if she isn't eating yet. Maybe she'll feel like eating now that she took her pill.

Lets see what her +12 is, I think Joanna said you don't want less than 8 or 9 hours between shots.
 
124 at +12. If anyone has a suggestion about when it is not too late to shoot (assuming she reaches 200?) I'd like to hear it. Rob you said not closer that 8-9 hours? So if I can shoot later tonight, say 9:30 or 10 pm, then I can still shoot at 1PM this afternoon?
Wouldn't youknow I am running out of test strips! I ordered from Hocks and they are supposed to be delivered today, I really don't want to have to go out and buy them, they are SO much more expensive locally.
 
judy you did'nt shoot last night? and 124 this morning? i think what you have here is a kitty heading for the falls. do not shoot until you reach 200 and you don't need continuous mid cycles. looks like even if she hits a high not she can bring herself down.
:mrgreen:
it's not to early to be very hopeful here.
 
What is your regular shot time? You don't have to wait until she gets to 200, but I would wait until she's higher and shoot a reduced dose to stay on schedule.
 
with numbers like these can't she toss schedule out the window and shoot as needed.
this cat is obviously looking at the falls.
 
HOw high do you think I should wait for? 150? and a reduced dose would be ---? .2?

although she took her pill this morning!!!--- she is barely eating. And hardly ate at all yesterday. Last night gave her subQ.
 
Lori, I'm convinced this is not the falls this is not eating. :sad: I'll agree they look similar, but less food in = less insulin needed.

You guys are about thinking what I am. Yea I would wait until over 150 just to be safe. At 150 and she is still not eating I might shoot .2 maybe .3 probably .2.

I think you need to do something about the eating Judy - I'm beginning to get a little worried for her. Ask your vet about appetite stimulants. Mirtazapine or cyproheptadine or both to try at different times/experiment with. I usually start with 1/8th mirt every 36 hours or 1/4 cyproheptadine every 12 hours [up to 1/2 every 12 hours]. The usual for mirtazapine is 1/4 every three days but I'm not super fond of that one. They cannot be given together - cyproheptadine is actually the "cure" for serotonin syndrome that can happen with mirtazapine. I would think serotonin syndrome might be more likely with pain meds in the picture too. It is not the end of the world though. Yet another reason I like to go with the 18th mirt rather than 1/4.
 
Gator, I called the vet early this AM and he has been in surgery and has not gotten back to me. I just called a second time and asked them to let him know I need to speak to him ASAP. She ate a little canned salmon this morning (maybe an ounce?). A few hours later she vomited and had diarrhea. I think this is more complicated than just not eating. But I will ask about those meds. How are they administered?
 
i'm sorry. i hate to give an uneducated 2 cents when i really have'nt followed the story.
i will bow out as you seem to have a couple of eyes. but i will watch...and i care.
 
Lori, I appreciate your concern and good will.
BG 305 now at +5. So I guess I will shoot .2 unless you think otherwise, Gator, and I hear from you in the next 10 minutes.

edit---I shot .3 because her BG was so much higher than we were talking about.

edir 2---She has had diarrhea and vomited twice more. Still no call from vet. I called them again, and they said he would get back to me. :evil:
 
Vet called. Is going to give me Flagyl liquid. In case it is pancreatitis. I asked about her not eating and he said he thought the fluids would be helping.
 
flagyl is a pretty potent antibiotic.
sorry you guys are going thru all this.
you are handleing it so well judy.
 
Thanks, Lori. I just tried to give her the Flagyl and forget it!!! She spit it all back up. The vet said it can also be given in pill form, but that is impossible with her too. ARRRGGGH!
 
Judy, I'm sorry I haven't been around much today. I probably won't be around much tomorrow. You might be able to shoot earlier tonight to make up for the late shoot this morning. It'll be interesting to see how far .3 gets her. I'll hopefully be watching another Kings game tonight on the west coast so I'll be up late again and at the computer starting at 10.30p eastern.

Metronidazole (Flagyl) at full dose [1/4 250mg pill] can only be given for short periods [I think less than 7 days - something about perhaps neurotoxicity??] But at a lower dose it is OK to go for longer periods. It just depends on the dose that your are giving. F is [or was] on the lesser but long term dose. H got the full-blast short term.

Mirt and cypro are both oral meds - pills.
 
Gator you said " You might be able to shoot earlier tonight to make up for the late shoot this morning." Sorry, I don't understand this. What do you mean " to make up for"? I thought I should hold off on shooting so there was at least 8-9 hours between shots. That would be around 10 pm my time. Should I try to go earlier?---Oh, I guess that is when you will be available, anyway.
So she is 267 at +6.5. I assume she is going up. That was on a dose of .3 at BG 305. I am thinking that I should shoot .5. Have to add that she has vomited twice today, had diarrhea several times, and has eaten very little. She is sleeping under a blanket and occasionally comes out to drink a little.
The flagyl is prescribed at .2ml twice a day.I am not sure how to tell what the concentration is. On the container it says liquid 250 mg. The vet said it is very concentrated. But I don't think much of it gets into her. I syringe it into her mouth and she spits it out. It all seems impossible.
 
maybe i can be helpful here. tom's always taken his antibiotic is liquid form with an eydropper. it's pink and tastes like bubblegum (ummm, now how do i know that :lol: )
don't know if flagyl comes that way. i once had to take flagyl and boy did it nauseat me. i think it is the strongest of antibiotics. can he get the pink bubble gum?
 
Thanks Lori. I think you underestimate the iron will of my cat. cat(2)_steam . I don't think an eyedropper would be much different than a syringe. I have no idea the flavor---I doubt it is bubblegum. Having already paid a fortune for all kinds of compounded other meds that didn't work, I am just taking what they give me. She spits it out all over the place, and lines of drool are now added to the vomit and crap in my house. Sorry to be so graphic. We are celebrating THanksgiving at my house next week---all the family is coming here on Friday (the kids are going to the respective in-laws on Thursday). I hope she is feeling better and I can remove the sheets from the furniture! I guess that is heartless of me---she really is a poor sick kitty---but my house seems like a veterinary hospital right now!
 
I actually prefer a syringe rather than eye dropper [I actually hate eye droppers with a passion :lol: ]. I can get it in and squirt it in fast & deep - of course this may not be the best since one wants to avoid aspirating any liquids. But in a world of problems Judy might be lucky to get it in faster and deeper?? I did not have a problem with less than 1ml of liquid [like lactulose]. But for 3ml of water I would go slower, but it was not a problem if water when everywhere so....

Deep is the key to pilling too - almost like you are gagging them [poor kitty :sad: ].

I think technically the deal with shooting is to always do it on rising numbers. But that's about when +8 - +9 come along. Yea, early I meant like a couple hours early - maybe sooner depending on how .3 turns out. I'm not so concerned about her getting these micro doses at 300 [even when she ends up at 100+ the next day]. Maybe I'm just being a little too bravado?? But it's hard especially at night - when I slept, I slept. I just don't get too worried when the dose is reasonable and their numbers are up. I can't control how much the cat eats or vomits while I'm asleep.

LOL yes you have a cat nursing home going on. When H passed one of my first chores was to get the carpet cleaned - IBD kitties make a complete mess. I think we have to develop a certain if not limited sense of emotional detachment in order for us to do our jobs as caretakers well.

I'm so glad you have the SubQ going on. It does make a difference.
 
Will the pill pocket soak up liquid? Maybe let the pill pocket soak up the liquid put the Pheno in pp, coat in Florta and Parm get it all done at once.

Just a thought.
 
Gator, the vet told me to only put it in the side of her mouth, that if I tried to get it down her throat she might aspirate it. No that I could do it anyway. Knowing that she has pain in her jaw/mouth makes it much harder for me to struggle to hold it open enough.
Rob, she is only very occasionally taking the pill at this point . Mostly I am giving the transdermal gel. And the pill pockets wouldn't hold the liquid. But nice try!
 
Yes, Gator, emotional detachment and laughter---if you could see Squamee's rear and tail and all the places I have had to cut off hair to get the crap off--what a haircut! :lol:
 
The upcoming holidays, all of the cooking and cleaning, relitives coming, sick Squamee.

Take a deep breath in slowely through your nose and blow it slowely out through you mouth, repeat (yes, I used to be an arobics instructor in my spare time).
 
+9.75 333 So it looks like .5U makes sense. or .6? Don't know what to make of those morning lows.Why would she be low in the morning from lack of eating, but not low during the day or evening when she also isn't eating?

edit Got to go to bed. I have a bad cold and a miserable cough. Will play it safe (er) and do .5
 
I'd go .5 tonight. You can always raise in the morning if necessary.

Sorry to hear you too are not feeling well. Hope you are feeling better soon. This bug seems coast to coast. I sure am not looking forward to getting on the plane with a bunch of gross, sneezing, coughing, disease-ridden people that should be wearing face masks [or not flying/exposing people to that crud] but are too rude to do the right thing. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top