11/17 MICIO AMPS 353/ 271 +3

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: MICIO AMPS 306/ 251 +3.5/ 285 +9/ PMPS 310
Could someone please tell me how my Micio is doing? It has been a bit over 2 weeks since he started insulin and don't know for how long he can take these high numbers for....his back legs are not doing well (neuropathy) and constipation became a problem despite all the fibers, some Miralax and such ...
 
Hi, Micio needs more insulin. With SLGS you evaluate the dose every week. This is Day 8 on this dose. Based on his numbers you can take him up to 1U.

Do you think you would be able to follow TR? At least till you get to a good dose?

The neuropathy will resolve once his numbers improve. Some kitties benefit from a supplement of methylcobalamin B12.
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

ETA: I see you are already giving him methyl-B12. For some cats they see a difference immediately. For my kitty it took a few months for the neuropathy to resolve. Not sure if it was the methyl B-12 or better numbers that helped resolve the neuropathy! a
 
Hi, Micio needs more insulin. With SLGS you evaluate the dose every week. This is Day 8 on this dose. Based on his numbers you can take him up to 1U.

Do you think you would be able to follow TR? At least till you get to a good dose?

The neuropathy will resolve once his numbers improve. Some kitties benefit from a supplement of methylcobalamin B12.
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6
I have been giving B12 methylcobalamin for 2 weeks and up to 4500mg per day now ( it's Dr's Best brand suggested also in this group)
What's TR again? I can definitely do whatever it takes to make him feel better...Tnx
UPDATE: found the TR info, sorry...brain fog! So, if I'm correct and I'm going to switch to TR I should give my Micio about 1.50u x2 times at day? That would be more than twice as much I'm giving now....is that right?
Micio's weight is about lb13.6 = 6.2 Kg.
 
Last edited:
What's TR again? I can definitely do whatever it takes to make him feel better...Tnx

TR is the Tight Regulation protocol. It is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
TR is the Tight Regulation protocol. It is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50 mg/dl (on a human meter). The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.

Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
Being a newby with feline diabetes the TR kinda scares me because of the chance for Hypo...I can definitely try to test more, as for the food Micio has been on raw diet meat for almost 11 yrs (very little canned and freeze dry treats, NO DRY). What is LC canned?
Also, don't know if you saw I edited my post..Micio weights about 6.2 Kg = lb 13.6 If I choose to go TR what would be the correct dosage? 1.50u per day or twice a day?
 
Being a newby with feline diabetes the TR kinda scares me because of the chance for Hypo...I can definitely try to test more, as for the food Micio has been on raw diet meat for almost 11 yrs (very little canned and freeze dry treats, NO DRY). What is LC canned?
You could try TR till he gets to better numbers and then switch to SLGS, if you want. Lower/normal numbers are scary initially, but once you get used to them, they get addictive! LC canned is low carb wet food.

Also, don't know if you saw I edited my post..Micio weights about 6.2 Kg = lb 13.6 If I choose to go TR what would be the correct dosage? 1.50u per day or twice a day?
I didn't look at your previous posts, but 0.5U was a low dose to start on. We usually recommend a starting dose of 1U for cats that are already eating a low carb wet food or raw diet. Both TR and SLGS.
 
You could try TR till he gets to better numbers and then switch to SLGS, if you want. Lower/normal numbers are scary initially, but once you get used to them, they get addictive! LC canned is low carb wet food.
...

I didn't look at your previous posts, but 0.5U was a low dose to start on. We usually recommend a starting dose of 1U for cats that are already eating a low carb wet food or raw diet. Both TR and SLGS.

I started with 1u per day ( 0.5u at AM and 0.5u at PM, as I was suggested from this group). When you say "starting dose of 1U" do you mean total U per day or per dose (1U at AM + 1U at PM= total 2U per day)? Just want to make sure I'm not misunderstanding, TNX
 
I started with 1u per day ( 0.5u at AM and 0.5u at PM, as I was suggested from this group). When you say "starting dose of 1U" do you mean total U per day or per dose (1U at AM + 1U at PM= total 2U per day)? Just want to make sure I'm not misunderstanding, TNX
I looked at your previous threads but couldn't find a reference to a starting dose. I meant 1U twice a day.
 
Take him up to 1U tonight or tomorrow morning. If you can get at least one test per cycle, think about TR. You can increase every 3-5 days.
 
Back
Top