11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +2 44, +5 56, +11 112, +12 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wulfwin

Member Since 2010
Jason's AMPS is 82 (he was at 64 at +11). His dose was decreased last night from 1 unit to 0.5 unit (see condo).

He seems quite peppy this morning, but last night he decided not to eat his dinner after the PM shot, and to throw up a hairball. He finally deigned to eat some dry food at +5 last night.

Should I shoot? Delay? Not shoot? I'm going to be working from home again today (a reason to be glad to be sick), so I'll be able to keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot?

Good morning.
Since this is the lowest preshot you have seen I would advise stalling a little although it does seem like Jason's numbers are rising. Retest 30 minutes from the last test.
Are you home to monitor? How much stalling time do you have?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot?

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning.
Since this is the lowest preshot you have seen I would advise stalling a little although it does seem like Jason's numbers are rising. Retest 30 minutes from the last test.
Are you home to monitor? How much stalling time do you have?

Yes, I'm home to monitor. I'll be home for the next 6.5 hours.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot?

morning Sarah - stall. don't shoot, don't feed, recheck in 30 minutes.

poor fella, is his tummy more settled today?

oh good, Miriam's here.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot?

Oops....thank you Kim....forgot to add when stalling we DON'T feed.
Do you have any high carb food in the house.....something with gravy?

If possible it is best to stay away from dry altogether unless he won't eat anything else and it is used as a last resort and he won't eat anything else.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot?

Kim 'n Shadow said:
morning Sarah - stall. don't shoot, don't feed, recheck in 30 minutes.

poor fella, is his tummy more settled today?

oh good, Miriam's here.

Morning, Kim! His stomach seems better. At least, he's being his usual demanding self about wanting me up to feed him :lol:

Miriam and Putty said:
Oops....thank you Kim....forgot to add when stalling we DON'T feed.
Do you have any high carb food in the house.....something with gravy?

If possible it is best to stay away from dry altogether unless he won't eat anything else and it is used as a last resort and he won't eat anything else.

I have some Whiskas meat packets. Jason decided to be stubborn last night, and only wanted to eat the high carb treats after he yaked up a hairball (I tried 3 different Fancy Feast varieties first with no luck) and finally had to resort to burying the high carb treats in the dry food to get him to eat something last night (his BG was down around 49 at that point).
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot? -Now

After 30 minutes stall, Jason's BG is 103. Keep delaying or go ahead and shoot?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot? -Now

That's coming up...are you comfortable shooting now? That is great if you will be home to monitor...nice job!

And please get a +1 since this is the lowest preshot, okay?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot? -Now

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
That's coming up...are you comfortable shooting now? That is great if you will be home to monitor...nice job!

And please get a +1 since this is the lowest preshot, okay?

I'm ok with shooting at this point. And I'll get a +1, +2, +3, +4 and +5 at least ;-) Jason seems to hit his nadir a little early, usually around +4 or +5. Depending where his numbers are, I might just take him with me to my other job tonight (at the shelter vet clinic).
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot? -Now

Ok. so maybe change your heard to show AMPS as the number you shot. You can move that 82 into the +11 box from last night with a notation. You will be delaying your P shot the amount of time you delayed this morning right?
How late are you exactly?
We can move the shot times back to the regular time in 15 minutes increments at each shot, or one half hour per day, whichever you choose. You are not so late though, are you?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 82 - Shoot? Delay? Don't Shoot? -Now

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ok. so maybe change your heard to show AMPS as the number you shot. You can move that 82 into the +11 box from last night with a notation.

Done.

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
You will be delaying your P shot the amount of time you delayed this morning right?
How late are you exactly?
We can move the shot times back to the regular time in 15 minutes increments at each shot, or one half hour per day, whichever you choose. You are not so late though, are you?

I'm late by an hour. I'm actually off-schedule a bit to begin with (about another 30 minutes) since I've been sick, so I'll have to see about bumping it back gradually to the normal time. Should I delay the evening shot by the same about, or shorten it by about 15 minutes to start moving back to the normal time?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103

you can start moving it back tonight by 15 minutes or 30 minutes a day. remember - an early shot is like a dose increase - you have overlapped the last dose with the next dose and 15 minutes is fine but if you ever have to do it by more than that, you have to be very watchful.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84

Gotcha, thanks :smile:

I'll start moving him back by 15 minutes tonight.

+1, and he's at 84.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84

nice job this morning!

since +1 was lower than AMPS, I suggest feeding a bit of low carb and getting a +2.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Jason's down to 44 at +2!!!

I've tried to get him to eat some low carb, but he's refused. He didn't eat as much of his breakfast as he typically does (usually eats 1/3 to 1/2 of the can right away, and the rest over a couple of hours); only ate around 1/4 this morning. He refused to eat any more of his breakfast (FF Chopped Grill) or some canned Wellness Beef and Chicken, or some Wellness Core dry in water (usually a favorite treat of his). I finally resorted to syringe feeding him a couple of spoonfuls of the canned Wellness.

I think he'll still eat his high carb treats (I almost wonder if he's refusing the other food to get them!). Should I load him up on those or break out the high carb wet food in gravy? I'm going to test him again in a few minutes.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

High carb wet is better, just give him the gravy, w/ syringe if you have to. REtest in 15, if still not up a couple of drops of Karo.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

HC gravy was a hit. He's licking the bowl clean right now. His BG was 42 at +2.5, right before I fed him the gravy. I'll retest him at 15 minutes.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

If you have to give him the karo and he won't eat it in his food you can syringe it into his mouth or rub it on his gums. I'd go with the syringing first if you can.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

15 minute retest - 41. I'm going to go ahead and give him some Karo, then test again in 15.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Give him a little more gravy too. It will stay in his system longer than the Karo, that give a quick spike and is gone. Very good that he likes the gravy!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

15 minute retest - 42. I gave him some more gravy right before the test. Should I give him a little more Karo?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

He needs to come up, but at least you stopped the drop. The karo couldn't hurt, test 15 after that to geive it a chance to get into his system. Be prepared for a bounce later.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Sarah

It takes 15-20 mins to see the response to food but you can probably see the response to karo in 15 mins but not any less I would think so after you give him the karo, wait at least 15 to recheck but don't go overboard on it or you'll skyrocket him. Also...like Ann said, the karo moves through quickly so you have to get some HC gravy in him for more lasting effects. Even after his numbers start to come up KEEP TESTING because he can turn around on you once the karo and food wears off.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

I gave him just a little more Karo, and I'll test him again 15 minutes again I gave it to him. How much gravy should I try to get in him?

Looks like Jason's coming with me to work tonight :smile:
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Don't over do it a tsp or so at a time. You don't want him to get full and refuse food if he is still down.

As Marjorie saud, even once he comes up you need to continue frequent testing. The higher numbers you see could just be the food talking. Once he comes up to the 50s you can back off to half hour tests or if you feel confident even an hou. After you get a couple of 60s without feeding more food, you will probably be safe.

Remember you want to see at least 2 rising numbers 60s or above, after tests w/ no additional food/r
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

15 minute retest post Karo - 43. Should I be worried it's not higher by now? I was trying to keep the amount of Karo down - I gave him maybe 0.3 ml total, between the 2 doses.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Hopefully Ann will jump in here, too, but if it were my cat, I'd give a drop more of karo with 1 tsp HC gravy only...not food...and retest in another 15. I never let a number in the 40s go more than 15 mins in testing.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Ditto, KEEP FEEDING, Karo if you need to . 40s in themselves may not be that bad, but you really don't want him to stay there, too much risk of dropping lower. WE'll make a testaholic out of you yet!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

15 minute retest - 48

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hopefully Ann will jump in here, too, but if it were my cat, I'd give a drop more of karo with 1 tsp HC gravy only...not food...and retest in another 15. I never let a number in the 40s go more than 15 mins in testing.

Gave the karo and HC gravy about 20 minutes ago.

Ann & Tess said:
Ditto, KEEP FEEDING, Karo if you need to . 40s in themselves may not be that bad, but you really don't want him to stay there, too much risk of dropping lower. WE'll make a testaholic out of you yet!

Went up a bit with this test. Thank goodness I picked up 2 more boxes of test strips yesterday!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Update? If he starts going up, you can take the 911 off.

Will do.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Relief not to see that 911 anymore! :-D Feed him some more gravy he's still in the 40s, lather, rinse, repeat! :lol: Good to see the rise though, once you get into the 50s you can probably go for 30 minutes, in the 60s every hour as long as you are seeing rise or surf.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

Sarah....When you have a second in between tests, you might also want to update your subject line so someone new doesn't come on, see a 44 at +2 and worry. I'm not sure where you are now...+3 or 3.5? Just put those in there (although you might run out of room and have to take out some of the less significant ones)...we mostly want to show that he's on the rise. But like Ann said, lather rinse repeat with the gravy...as long as he's rising I wouldn't give more karo either. Good job!!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44!!

15 minute retest - holding at 48. Gave more HC gravy, but no Karo.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Sarah....When you have a second in between tests, you might also want to update your subject line so someone new doesn't come on, see a 44 at +2 and worry. I'm not sure where you are now...+3 or 3.5? Just put those in there (although you might run out of room and have to take out some of the less significant ones)...we mostly want to show that he's on the rise. But like Ann said, lather rinse repeat with the gravy...as long as he's rising I wouldn't give more karo either. Good job!!

Will do on the subject line! I didn't even think about that.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +4 48

No problem, plenty of time now that you are breathing again. :roll: If he is still down in the 40s at the next test you might want ot give him a drop more Karo to get him out of there, it has been a long tim and we don't like them to stay there too long.

How much actual food has Jason eaten? The Karo will drop off really quickly the gravy will stick around a little longer, but still wear off in a few hours. He needs some actual food on board so he doesn't drop again.

How has he been acting? Is he showing any hypo signs, drowsy?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +4 48

15 minute retest - 54. I'm thinking I'll increase to 30 minutes.

Ann & Tess said:
No problem, plenty of time now that you are breathing again. :roll: If he is still down in the 40s at the next test you might want ot give him a drop more Karo to get him out of there, it has been a long tim and we don't like them to stay there too long.

How much actual food has Jason eaten? The Karo will drop off really quickly the gravy will stick around a little longer, but still wear off in a few hours. He needs some actual food on board so he doesn't drop again.

How has he been acting? Is he showing any hypo signs, drowsy?

He hasn't eaten nearly as much as normal. Only about 1/4 of a 3 oz can of FF Classic Chopped Grill. I syringe fed him a couple of spoonfuls of Wellness Beef and Chicken mixed with water. The only other things he's eaten have been the HC gravy and the Karo.

He's quieter than normal, not showing much interest in his food (except the gravy or the bag of HC treats). He perked right up when I showed him the feather toy and laser pointer, though I didn't let him play since I don't want the exercise to drop his BG. His walking fine, not drowsy. He's obviously not feeling quite right, but I don't think it's possible hypo. I think he's still having stomach issues and just not wanting to eat. He feels like he might have lost a little weight the last two days; I'll weigh him tonight to see.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +4 48

You are doing a great job, IMHOP 30 minutes is fine now, anyone else want to chime in on that? Unless he drops again you probably don't need more gravy or karo, but be prepared. Maybe in a little while a little more LC, another flavors? Paws crossed for a little more rise.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +4 48

I haven't been around as long as Ann and am no expert but I agree that 30 mins when he's in the 50s is ok but it would really be best to get some food in him because if he's not at his nadir, he could turn around. Gracie did that to me one day ....not to scare you but just so you are aware. I got her out of the 50s up to the 70s and thought she was past the point of needing any food but she was still 1.5 hours from nadir. When I rechecked her in 30, she had dropped back down to low 60s....not dangerous at all but just taught me that if you don't know how your cat reacts yet to food and don't keep a little food going when they are really low and not near their nadir, they may turn around but ECID!!! You'll have to learn how he is....we've now learned with Gracie that we can use really low carb to keep her surfing in the 60s like she did today and in the high 50s last week. Great job!!!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +4 48

30 minute retest - 56. Slowly but surely :smile:

I think I have time for one more 30 minute retest before I have to head to work. I'll take Jason with me and keep testing, and I'll try to get some food in him. I'll syringe feed him again if I have to.

Typically Jason hits his nadir around +4 or +5. We're about 20 minutes past the +5 mark, so he's hopefully past nadir, but I'll keep checking him regardless.

I'll post once more with his next retest, and probably not again til I get home from work tonight (probably 5 or 6 hours from now).

Ann, Marjorie, and Laurie, thank you, thank you, thank you!!! You all have been a lifeline today!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

AWESOME!!! Glad you are taking him with you and can test there. I usually like to have two rising numbers to feel comfy but on a day like this I always usually retest after two hours of no food (Ann taught me that). I've learned that nadirs can acutally change and are not ALWAYS the same every cycle; if you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see a couple cycles where she actually didn't peak until +8....surprise!!

You did a great job today. No thanks needed....we are all here to help each other through this and someone has held our hands many times before. We just all try to pay it forward.

Yes...please keep us posted when you can and watch those numbers for a while yet.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

We've all been there! Just paying it forward. I'll look for you in 30.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

Ditto on what Ann and Marjorie said...paying it forward, no thanks necessary. You did a great job! I got out of the way because you were in good hands with Ann and Marjorie, no need for too many cooks! ;-) (And yes to testing every 30 minutes in the 50s.)
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

30 minute retest - 48. Sigh.

Gave him some more gravy, and I'll test him as soon as I get to work and maybe back to every 15 minutes. Fingers and paws crossed the number starts coming back up and he states eating!
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

Can you get online to post from work? Especially in order to get dosing advice for tonight?
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

Can you give him a little of the HC food with the gravy? He needs some food to help keep his numbers up. You could also try putting a little gravy on his regular food.

I would check back in with a PS number before you shoot tonight too...I know you're off schedule, but you might not want to shoot early tonight depending on his numbers. He earned a reduction with that 44, but I know you just reduced his dose, so would like to see what happens for the rest of this cycle and see what others say before you shoot tonight.
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

Laurie and Ann gave you great advice...I know you will keep testing but if he starts to come up again and you aren't testing by +11, the only other thing I can add is to get a +11 so Laurie and the others who can talk to you about shooting will kinda see where he's headed so you don't get to PS and have to do a 911 (which is ok but if you can head it off by at least putting up a +11, that's good).

Keep breathing. You have already been down this road today of a really low number and you did great so you now have more of a confidence factor that you can bring him up. Be sure you take your karo with you just in case he sinks way back down....I always figure if I'm prepared, then the adverse scenario won't happen :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/17/10 Jason AMPS 103, +1 84, +2 44, +5 56

You did great today - well done! I had been watching, but didn't want to get in the way - you were in great hands with Ann, Laurie and Marjorie. I hope all goes well tonight, and if you can, post a +11. It will help inc case you need any guidance. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top