11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=56608

Recap on Cini's BG day:

(All readings on an AlphaTrak monitor)
AMPS - 195
Gave .25 units Lantus
+2 - 126
+4 - 67
+4.5 - 70
+5 -101
+5.5 - 132
+7 - 154
+11 - 218
PMBG - 198
Skipped PM dose due to BG going down from +11 to +12
+ 2 - 158

I also did a second tab to Cini's SS which shows the deduction that must be made ( -30 points) to correct for readings on an AlphaTrak monitor.

This morning Cini's AMPS was 200 ( or 170 to correct for AlphaTrak), so I gave him .10 units Lantus. I eyeballed it as best as I could, definitely less than .25 units and it did feel like something was going in when I gave him the injection.
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini - AMPS 200, +2.5/147 AlphaTrak

Hi guys ... not bad numbers at all today considering you skipped last nights shot! I know eyeing those small dose amounts sure is hard, isn't it? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini - AMPS 200, +2.5/147,+4/93, +6/89 Alpha

Thanks Peter!

Cini is skating on the edge today, his +6 is 89 (59 for AlphaTrak adjustment)

I bought a new desk chair last night and *cough* someone thinks I bought it for HIM! *cough* He won't get out of it. I am typing standing up right now. :lol:
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini +2.5/147,+4/93, +6/89, +7/67 AlphaTrak

That's great that Cini approves of his new chair! :lol: :lol: :lol: Good choice. Nice numbers today, especially for skipping last night. Cini is thinking maybe he won't be needing the juice too much longer (anti-jinx). BTW, Devon posts for PeterDevonMocha. I did the same thing when we arrived in LL. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini +4/93, +6/89, +7/67, +7.25/76 AlphaTrak

Thanks Liz, will keep that in mind.

Cini was doing well till just now and he's gone below the line at +7, trying to pull him back up now.
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini +4/93, +6/89, +7/67, +7.25/76 AlphaTrak

Hi there. Sorry, didn't have access to my computer for a few hours but I was monitoring BG none the less.

I posted the updated numbers. Needless to say I will be skipping tonight's injection.
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini +7/67,+8/93, +9/79, +10/152 AlphaTrak

I think you're misunderstanding that particular section of the protocol. This is not the "normal" BG range. Rather, what's being referenced is essentially a range for when to hold your current dose. Essentially, what is being referred to is to hold the dose if your cat's numbers are in the green or blue range. On Table 3A which is based on a human meter, the range is 50 - 200.

With the low numbers today and the 0.1u dose that Cini Mini is at, you might want to try an "OTJ Experiment." I'll be honest, I'm not sure if Cini is ready. On the other hand, it may be that he's been getting more insulin than he needs and once you stop shooting, his numbers will level out. Ordinarily, with an OTJ trial we suggest testing at your usual pre-test times. The instructions for a trial are as follows:

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

Hi Sienne.

I was looking at Table 3B because I have an AlphaTrak, but after reading it again yes, I see what you are saying,that is in the "Holding the does" section.

Phase 3: Holding the dose. Aim to keep blood glucose
concentration within 80-200 mg/dL (4.5 – 11 mmol/L)
throughout the day.

But I guess Cini is entering phase 4?

And I was interpreting this passage:
When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its
lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a
healthy cat,
and stays under 130 mg/dL (7.2 mmol/L) overall

I was taking that "normal range of a healthy cat" to be the 80-200 range?

Just trying to figure out where to go from .10 units.
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

Oh hey, I see we cross posted there.

I'm in no rush to get Cini along any faster than he needs to be. I'm just confused as to what the best approach should be.

I was thinking to continue giving the .10 unit Lantus tomorrow morning and trying to be a little more vigilant in catching that drop before it gets too low. I just don't like to see those below 80/50 numbers. It makes me nervous.

I'll leave it up to you "experts" to let me know. You haven't failed me yet :-D
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its
lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a
healthy cat, and stays under 130 mg/dL (7.2 mmol/L) overall

Color me embarrassed, I just noticed the red part ohmygod_smile

OK, adjusting the range on the SS again. I swear I wonder how Cini made it this far without me bumping him off one way or another. :oops:
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

These cats are pretty resilient, aren't they? You're doing great! And so is Cini. You've probably only read these things a thousand times and it takes a million to really get it. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

Hi Liz.

I think you may be on to something there. I am reading so much information on this site and in other posts that I have information overload. confused_cat
 
Re: 11/17-Cini Mini PMBG 163 AlphaTrak -Skipping Evening Dos

:lol: i hear ya - i've reached the point in life where new info coming in pushes old information out!

looks like cini mini's going on an otj trial! somehow, i don't think many of us are surprise at that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top