11/17 Crushy pmps 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108315

amps 359
+2 266 - fed 0.5 oz 13% carb
+3 201 - Fed 0.4 oz 13% carb
+4 113 - Fed 0.5 oz 16% carb
+5 90 - Fed 0.25 oz 16% carb
+6 60 - Fed 0.6 oz 16% carb
+7 53 - Fed 0.4 0z 16% carb

He is trying really hard to go below 50!

The main carb source in the 13% and 16% food I used today to try to stop this dive was peas....maybe I need a food with higher glycemic carb source like potato or rice? Other than that Im not sure what else I could have done to keep his BG from going too low and forcing a dose reduction today.

Id really prefer not to lower his dose but I had to pull on the reins pretty hard today. Not sure what to do about that....

Catherine here is the info about dentals: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66905
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53

It is SO good to see that green number beside Crushy's name! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: But wow, did you ever have to feed him a lot - lucky kitty. That usually means they are tired of that dose. I'm curious to see how the rest of the cycle goes.
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53

last time Crushy was on 2u, he had a breakthrough, and again this time on 2u he had a breakthrough. I guess we know what his favorite dose is! It would be nice to be able to keep him here for longer, but it looks like it took an awful lot of work to keep him from tanking. That's not good either...

I have a couple of thoughts. One, if he bounces then I would probably shoot through the bounce (maybe even two cycles, to give him some help getting through the bounce). Shaving the dose instead of a full reduction might help.

Or, how flexible is your schedule for the next day or two? If Crushy starts his bounce before PMPS, you could shoot an hour or two early. Maybe get a +10 and see where he is. I would only do that if it is obvious that his bounce is starting - if he is going nowhere but up, fast, then getting the insulin in early can help keep him from going quite so high. Sometimes that is helpful for the cats that bounce as hard as Crushy does, with a caregiver that knows her cat as well as you do. Crushy sometimes delays his bounces by a cycle, so if he does that then shooting early tonight may not be an option. If you do decide to shoot very early, then I would probably go ahead and take the reduction just to be safe. Since this would be the first time you have tried that technique, I wouldn't want to do that AND shoot the higher dose through the bounce too.
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53

thanks Wendy....its always a banner day in Crushy's book when he gets to eat that much. He's loving it

+8 is 70
so he is on his way back up....finally

Libby and Lucy said:
Or, how flexible is your schedule for the next day or two? If Crushy starts his bounce before PMPS, you could shoot an hour or two early. Maybe get a +10 and see where he is. I would only do that if it is obvious that his bounce is starting - if he is going nowhere but up, fast, then getting the insulin in early can help keep him from going quite so high. Sometimes that is helpful for the cats that bounce as hard as Crushy does, with a caregiver that knows her cat as well as you do. Crushy sometimes delays his bounces by a cycle, so if he does that then shooting early tonight may not be an option. If you do decide to shoot very early, then I would probably go ahead and take the reduction just to be safe. Since this would be the first time you have tried that technique, I wouldn't want to do that AND shoot the higher dose through the bounce too.

My schedule is flexible but Crushy is scheduled to have his teeth cleaned on Tuesday. So there is going to be an interruption in his dose that day (I was going to skip his am dose.) If I shoot an hour early I need to keep that schedule right? Im confused how that works. Assuming he has a high bounce do you shoot an hour early each cycle for a couple cycles then keep it there or go back to your regular time?

If I had to guess I would say he will be in the 200s or 300s by shot time...thats pretty typical for him. Then into the 400s tonight. I dont know though its pretty late in the cycle for him to still be green....

thanks!
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53

you're right, if he will be missing a shot on Tuesday then the schedule will be interrupted anyway. Yes, if you shoot early then technically you need to keep that as your new shot time. I don't tend to be super-anal about 30 minutes here and there, so I would probably just do a couple of late ones at some point and be back on schedule. In theory, that would defeat the purpose of giving an early shot because you would be losing some of the progress you just made, but timing is everything and if you time it all well, getting an early shot or two in can really help a bouncy cat.

As for how it works, I would only shoot that early if he is heading upward fast. For example (and I'm pulling numbers out of thin air), he is 70 at +8, so if he is 150 at +9 and 300 at +10, then SHOOOOOOOT! It might keep him from heading all the way to red or black.

Of course, we can always hope that increasing his dose to 2 units will prevent him from going that high anyway. That is what we have been trying to do by changing his food so you could increase his dose. We'll just have to see if Crushy intends to go along with that plan. ;-)
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53

gotcha, thanks Libby

He just tested 125 at +10
nice slow rise! Im liking it....

Im debating if I should keep it at 2 units tonight if he is at say 200 by ps...that is a really low ps for him but he usually keeps rising after a day like today. If he doesnt keep rising....I can always count on him to eat and I have some HC on hand. What do you think?
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53 +10 125

nice!

A lot can happen in 2 hours. I see what you mean on his spreadsheet - he might have a nice PS, but still be 400 later tonight. Hopefully not - this is slower than he usually rises. Play it by ear, but if you are able to monitor if necessary and if you're comfortable with it, then shooting the 2u dose should be ok.
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53 +10 125

If he was over 200, that would be a pretty quick rise in two hours and could indicate the bounce starting. So, I think shooting the old dose in yellows could be a plan, as long as you have plenty of strips and are willing to stay up in case.
 
Re: 11/17 Crushy amps 359+4 113 +7 53 +10 125

thanks you guys

He was at 252 ps and that looked like the beginnings of a bounce to me so I went with the 2 units.

I should know by +2 whether that was a good idea or not! lol
 
seconding marje's "good job!"

every time i look at your sig line, i wonder how you feed mice. do you feel live ones or buy them somewhere? i had wondered a while back, probably when i first read on catinfo.org about a mouse being the ideal food for cats, why there was no mouse cat food. and then i always think UGH! :lol:
 
Wowsers!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Looks gorgeous to me!

Got in way late and look what I missed. great GREAT job steering today Michele!
I am sure Mr. C loved all the snackies. Even though you fed often it was small amounts..not even 3 oz that I tally in your post (to +7)
So somehow you are managing to do all this AND still keep his diet. Amaze balls. I imagine the diet comes in 2nd at this point anyway.

So great to see this. And then still yellow for PMPS..sure anxious to see where he goes. You finally got his dose back up where he needs it. And he did not earn the reduction (over your dead body) So looks like he can get some mileage here.

Hate that it got so late..will still catch you one way or another some way some how tomorrow...gotta get the pre-dental gear on.
(you will not believe the first test at newbies was a 58!)

I am so impressed..you did a beautiful job today...like a pro! :thumbup
will be watchin....

PS: what are you feeding with peas? We need to do like mice in Mornay sauce, Mice hollandaise for him! :-D
 
Thanks Marje and Julie...it was a busy day!

I feed frozen mice from rodentpro.com. There was a bit of a yuk factor at first but I got used to it I guess. I fed raw for a long time before I started feeding mice and with raw you often deal with a lot of chicken livers and hearts which are really gross as well. But after a while you get used to those too and the mice were just another step. Its definitely not for everyone though!

and thanks Betty! his diet was kind of blown to hell today though. That was a lot more calories than he usually gets. Stupid diet isnt working anyway. He somehow GAINED a half ounce when I lowered his calories even more several days ago so.....maybe when his blood sugar settles down it will come off easier? I dunno....

yay on getting a BG for the newbie!...sounds like she might need a dose decrease? or just low carb food might do the trick! Good luck with that!

mice in mornay sauce! lol! The food with peas I used is canned: Natural Balance Duck and Green Pea. Crushy loves it but he loves any food really ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top